Sharp HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Sharp HealthCare Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, flexible hours, career growth available(in 30 reviews)

  • "Organized system, well established, good benefits(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Grossmont, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The teamwork and culture of safety, made this place my favorite place to work.

    Cons

    Some travel nurses not as committed to teamwork culture with CNA's.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-12-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work culture. Supports employees. Open communication. Working towards having the best place to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes as a per diem employee you can be forgotten about as a valuable member of the healthcare team. As a person who floats to many different floors and departments there is a wide variety of how each floor is prepared to have per diem employees.

    Advice to Management

    I think creating a template for each floor to create a cheat sheet with expectation for per diem employees would be very helpful to everyone. Each floor has its own specific expectations determined by their level of patients.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great clinicians - poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love working with the clinicians - smart and caring Proud to work for Sharp (at first) Flexible hours and start times

    Cons

    Unfriendly co-workers - too much gossip Catty insensitive managers - passive aggressive insults - very unprofessional Witnessed unprofessional treatment of employees - very disturbing Double standard of not promoting employees without college degrees but have managers with no college education (and it shows) - sends the wrong message Managers are quick to write people up but not train or mentor employees - lack... of role models in the department - demoralizing for employees who want to do a good job but don't have anyone to show them how

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should treat your employees with respect and not allow cliques to run your departments or your employees to gossip and insult others. You should do a better job maintaining professionalism within the department. I have witnessed a lot of write ups for small things which screams management inexperience and ruins morale. A change in management style would be a refreshing change. Be role models and use mistakes as... teachable moments instead of opportunities to crush your employees and write them up. Lots of good employees are leaving our department - high turnover which should reflect badly on our manager. HR take notice.

    Show More
    Sharp HealthCare2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Secretary in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management can be misleading.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Untrustworthy Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary in San Diego, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's Healthcare there will always be a need

    Cons

    Employees not doing their work and worrying about other employees with how they go about things, Taking pictures of employees without their knowledge. Employees being not trustworthy about what they say or how they go about it. There is a lot of dishonest people, and a lot of slack. Float Pool Employees feel less valued and are not appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Re-check your employees, Re-ensure your employees, Stop saying Oh your a float pool employee and looking at them differently than PTE and FTE Employees as IT IS WRONG AND FEELS LIKE WERE REJECTED. Re-Educate your employees.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-25
  6. "Design engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good best out of the league

    Cons

    NoThing much very good conduct

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-08
  7. "RN with Sharp Home Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allowed me to have flexibility in my day. Great managerial support. Acquired more clinical skills.

    Cons

    Charting took a lot of time.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-04
  8. "Staffing Recourse Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Too many hours available to work, Well-designed system to pair Employee to every facility. Great friendly co-workers and managers are all supportive.

    Cons

    More training shift should be given to new hired Nursing Assistant. i.e. minimum 4 shift paid training, one each in a different major hospitals.

    Advice to Management

    Continue Hire New Grad RN within the organization. (Priority Selection should be given to those who are already working within the Sharp Healthcare system, given the circumstances that the employee is loyal/good standing within Sharp Healthcare)

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance has been great. Good health benefits. Decent retirement plan. Looking forward to seeing the organization evolve to remain competitive in the local market

    Cons

    Leadership can be uninspiring at times. Career progression is not clear. Limited opportunities to demonstrate full skill set

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I believe leadership is heading in the right direction. I would recommend that leadership teams stay connected with staff at all levels to ensure employees are set up for success.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-31
  10. "Clinical Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co workers and team of doctors

    Cons

    Higher up management doesn’t seem to understand Nursing or how to retain staff

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-29
Found 490 reviews