Opencare Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Opencare Reviews

Updated 11 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Opencare Chief Executive Officer Nikolai Bratkovski (no image)
Nikolai Bratkovski
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing teammates; Fast growing company; Cool and unique problems to solve; Lots of start-up perks; Lots of autonomy;

    Cons

    Company is growing very fast, and there is a constant state of change. Could be stressful at times.

    Continue reading
    Opencare2020-03-11
  2. "Awesome place to work if you enjoy a fast-paced, ever changing environment with immediate impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours with truly unlimited vacation - Emphasis on personal health ahead of work - Abundance of interesting business problems to tackle with a lean team - Transparency on goals / opportunities / challenges from executives to rest of organization - Fast paced environment with regular shifts in focus - Strong focus on building a sustainable business while also growing market share

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure can make it difficult to coordinate efforts and hold people accountable

    Continue reading
    Opencare2020-03-10
  3. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture focused on growth and problem solving - Great vision and significant potential to win in industry - Extreme transparency across the org - Incredibly smart team - Significant resources devoted to personal development - Significant career opportunities and options - High degree of flexibility for work arrangements (wfh, etc.)

    Cons

    - Hard to keep up with headcount needs given growth pace - Could use more experience at certain levels

    Opencare2020-01-08

    Opencare Response

    January 13, 2020Senior Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and I'm glad you're having a positive experience at Opencare! Our Talent team is working hard to keep adding more folks to the team every week :) Mike mike.bettley@opencare.com

    Continue reading
  4. "When I work with them, I mostly enjoyed and learn new things about marketing in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, comfy work environment

    Cons

    management was not great and they did not care call center team

    Opencare2019-12-14

    Opencare Response

    January 8, 2020Senior Talent Manager

    Hey there! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the office space and perks during your contract! We really appreciated the hard work you put into our call centre experiment, and I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel supported by your manager. Obviously this isn't ideal and I'd love to hear a little more so we can continue to improve our process and provide coaching to our teams. Please reach out to me at mike.bettley@opencare.com so we can set up time to chat further. Mike

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Challenge yourself to be better, with the support needed to get there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee At Opencare 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great bourgeoning culture. The corporate culture at Opencare is developing and growing day by day. The best part is that you can join the team here and have a noticeable impact on it. Things aren't stale or stuck, and it is a pleasure to see how we are growing and developing our culture. A thoughtful and dedicated team. It is great to be around a group of very thoughtful people. Since joining Opencare, I have found the team here really thinks things through, and emphasize using data to guide decisions. I get the sense that there isn't much we cannot accomplish. Office perks that make a difference. One of the perks of working here is we have our lunches catered every day. I don't have to think about what to make or bring to eat every day — one less thing to clutter my mind. Plus I find getting to sit with the team over a shared meal is a great way to forge bonds. We are all in this together. Having strong executive leadership dedicated to transparency makes it easy to feel "we are all in this together." Regular town halls where team members can ask any question go a long way to keep things clear and ensure we are all on the same page.

    Cons

    Working in a startup isn't for everyone. There is no shortage of problems to solve, and priorities can change very quickly. Opencare, like many businesses in their position, needs to be mindful not to create new problems while solving for others.

    Continue reading
    Opencare2019-08-27

    Opencare Response

    January 13, 2020Senior Talent Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and we're also excited to see how the company and culture is evolving. We definitely agree that startup life isn't for everyone, but we try hard to find the right balance that allows everyone to be successful. Mike mike.bettley@opencare.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "World's BEST Culture, Rewarding Work & Supported Personal & Professional Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enablement in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nearly 5 months in and I can truly say with confidence that Opencare is the best place that I have ever worked. - Amazing, collaborative & kind culture with an emphasis on well-being that is actively supported by management. - Transparent leadership, with weekly updates from the founders. - Personal and professional development is valued and supported at all levels. - A truly close team working toward common goals. - A diverse, safe and inclusive safe for all in which you can bring your whole self to work.

    Cons

    I'll let you know if I find any! (It's a startup, a willingness to hustle is necessary and comfortability in ambiguity and changing requirements is a must)!

