Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Sun Life Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1219 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
498 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist, Data Analytics in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendy teams, great work culture, flexible timings, ownership of responsibilities

    Cons

    Since the core product is not tech, the tech roles (like data scientists) play a "helper function" role

    Sun Life2019-07-16
  2. "Lack of responsibility and accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Friendly culture. Less hierarchy. Growing company Young team

    Cons

    Departments pushing tasks and responsibilities Little staff benefits

    Sun Life2019-08-27
  3. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Stable , no dramatic change in culture

    Cons

    Rigid and indifference of senior staff

    Sun Life2019-08-19
  4. "pleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    an international wealth management listed on TSX

    Cons

    operation relatively small in Hong Kong

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2019-03-28
  5. "what does review title mean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life part-time

    Pros

    provide training, workshop, team building activities

    Cons

    mediate pressure to achieve business requirement

    Sun Life2019-03-18
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative work environment good work-life balance progressive and forward looking CEO

    Cons

    Risk averse culture Slow decision making reasonable benefits

    Sun Life2018-11-13
  7. "Great company and culture, but management is hit and miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great. Respectful and values employees as an asset.

    Cons

    Management brought in from outside industry to inject 'new blood and way of thinking' can be a total hit or miss.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2018-09-25
  8. "Friendly Seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    Good working environment (e.g. big cubicle, birthday parties) , friendly staffs (both actuarial and non-actuarial) , receive recognition from seniors occasionally for good work

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at the moment

    Sun Life2017-04-16
  9. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager, Product and Project Management in Hong Kong

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    KPI targets are easy to meet

    Cons

    Frequent restructure strangling productivity and evening basic operations

    Sun Life2015-05-30
  10. "Nice company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong growth on man power, expanding Hong Kong, Phillippines, Vietnam and basically all over Asia or Asia Pacific region

    Cons

    Lack in advertisement, company products lag behind market sometimes, have to restructure the product team in my opinion

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2015-03-28
Found 1219 reviews