VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

VMware Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4432 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2,284 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, PTO, Pay,great perks including medical,dental insurance and other staff benefits. People oriented culture.

    Cons

    Some team works in their own and not necessarily aligned with the Corp cultures. Lots of good people who can perform got let go; lots of people who don’t seem to be any good performer but talkers got retained or promoted.

    VMware2019-06-20
  2. "Senior Member of Technical Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit and self-improvement opportunity

    Cons

    You might be immediate lay -off if the company strategy is changed.

    VMware2019-09-17
  3. "Senior Enterprise Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Enterprise Account Manager in Kon Hang
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong customer base and market leader in hybrid cloud solutions.

    Cons

    Quotas are unrealistic high

    Advice to Management

    Internal logistics especially for SaaS models are very clumsy

    VMware2019-08-22
  4. "a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    great culture, and very good pay

    Cons

    the product is not using cutting edge technologies

    VMware2019-07-03
  5. "Sr. MTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Interesting product and the cutting edge technique

    Cons

    I haven't downside for VMWare

    VMware2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is existed

    Cons

    No strategic business direction plan and execute

    Advice to Management

    Business would be much better than now if management plans for long term goal with strategic planning.

    VMware2016-05-01
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Good company to work for and you can reach your customer easily

    Cons

    Good product but need better..clear marketing messages

    VMware2014-09-16
  8. Helpful (37)

    "Great place to work that values quality of life and family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    VMware is a big company but in many ways had a startup vibe. That was great because the resources and infrastructure of a big company were there, but it gave most people I worked with freedom to work on many projects, influence, move around, and contribute in many ways. Plus, many things moved faster than they might at other companies of the same size. Perks were really great including bonuses, events on the campus,... opportunities, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest con is the annual layoff. During most of the years I was there, we were growing like crazy, beating expectations, gaining in stock price, etc. It was always positive and upward. However, every single January, it was known that there would be a round of layoffs, even when all numbers were looking great as they almost always were. Management called it restructuring. But, over the years, some really good... people were let go for no apparent reason. Then to add insult to injury, a week or two later, there would be a company quarterly meeting discussing how VMware was doing so well and is still hiring, but they had to make some changes. It always felt dishonest and the sympathy for those let go came across as disingenuous.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    January was always a nerve racking month and it completely destroyed any sense of loyalty to the company. I know a few people that completely changed their perception of VMware after a colleague of theirs was let go with no apparent rhyme or reason. Many people left shortly after as a result of losing loyalty to the company or for just being stressed out about themselves getting cut the next year.

    VMware2019-06-24
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    By and large, the people at VMware are great people to work with. Very bright and eager to find solutions to some of the trickiest problems facing the industry. There's an emphasis on focus and execution, but the culture is more supportive than internally competitive. The benefits are great and the Palo Alto campus is gorgeous.

    Cons

    Some challenges with cross-organizational silos and communication. Depending on the business unit, annual budget planning processes can be fairly lengthy and opaque which is frustrating if you're exposed to it.

    VMware2019-09-19
  10. "Best company I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS3 in Sofia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Latest technologies, Good salary, Great people

    Cons

    Career ladder is big, but it is expected for such a big company.

    VMware2019-09-18
Found 4432 reviews