Scotiabank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Scotiabank Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3042 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance was sometimes tough, but that might vary by department(in 83 reviews)

  • "Very long hours, HR is not very helpful(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities in career advancement and global relocation. Work culture and the team within the Investment Banking Division were professional.

    Cons

    I have no cons about my experience.

    Scotiabank2019-03-05
  2. "Analyst Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work In IT Department 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Leave on time, comparably working in relaxing mode

    Cons

    Poor management on people and system infrasture, messy project flow, unclear to responsibility and job duties

    Scotiabank2019-06-28
  3. "Really Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Couldn't think of any good thing about this company

    Cons

    The systems are really old and not user-friendly, Most of the colleagues are really "experienced", probably very near to retirement age, Manager & colleagues are not nice

    Scotiabank2018-10-30
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Good environment awesome people to work with and good compensation

    Cons

    I have been working in the bank less than 1 year. Hard to judge

    Advice to Management

    Listening to the front line is preferable

    Scotiabank2018-03-26
  5. "Accounting Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office is nice and comfortable to work, not stressful.

    Cons

    Systems to be improved. Too many manual procedures.

    Scotiabank2017-07-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worse than jail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Officer in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Nothing good to mention about... Lots of antiques in the company, and unsophisticated system.

    Cons

    Poor management and work culture, unacceptable pay. 10 days annual leave, and over 60% of colleagues are waiting for retirement. Too much office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more, be ethical. Please respect your company values.

    Scotiabank2015-07-08
  7. "A very Stable, conservative bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Once join, can work till retire. Very stable bank. Serfdom layoff.

    Cons

    Low Technology compare to top tier banks. Staff benefits plan not competitive. Can't keep talent people for long.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in technology. There's a wide range of loyal staff at A56 to A70 who wish to contribute more to the bank but lack of opportunities.

    Scotiabank2015-04-06
  8. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, great work life balance, smart people

    Cons

    not the highest paying. . . . very conservative, won't be doing exciting high finance.

    Scotiabank2014-09-04
  9. "Over all fair and good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, fair pay, good work life balance

    Cons

    The working and approving process can be very long

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Scotiabank2019-08-20
  10. "Compensation Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Compensation in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Overall very good employee experience.

    Cons

    None. Employer provides a great work experience

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great leadership

    Scotiabank2019-08-17
Found 3042 reviews