US Defense Intelligence Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

US Defense Intelligence Agency Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
US Defense Intelligence Agency Director Lieutenant General Vincent R. Stewart, USMC
Lieutenant General Vincent R. Stewart, USMC
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, often caused by military leadership changing out often and lack of understanding of the mission(in 19 reviews)

  • "There is a chasm between the civilian and military members of the agency(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Enterprise Data Center Manager in London, England

    I have been working at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and nice location.

    Cons

    Government jobs are all the same.

    US Defense Intelligence Agency2020-01-14
  2. "Interesting work in a difficult bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work; possible occasional overseas travel depending on job.

    Cons

    New promotion system makes career planning almost impossible; very difficult to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-12-28
  3. "A waste of my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insurance benefits and retirement benefits, if you stay that long

    Cons

    The pay for entry level is extremely low. I was told I would be at one location and with 5 days notice they sent me to another which added an HOUR to my commute. I was told I’d be using my foreign language skills - instead I was given excel spreadsheets that took me a month to complete. Career advancement is almost impossible because they hire every manager as prior service and DONT promote from within. The culture is contrary to their mission. Coworkers won’t help you out or show you the proper way to do something. Then management complains.

    Continue reading
    US Defense Intelligence Agency2020-01-14
  4. "Great benefits, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always something new each day

    Cons

    No way to fire people

    Continue reading
    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-12-07
  5. ":)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Network Engineer 

    I worked at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time

    Pros

    Time off as needed once accrued.

    Cons

    Management decisions from top level individuals.

    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-12-02
  6. "Not worth the low starting salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intelligence Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work is limited to a 40 hour work week which makes for a good work-life balance -You can use 3 of your 40 work hours for working out (civilian fitness program)

    Cons

    -Poor management, often caused by military leadership changing out often and lack of understanding of the mission -Low starting pay (difficult to get hired above a GG-10) -Workload can get really heavy, but overtime is rarely approved so you need to fit it all into a 40 hour work week -Old work spaces (dirty, cramped), but they are trying to renovate parts of the building to make it better, but it will be a long project -Doesn't like change/likes the status quo

    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-12-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "What I Wish I Knew Before Accepting a Job Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in Quantico, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance for analysts. Can be a good place to get your foot in the door of the intelligence community--just don't stick around too long. Employees in the analysis career field have the most potential for promotion, but the HUMINT or Science & Technology career fields are where I would apply if I could do it over again.

    Cons

    Prospective employees--you really need to understand the promotion process here. It is very different from any other agency. First, if you are being hired from a hiring event (which is almost everyone nowadays) the highest that they can bring you in at is GG-10 step 3 (GG is the same scale as GS), so look on the OPM website to see what that pay is. No matter how qualified you are, you must start at grade 10 or lower, so if you are further along in your career, you'll be taking a pay cut not commiserate with how cool you might think it is to work here. Next, promotions only happen once a year and it's an extremely bureaucratic process. Some other agencies will promote lower grade employees (grades 7-9) every six months or so, but not here. Other agencies promote employees automatically every year until grade 13, but not here. At DIA most employees will be able to promote pretty easily every year from grades 7 to 11. But getting promoted from grades 11 to 12 and 12 to 13 will be much more difficult and you may even need to spend 2 years in grade 11 and 2 more years in grade 12 before finally getting to 13. In other words, most other agencies will promote you from 10 to 13 in a matter of 3 years, whereas at DIA it will probably take you 5 or more years. In addition to all this, the promotion process is extremely bureaucratic. Your boss has minimal input on whether you get promoted or not--it's really up to how well you can write your "Performance Application Form" (PAF). Writing the PAF will take you 40+ hours to perfect, then will be reviewed by a promotion panel. The panel's job is to decide who's best qualified for promotion based on how well you articulated your accomplishments on your PAF--not how well you actually performed in your job. So if you have trouble writing resumes, cover letters, etc, you will certainly have difficulties writing the PAF. They do this to keep save money on employee salaries, but in the end it just causes a ton of turn-over in higher grade levels. In the past year, we've had a complete turnover in senior intelligence analysts and section chiefs in my branch with a large team of all new analysts. It amounted to the blind leading the blind. In short, if your goal is to get into the IC, I would recommend applying elsewhere. DIA does hire a lot of entry level employees, so if your goal is just to get your clearance, by all means go ahead and do it--then immediately start looking for jobs at other agencies where you can move up quicker.

    Continue reading
    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-11-21
  8. "Intelligence Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intelligence Officer in Washington, DC

    I worked at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and camaraderie with doing a mission with immediate impact.

    Cons

    Duplication of effort in some divisions.

    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-10-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "WORK AT HQ OR NOWHERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like sitting in the corner coloring and not ever contributing but making a half decent salary, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    This agency is beyond broken... they don't understand basic BASIC acquisition (and don't want to), and the gov't will pile tasks on contractors that they don't want to do because the culture fosters an environment where one mistake will start a rumor mill that a person is incompetent. The gossip train is horrific too... so if you're a hard-charger take this into consideration. If a work-package of any kind is inadequate (which it almost always is), the govies will take hard criticism and review as personal attacks, and will request that person be either removed or will ardently complain. You have to coddle them like infants (most of them have been there for years/decades and sit collecting paychecks)... which is why nothing gets done there. Also, any office outside of HQ is a joke. You will sit there struggling to be acknowledged for anything you do, and work stealers abound.

    Continue reading
    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-10-31
  10. "US Defense Intelligence Agency in support of CENTCOM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Defense Intelligence Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours with a good job/family ratio

    Cons

    Management heavy and not much room to grow

    US Defense Intelligence Agency2019-09-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 154 reviews