Scotiabank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Scotiabank Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2666 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Scotiabank CEO Brian J. Porter
Brian J. Porter
1018 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities in career advancement and global relocation. Work culture and the team within the Investment Banking Division were professional.

    Cons

    I have no cons about my experience.

    Scotiabank2019-03-05
  2. "Really Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Couldn't think of any good thing about this company

    Cons

    The systems are really old and not user-friendly, Most of the colleagues are really "experienced", probably very near to retirement age, Manager & colleagues are not nice

    Scotiabank2018-10-30
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Good environment awesome people to work with and good compensation

    Cons

    I have been working in the bank less than 1 year. Hard to judge

    Advice to Management

    Listening to the front line is preferable

    Scotiabank2018-03-26
  4. "Accounting Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office is nice and comfortable to work, not stressful.

    Cons

    Systems to be improved. Too many manual procedures.

    Scotiabank2017-07-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Worse than jail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Officer in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank

    Pros

    Nothing good to mention about... Lots of antiques in the company, and unsophisticated system.

    Cons

    Poor management and work culture, unacceptable pay. 10 days annual leave, and over 60% of colleagues are waiting for retirement. Too much office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more, be ethical. Please respect your company values.

    Scotiabank2015-07-08
  6. "A very Stable, conservative bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Once join, can work till retire. Very stable bank. Serfdom layoff.

    Cons

    Low Technology compare to top tier banks. Staff benefits plan not competitive. Can't keep talent people for long.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in technology. There's a wide range of loyal staff at A56 to A70 who wish to contribute more to the bank but lack of opportunities.

    Scotiabank2015-04-06
  7. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, great work life balance, smart people

    Cons

    not the highest paying. . . . very conservative, won't be doing exciting high finance.

    Scotiabank2014-09-04
  8. "Turmoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    respectable, established, banking industry, lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Misguided confused with no long term vision

    Scotiabank2019-04-20
  9. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scotiabank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good room for career opportunities Good share contribution plan Decent compensation

    Cons

    No retiree medical benefits as it was discontinued

    Scotiabank2019-04-17
  10. "Amazing culuture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scotiabank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team environment, learning and growth opportunities

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure , long timelines for approvals

    Scotiabank2019-04-16
Found 2666 reviews