Pearson Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
1,343 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management is driven by cost cutting with very limited concern for employee careers(in 137 reviews)

  • "Senior management needs to be overhauled(in 89 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "education solution officer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    This is a very structured company with very helpful colleagues, the giant structure provide the best opportunities tobwork all over the world

    Cons

    Same as all big compamy, the promotion path maybe a bit slow amd depends on your relationship with the managers, however, they are always supportive to help in career planning

    Pearson2015-06-15
  2. "Chinese style MNC"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Analyst in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Short working hours, Light workload

    Cons

    Not a typical MNC, Chinese work style

    Pearson2020-05-21
  3. "—"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Working environment and benefits good

    Cons

    No downside for this company

    Pearson2020-01-01
  4. "Multicultural environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Relaxing working environment . Conveniently to access

    Cons

    Not at all. Everything is good

    Pearson2019-12-13
  5. "!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Great sector to make a difference

    Cons

    Accelerating digital delivery not always educationally focuses

    Pearson2019-09-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A once great company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    The company has an glorious past and an admirable mission. The front line staff are great people to work with.

    Cons

    While the company had to reinvent itself with the demise of publishing and changing education free, the way it was done is being poor. It's been in cost-cutting mode for years and most of the talent has left at the senior level. Many people seem to be waiting for their redundancy package and the mood of the company generally poor.

    Pearson2019-05-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "internal audit senior manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    well paid, nice people, office at good location

    Cons

    management and company lost its direction

    Pearson2018-03-22
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Once a good place to work at"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, some very talent. Good benefits, and fair wages

    Cons

    Poor senior management, don't know what they are doing (and I believe they don't know what they are doing either). Restructuring every two to three years, but change worse every time. Departments are playing politics with each other, not doing real work anymore.

    Continue reading
    Pearson2017-03-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Getting worse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    - nice to work with people who care about education - relationships among colleagues are good; office politics (at least in my team) is rare - flexible and reasonable working hours

    Cons

    - recent layoffs have undermined staff morale - benefits and bonuses have shrunk considerably - in such a big corporation, processes and procedures can get clumsy

    Continue reading
    Pearson2017-01-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Finance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Can manage work life balance for some departments; pay and benefits package on par with other multi-national corporations, convenient location

    Cons

    management needs to be strengthened, top line not growing and just focus on costs cut; lots of restructuring; process and tools lots of rooms to improve

    Continue reading
    Pearson2016-04-27
Found 3701 reviews