simply mac Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
25%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
simply mac President & CEO Steve Bain (no image)
Steve Bain
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They treat employees as if they are nothing without the company and upper management constantly reminds you that they(in 21 reviews)

  • "Employees are given hard to achieve commissions to justify minimum wage(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bad pay, Overworked, very little training"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mac Technician in Portland, OR
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, ok scheduling, quick

    Cons

    low pay, overworked, short staffed.

    simply mac2020-03-20
  2. "Simply Mac"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great fellow employees and upper management.

    Cons

    When I worked there they didn't have great compensation.

    simply mac2020-02-25
  3. "Closed down one of their locations after months of deliberations, but gave employees that worked there, 1 hour heads up."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting certifications, and learning about technology as an entry level job

    Cons

    Corporate has cult-ish vibes, and does not care about clients or employees.

    simply mac2020-03-08
  4. "If you need a paycheck"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mac Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent discounts. Ability to learn and get certified. Most coworkers are enjoyable.

    Cons

    Upper level management out of touch with store level activities. Unable to use any PTO. Unrealistic expectations of employees.

    Continue reading
    simply mac2020-03-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apple Retail Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at simply mac part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met a lot of great coworkers

    Cons

    They expect you to provide the same customer service as Chick-Fil-A, but there is realistically no way. This makes it a stressful environment

    simply mac2020-01-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "a complete scam"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    small team, so easy to make friends.

    Cons

    absolutely everything. this job is exhausting. I am not a manager and am called on my off days, have to come in for meetings on my off days have to cover for management consistently and the scheduling is crap. everyday I think about calling HR because I feel like I am treated like trash everyday by management. for over a year now, they have been promising higher pay. SIGNIFICANTLY higher pay. so much higher, that I stopped looking for a new job. but its been a year and still nothing. I have worked here too long, am relied on way too much, and am exhausted to often to be struggling to pay my bills. This company does not make me feel respected and valued. I feel completely disposable even though I know I am not. I hope to be done with this company soon because it is truly a scam. money hungry not money motivated. huge difference. constantly uncharging and screwing people over to make more money and our "corporate" does nothing about it because well, they are making money. the commission system sucks and there is no structure store or corporate level. I had high hopes for this company while they were going through changes and I chose to ignore all of the negative feelings I had but there is no hope for this money hungry, sexist, unethical company.

    Continue reading
    simply mac2020-01-19
  7. "Company is predatory"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - ACMT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay for your certifications

    Cons

    grossly underpaid for what is required of you but are constantly told that if you’re not doing more than you’re paid to do, you aren’t working hard enough. They treat employees as if they are nothing without the company and upper management constantly reminds you that they “gave you your start” as if you owe them For allowing you to do the job you’re paid to do. Have to fight for time off which you won’t get if your manager wants it. Had to fight for time off to attend a funeral of a family member. Promotions are given to buddy’s of upper management based on personality. Constantly asked to “fill in” to meet the needs of the business but are punished for falling behind on your own responsibilities. Raises don’t happen... period was there 4 years, opened new stores and relocated to meet the needs of the company and never got a raise even when asked, in fact I chose to transfer to a new state to open a new store and my actually decreased. It was explained to me that even though it was a lateral transfer and I was chosen to open the store as a tech the store was new and that was the wage of technicians at new stores. I didn’t find out about the decrease until my first check in the new store. I wasn’t a rehire I was in the same position doing the same job I had been doing for 2 years just a new store. I was ensured that the bonus structure of the store would more than make up the difference in the future... it didn’t and the bonus structure is a joke. Be careful what you agree too. The turnover rate is insanely high

    simply mac2020-01-25
  8. "Definitely Unethical"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IOS Service Technician in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent people, however most of the good employees are jumping ship pretty quickly.

    Cons

    Lies as the norm and not the exception. Lies to customers, lies to employees. Absolutely 0 trust environment.

    Continue reading
    simply mac2019-12-01
  9. "Former Sales leader"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Portland, OR
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The techs are nice people

    Cons

    You’re basically just answering phones and setting up appointments. They don’t train you at anything and the discounts suck. The mgmt is unethical as hell.

    Continue reading
    simply mac2019-10-29
  10. "Great Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apple Sales Specialist 

    I worked at simply mac part-time

    Pros

    Apple Training is always encouraged.

    Cons

    Push for Sales above all, most people just want help understanding their tech.

    simply mac2019-08-29
Found 184 reviews