Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton President and CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1,016 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 206 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (481)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility. 3. Living off the American taxpayer. Much of the money that flies around in DC is at the expense of everyone else everywhere else in the US, BAH is a major player in this system, particularly the defense technology sector. 4. You'll never get paid what you're worth. The three lowest ranks (Consultant, Sr. Consultant, Associate) seldom make what they're worth, while senior management (looking at you, officers) make insane amounts of money.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  2. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Senior Staff in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    smart coworkers who are also very collaborative and helpful. Pretty sweet benefits and generally a good culture

    Cons

    some contracts don't seem to add a lot of value inherently

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-26
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance, flexibility, collaboration

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-23
  4. "Enjoyed my time with Booz Allen!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Compartmentalized leadership structure - supportive leadership - Interesting work - Driven and well capable colleagues

    Cons

    - Potential for billability/contract insecurity - Stories revolving around poor management/grudges

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-21
  5. "Stability, camaraderie, fair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really enjoy the people and the culture of looking out for each other. Pay is great for the area and we are supported in personal and professional development endeavors.

    Cons

    Project teams can often get overstaffed, resulting in lack of meaningful work. Promotions and awards are few and far between.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-18
  6. "it's good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Booz is great. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. Specifically Medical.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-15
  7. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Technologist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic teams. The support from leadership and motivation to succeed is astounding. I have been well taken care of working at this company and have had the best managers out of any job I've had in the past 10 years.

    Cons

    Government contracts are prone to contract loss, so job security may not be as stable as it seems.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-15
  8. "Good organization, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Program Manager 

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Good organization and good people

    Cons

    No real cons to add

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-14
  9. "Good Benefits and Loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Booz Allen is loyal to its top performers, providing flexibility to the extent made possible for client facing staff. The indirect compensation and benefits are decent. And there is plenty of opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    HR is too lenient on junior staff, making it difficult to discipline and report poor performance. These same poor performers are highly overpaid for the minimal benefit they provide a team or client. It is also incredibly difficult to leave a client or project if you’ve been identified as their preferred consultant. The strategic innovations group is also a joke, providing little to nothing in terms of sellable innovations.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-27
  10. "Diverse company with high quality staff members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong skill sets and dynamic collaborative staff members. Working on increasing internal programs to keep staff engaged and connected

    Cons

    Large company with different cultures and supportiveness based on immediate leadership for reporting pyramid.

    Continue reading
    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-13
Found 4776 reviews