Conn's Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Conn's Chairman and CEO  Norm Miller (no image)
Norm Miller
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay is good, no P&L responsibility, bonus is monthly instead of yearly(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great management great pay and benefits(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still going strong"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conn's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - we have been doing business when a lot of stores have closed - lot's of support from the front office - hand sanitizer, masks, bingo! - we're staffing better so that we can make more sales

    Cons

    - don't want to go back to flooding the floor with too many sales associates - hard to make bonus

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-05-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good people"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in The Woodlands, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conn's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are good people that work at Conn's - both in the stores and at corporate.

    Cons

    Broken processes and slow-to-change. Performance driven company with little margin for error (both in accuracy and time), so if you don't hit your defined KPIs you will quickly be added to a performance improvement plan.

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-05-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Environment"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX

    I worked at Conn's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good to start.

    Cons

    Fired individuals and gave no direction of work to be performed.

    Conn's2020-05-18
  4. "Growth Opportunities and Supportive Team Environment!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Manager Team Leader in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conn's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of internal growth options. Groups have open availability to promote and sponsor projects.

    Cons

    Cross functional department teams has room for improvement

    Conn's2020-05-04
  5. "Worst Retail Experiance I've Had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conn's full-time

    Pros

    Nothing. Only writing more because I have to.

    Cons

    Pay would be great if I lived in any other state they operate. Here... I only get paid 42,000 a year as an ops manager, less than what we agreed upon in my interview. Take that into account with the frequent 50hour work weeks....I basically make 16.50 an hour. Without overtime. Bells and required 6 day work weeks during holidays. Systems are ancient, and slow. Ringing out a customer is an ordeal. Closing the register at night is an ordeal...overly complicated, still using tapes to record deposits. Way harder than any retialer I've ever worked for. And to make that worse? Your cashiers who do all this only make $12 an hour with no wiggle room or raises...hard to keep employees when all other retailers are way more competitive and easier to work for. You're also required to get the change order from the bank yourself. They wont pay for gaurda to drop off. They also seem to never pay out expense requests so I hear. Ive already been asked to use my own money for the store but nervous to do so since they are rumored to never pay out your expense. Benefits are super expensive. Over 200 every paycheck for the cheapest highest deductible insurance. I rarely ever get to do my job. Often stuck helping the salesfloor. If you take an ops spot don't be surpised to have corprate up your butt asking why your stuff isnt getting done. You'll often have to sell or since only the garbage managers seem to stick around you'll close every night, against your job description, because they dont like to. The inventory system is a absolute mess. Have to use 2 seprate computers to get anything done. I doubt anyone management takes vacation here as well since the lack of management in the building would require the other managers to work 2 bells or only get one day off for the week. It really seems to be a place where you're either smart and get out or this will be the place where your management career comes to die.

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-05-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Caustic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheridan, CO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conn's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are good sales and Ops/manager people who try. But the DM’s and the upper management and Texas leaders are horrid. They are uninspiring, demeaning, and cruel to their employees.

    Cons

    Long long hours. Promises of bonuses never paid out to GM because DM’s play favorites or skew numbers. Ops managers ASM & SM are treated badly by DM’s and Upper management. Stressed out staff that are often cutthroat. Over staffed stores that push sales to make immoral decisions. Selling credit in nefarious ways. Talked down to constantly as a GM and dealing with Head Leaders, directors or senior staff that are full of themselves with bloated egos. Indecisive HR department that keep people on that should be fired. Worst 2 1/2 years of my life.

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-05-20
  7. "Preferred Choice of Employment!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conn's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company that cares, puts associates first, great pay, amazing training, growing company

    Cons

    You forgot an N. It’s spelled Conns

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-04-03
  8. "Decent company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conn's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Schedule works for my family. Job is not physically demanding and less stressful than any other retail company that I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    No weekends off, mandatory that everyone works on Saturdays. Store opens on Thanksgiving night till midnight, and everyone has to come back at 6 AM on Black Friday Morning. 6 day work weeks during holiday rush time. Too difficult to take care of customers when an issue arises. You have to jump through hoops and contact multiple leaders outside of the store to handle most issues.

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-03-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Complete lack of professionalism."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conn's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good facility. Ample parking. Secure environment.

    Cons

    Unprofessional management. Lack of followed rules and regulations. Sexual harassment.

    Conn's2020-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Financing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conn's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product knowledge for some workers. And they have a variety of financing options.

    Cons

    Very high school drama filled, and a lot of the workers smell like weed.

    Continue reading
    Conn's2020-03-10
Found 631 reviews