Western Union Reviews

Updated 28 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Western Union President, CEO and Director Hikmet Ersek
Hikmet Ersek
618 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management has a disconnect with employees and their is a lot of politics with the organization due to which department work in Silos(in 36 reviews)

  • "Makes work life balance difficult at time(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Corporate Global experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit Senior in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multicultural environment at the Global level

    Cons

    I don’t want to answer this question

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    March 6, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    We're glad that you love our global and multi-cultural environment, and we thank you for 5+ years of service. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're glad to have you on our team!

  2. "Good Place to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance with learning environment. Number of employee benefits.

    Cons

    Didnt find any cons yet.

    Western Union Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    No cons?! This is what we love to hear! #WOOTWU Thank you for 1+ years of dedication on our team. We appreciate you leaving a review.


  3. "Good learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promotions and Customer Service 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Union part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning, practical work and useful

    Cons

    Very busy and customer handling is quite strenuous.

    Western Union Response

    June 29, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and your 3+ years with Western Union. We're happy to hear about your positive experience while working with us! We strive to be a place where employees can have fulfilling careers and learn a lot on the job. We understand that there are days that are more hectic than others, but work-life balance is important to us, and we want all our employees to experience this. We appreciate all feedback from our current and former employees, and we will share your feedback with the appropriate teams as we continue to transform as an organization.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Business development manager at Western Union Business Solutions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Kwun Tong, Kowloon City
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It still give you the pay cheque on time.

    Cons

    Terrible company with no team work. The old dudes are keeping everything to themselves and playing on politics. Poor products and offerings to business clients that do not bring any value. But the sales and Presales are getting complains and warnings for not meeting the target. New sales and Implementation Analyst turn over is crazy high. Over 70% won't stay for over a year.

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    August 27, 2019Company Representative

    We’re sorry to hear of your comments as your experience does not align with our values. We take employee feedback seriously and work to create a culture where employees can share ideas and voice their concerns. Additionally, it is a very transformative time at WU, changing the way we work to deliver a better customer experience and drive growth for the company. With change comes a shared responsibility to continuously improve our collaboration, communication, and culture. At WU, we also understand the impact that our leaders have across the organization, so your thoughts are critical for us to help ensure we are effecting positive change across our organization. We will share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Restructurings and reorganizations are the norm"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    - Relaxed work hours, understanding work flexibility culture - Competitive salary (provided you have negotiated correctly on entry), usually with an increment every year

    Cons

    - Departments work in silos - Tends to follow the crowd e.g. with social initiatives (natural disaster donations) and comments on social values only when other major companies have already broken the ground, follows other labor initiatives (HR are unimaginative themselves). This leads to the company changing direction more often than a cockroach - Restructurings and reorganizations are the norm in this company, so don't bother personalizing your work space (if you have a permanent one) - Promotions are hard to come by - Led by quarterly earnings releases, leading to short-term mindset rather than thinking long-term - Large gap between VPs and the rest of the organization, leading to those senior staff travelling on numerous business meetings while other below that level are laid off for cost-saving purposes - No telephones; need to use PCs and instant chat programs - Very busy as senior management are trying all sorts of things to initiatives to get out of the 'one-trick pony' mindset they have slept-walked into, with many not very well thought through

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    June 27, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for listing work-life balance and our culture as pros and for recommending WU as an employer! We are disappointed to hear of your experience and we greatly appreciate you taking time to share such detailed feedback with us. Having focused comments allows us to help influence positive change across the organization. We will be sharing this with key leaders and we encourage you to share this same feedback in our new WU Listens monthly survey.

  6. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work and providing a good compensation and benefits and having good infrastructure

    Cons

    Less technical growth and less onsite opportunity

    Western Union Response

    May 20, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. Good to see the areas that you have recognized as pros such as benefits and compensation. We strive to allocate resources and provide opportunities equally, based on contribution, skills, and experience. If you'd like to share more detailed and confidential information with us, please reach out to us at careers@westernunion.com.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "No career prospect and Poor Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable working hours is the only pros

    Cons

    Tiny team, no career prospect available for young people. Barely no coaching to new joiners.

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    April 10, 2019Company Representative

    We are disappointed to hear of your comments regarding career growth at WU. We work hard to create opportunities for education and professional growth for each employee based on skills, capability, and contribution. We appreciate you taking the time to share detailed feedback.

  8. "Employer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    professional work life balance environment

    Cons

    no enough recoginition and rash decisions

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    April 10, 2019Company Representative

    We work hard to promote a healthy work-life balance across the company and are happy to see you note this as a pro and that you would recommend and approve our CEO! #WOOTWU! As a current employee, if you'd like, email us at careers@westernunion.com to share any further feedback to help improve our employee experience.

  9. "Associate Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Good Work life balance,flexy hours,flat hierarchy

    Cons

    no clear promotion policy or development plan

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    December 20, 2017Senior Marketing Specialist

    We are happy to see that you would recommend WU and approve of our CEO! Another point for WU's work/life balance. We want to ensure all employees have thoughtful career discussions with their manager. Please try that and you can also share detailed and confidential feedback with careers@westernunion.com. Thanks for the review!

  10. "Recruitment Process"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Recruitment process was very fast and constant feedback and updates on status of application was provided. Good follow ups and great structured process by HR.

    Cons

    Need a structured training program for new joiners to enable me to perform my work in a faster manner. Still not familiar with process flows, systems training, agents recruitment process and etc as most of the staffs in the office are new. Possible to have a buddy system for training purposes for 1 to 2 weeks with a senior from the same role.

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    February 9, 2017Manager, Community Engagement

    Thanks for your input. Glad the recruitment process went well for you. Regarding onboarding, we're proud to share that we have just recently launched a revamped onboarding experience, with a "buddy" program included. Keep the ideas coming internally as well! Welcome to WU.

Found 1151 reviews