Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Unilever Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Alan Jope
Alan Jope
440 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Purpose-driven and Value-based Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start your career and develop your leadership capabilities in an environment that is truly global, diverse and collaborative.

    Cons

    Speed and agility to adapt to changing market dynamics, digital disruption and consumer trends - This is true to all key global players in the consumer packaged goods industry

    Unilever2018-09-08

    Unilever Response

    September 10, 2018Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Unilever so far.

    Continue reading
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    good management, training Provided, Pay OK

    Cons

    overtime sometimes, tough work, overall ok

    Unilever2020-01-16

    Unilever Response

    January 27, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing feedback. Please do share this feedback with your line manager or HR contact as we are always looking for ways to ensure a better experience.

    Continue reading
  3. "Overall Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    High Salary and Benefits compare to others

    Cons

    Workload is a bit heavy

    Unilever2019-10-07
  4. "Senior Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility in terms of working hours, allow to work from home

    Cons

    Very local culture with stubborn and narrow minded management. Unilever was a good company with great culture probably 10 years ago but the mindsets of senior management didn’t change since then, resulting in the leaders leading the company in an old-fashioned way (micro-management, do not reward performing staff with promotion and pay increment, instead they add extra responsibilities to ‘give new exposure’ etc.) They can’t accept new ideas and new management styles and that’s why the people who can survive are trainees they train themselves and the ones that left then rehired.

    Continue reading
    Unilever2019-09-10
  5. "Customer Development Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, lots of exposure

    Cons

    the company location is a bit far from the mtr

    Unilever2019-02-01

    Unilever Response

    February 4, 2019Global Talent Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "HR Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    The colleagues are nice and the atmosphere good

    Cons

    Administrative duties are at high portion

    Unilever2018-05-20

    Unilever Response

    May 25, 2018Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for your contribution at Unilever.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home policy is good

    Cons

    Limited vision in local management; false image as an MNC corporation (it was, maybe 10 years ago), local market operate as in local companies; remote office area; if you are not mobile and not trainee, very limited resources and progression opportunities; if you perform well, rather than reward with promotion/ salary adjustment, they reward you with job expansion and increase workload (as part of development to you); high turnover which make the workload even worst for those who stays; you feel like being penalize as you are living in an expensive location as they compare you salary to other low cost of living countries to determine resources given

    Continue reading
    Unilever2018-04-24

    Unilever Response

    May 30, 2018Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time with us. We thank you for your contribution to Unilever and wish you all the best in your next role.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has a great culture: very good team and good work life balance, it's very flexible, management is supportive. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Processes are complicated sometimes which can be frustrating. Location is not the best compared to other FMCG companies in Hong Kong.

    Unilever2018-04-04

    Unilever Response

    April 5, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback and for your contribution at Unilever.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Part time sales in Stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hong Kong

    I worked at Unilever

    Pros

    hea, but with high pay, flexible time and location to choose

    Cons

    boring, didnt learn many things

    Unilever2017-04-02

    Unilever Response

    April 7, 2017The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your previous role with us. We appreciate your comments, including your points around flexible working and learning, and will ensure they are passed on to the respective teams.

    Continue reading
  10. "Senior Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever

    Pros

    It is good to learn

    Cons

    Salary is quite low for entry level

    Unilever2016-07-26

    Unilever Response

    July 28, 2016The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback. We'll ensure we pass on your comments around the learning opportunities and renumeration to the respective teams. We hope your current role is proving successful and wish you all the best.

    Continue reading
Found 4068 reviews