    Continue reading
    Opencare2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing culture and rewarding work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a huge emphasis on personal development so there are a lot of opportunities for personal and professional growth. The cofounders really encourage and model work life balance and being your optimal healthy self. It's supported by the cultural values as well as all the company perks such as unlimited vacation, free massages, free access to a performance psychologist and flexible work hours. The work itself is also super rewarding since you're helping real people find a better dentist, and you're helping dental business gain new patients. It's a win-win-win philosophy, that makes you feel good about coming to work everyday. Aside from all the already mentioned perks, there are also daily catered organic lunches which are delicious and such a time saver!

    Cons

    The company is growing really quickly, which comes with its own growing pains. There are still some processes that will need to be made scalable to make sure that we can continue to scale at this pace.

    Continue reading
    Opencare2019-04-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Growth Marketer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time

    Pros

    - Well-protected culture even while scaling teams quickly - Leadership understands the value developing sustainable growth through processes & systems over "just hitting targets" - Extremely flexible and generous L&D programs for personal development, not once has someone said no to something I wanted to go for (also, any courses or books you want are funded by OC) - Awesome people! Everyone from sales to engineering are hired for culture I find more so than a lot of other places I've been to - We have so many opportunities to scale and we're working towards an incredible vision, not just for dentistry but for healthcare as a whole!

    Cons

    - We're outgrowing our office space (definitely a positive though!) - It's only been stellar so far!

    Continue reading
    Opencare2019-04-08
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work for passionate people who want to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working on the Opencare engineering team for less than a year and I'm happy to say that everything that was sold to me in the interview process is true (and then some). It's an incredibly dedicated team of passionate people who want to do things the right way and are constantly looking to improve. We have a great product that solves an interesting problem the business vision is clearly defined so its easy to feel proud of and excited about what you're doing. Pros: - really flexible work from home and vacation policy as well as the ability to set your own hours help promote a great work/life balance and allow you to make sure that when you're at work you're performing at your best - the leadership team openly encourages/accepts feedback from employees. what's more is they take our feedback seriously and turn it into action items - the company takes DIBs (diversity, inclusion & belonging) at work seriously!!! we've been doing a lot of work with bright + early and have recently started an internal dibs guild to ensure that we are always improving. the founders and leadership team talk about diversity and their hiring plans very openly as well which is really unique for the toronto tech start up space, i.e this is NOT the typical bro-y startup culture focused on drinking. - we're a small team so there's a huge opportunity to make an impact as well as learn from all sides of the business. as an engineer i get to regularly interact and collaborate with designers, product managers, customer success managers and even sales and marketing to ensure we're delivering the best product. this has lead to a lot of unique learning opportunities for me! - lots of career growth and development opportunities! there isn't a cap on learning, if you want to take a class or purchase a book or whatever it is you do to learn the company will support you. the leadership team is dedicated to your professional development: your manager will have regular check ins with you and help you define in set goals to drive you closer to your overarching career goals. recently we've done some cool initiatives to help people find mentors in the field as well

    Cons

    It's a start up so things move fast and you have to juggle multiple priorities. for some this is an exciting challenge and an environment in which they can thrive and for others this can be overwhelming. If you want to work here recognize where you are on that scale but if you're passionate about what you do and are eager to learn and grow then know you'd be joining a team of like minded people who want to support you and help you reach your goals.

    Continue reading
    Opencare2019-02-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Talented, thoughtful, and true to their values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team at Opencare are some of the most thoughtful and talented individuals I've ever met! A lot of people speak about "hiring people that are smarter than you" but Opencare is the first place I've really seen this become reality. Everyone is involved in major decision making from day 1, and there is complete transparency about all aspects of the company (including the full financials) to ensure everyone is a true stakeholder. New hires are quickly entrusted with high-value, high-impact projects with lots of autonomy and support from leaders; a very refreshing change to previous organizations. The values that are articulated on the website are strictly adhered to in hiring so the culture really does match with what the Founders wanted to build. This makes hiring slow but the calibre of individuals that join allows them to integrate and contribute very quickly. The leadership is committed to building a long-term sustainable company and really emphasize the need for the team to take time for rest, recuperation, and a focus on wellness. Overall, I have a tremendous sense of excitement heading to work everyday and look forward to learning and growing with the team around me.

    Cons

    Hiring does take a long time (due to the focus on hiring people that add to the culture) which means there are some gaps on the team for a while. This can place strain on teams but the managers do try to provide insight and visibility into the work being done to address it. The fast pace of work can lead to rapid changes in direction and de-prioritized work. This is to be expected in a start up but can be frustrating if you are not used to it.

    Continue reading
    Opencare2018-12-18
Found 27 reviews