Flipp Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Flipp Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Flipp CEO Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares(in 18 reviews)

  • "Well established culture, great benefits (snacks, drinks, work from home once a week)(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance - the culture is filled with hypocrisy(in 15 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Finally Real People who are Crazy Smart & Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart People who are really passionate and go out of their way to help others; challenging work and the ability to make change and drive innovation

    Cons

    Very fast paced so if you can't respond quickly you will struggle

    Advice to Management

    Management seem to be very passionate about growth of the business. There is a lot of focus on people and making a difference. This is very exciting. Keep sharing the vision and plans for growth of the Company

    Flipp2019-08-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst/Junior PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office and nice views.

    Cons

    Not killing it. Might be able to do better.

    Advice to Management

    Be ready for change.

    Flipp2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (35)

    "Love this place. Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    CEO rules with an iron fist. People that don't understand should leave, I've learned so much from him and I can't thank him enough for his tutelage. When people confront you, just bury them in work until their complaint is no longer relevant. When you confront others and they ask you to justify it, just let them know that they don't understand, belittle them until they no longer have the will to contradict you.... Brilliant! The Leadership team in general has taught me that the best way to grow is to continue to do something until you fail miserably at it. Then where most people would be forced to leave, switch to another department and scapegoat your situation on the fact that you were doing more than you should have been. Brilliant! When things are falling apart all around you, pick a person in leadership that hasn't been there from the start and let them go. The ripples will be felt for months and people won't know what to do. It buys you time to contemplate your next move. Brilliant! If you're just an IC, you can expect that you're going to learn new lessons each and every week. The phone they gave me, an iPhone XS, doesn't stop ringing and is flush full of emails each and every night. I wake up to close to 300 emails every morning that require attention. I can take my work home with me while also feeling like my colleagues are always close by. I've never felt so loved. Brilliant! If you're in sales, you get tested on your knowledge of your customers to make sure you stay sharp. Do you know how much your customer spent yesterday, last week, last month, last year - well after a couple sessions you'll know it just as easily as you do the 35th digit of pi, it's 8 btw - go ahead and look it up, I'm prepared and ready to be tested. Brilliant! Want opportunity to advance? Well leaders are leaving each and every week so it opens up new opportunities. Want to be a director, but don't want to wait years to prove your mettle, just learn enough about the infrastructure, speak up in a few meetings, and then a few months later - a spot will be open because the director will have left - they were weak anyway. Bam - manager in 8 months, director in 2 years. Brilliant!

    Show More

    Cons

    How could a place like this have any cons? It's been an amazing journey, I just hope that I can survive to see the next phase of brilliance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing. As you've said, we must be relentless with your vision and we can't let things like facts slow us down.

    Flipp2019-04-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Satisfied but not Engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus structure, work from home, 6 weeks paid vacation.

    Cons

    We shift focus A LOT. Everyone seems to be running on empty. No wonder we are not as engaged as we could be.

    Flipp2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Culture is not as good as acclaimed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks Some good people Convenient location

    Cons

    Disorganized Strategy seems to change all the time Product/features change all the time, confuses clients and team members Tons of required meetings that don't offer enough value for the time taken BD team is not supportive, lack of training, overall a "better than you" attitude exhibited by some members

    Flipp2019-06-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great company but a bit slow to innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work / life balance Generally fantastic / smart people working here Great, ambitious company vision

    Cons

    Retailers move slow and it seems like the company is content to move at a similar pace on the client solutions side. On the user side, product innovation felt slow to non-existent and user growth is stagnant as a result. Lots of potential, just too slow to execute! Culture not as data-driven as it should be for a tech company. Partially blocked by tech debt in legacy systems which is acknowledged by management.... Severely lacking lacking in analytics leadership. Bad case of too many cooks in the kitchen sometimes (too many teams with small / inefficient scope). Individual growth is really stagnant as a result.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    True transparency is acknowledging faults and losses from time to time. Be upfront with issues the company is facing and build a rallying cry around addressing those problems instead of constantly beating the same high-level vision drum or giving the same talk about culture again. Bitter sweet when I left, but don't regret moving. All in all still hope to see Flipp succeed and reach its potential.

    Flipp2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Pace & Hard Working : You will get challenged and you will grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth Mindset - Always growing, learning and challenging (work and personally); Hardworking - Everyone is working hard with you (i.e. peak periods like Black Friday, teams support each other.. even if they are not on the team). Humble - You always have the few that aren't but I would say 95% of people I work with are very humble. When you compliment them, they shy away and prefer to compliment others. Results... Oriented (personally & business) - We have business objectives & personal growth targets. Fast-Paced and ever changing - you will never get board Lack of Politics - Top Down & Bottom up Feedback encouraged - managers to report, report to manager, report to director, senior leadership, all is welcome and encouraged. I can be my direct (and respectful) self and give honest feedback.

    Show More

    Cons

    Easy to get overwhelmed - There will always be more to do - my biggest learning is working on prioritization. It is hard to do because this is A LOT you can do, but we are encouraged and supported in looking for ways to prioritize Growing Pains - there are opportunities to streamline, simplify. That would make it easier to drive efficiencies and balance.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring a breath of knowledge across industries - it helps drive growth and different perspectives. There are some instances where legacy Flipp opinions are very apparent - sometimes good, other times potentially inhibiting. Continue to drive process, consistency and structure, as we continue to grow, that continues to be more important to grow more consistently.

    Flipp2019-05-10
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing People, Amazing Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Flipp is a great place for people who are really focused on team work and who want to build authentic relationships and solve massive problems. We all work very hard and I've been so impressed with the calibre of people around me every day. We work really hard to hold our standards high so we do have a work hard play hard culture. We've grown through the years and we're not a young startup anymore - that comes... with pros and cons. We used to be able to just do whatever with no regard for consequences, but now we put proper thought in place to make sure that we understand the impacts to our customers and our teams. It's been a growing experience for us and we're all in it together. The culture and our ways of working is what makes Flipp special. We really do work hard to make sure we live out our cultural values. A good culture should be polarizing and people who love it, should love it alot, while those that don't, won't. People who call Flipp home love our culture of growing and serving others while pushing each other for high standards and performance. It's a paradoxical culture of having people who are hungry, and highly intelligent but have the humility to take feedback and improve.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are lots of places to improve at Flipp like any organization. We could improve the way we look at our benefits like Goodlife, or the way that we do performance evaluations as there aren't any perfect ways to do that yet but we're looking to make it better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being humble, and keep driving improvements. We can only get better if we stay humble constantly.

    Flipp2019-04-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "People & Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares. The people are amazing and it doesn't matter what level or title you have, people listen and act on it. There's so much opportunity and it's exciting every day! I also believe there are amazing benefits to help with everyday stresses: we have on site massage,... physio, life coach etc - the Company cares.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's so much opportunity and so many great people that we want to accomplish so much. We need to prioritize and slow things down. It's amazing for learning and growing but it can be busy.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to values, principles and focus on people. Slow things down a bit.

    Flipp2019-04-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing people & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management cares about the people who work here and has built an open and transparent culture. The new leaders we've hired also seem consistent with the culture that we have. - The business is healthy and the product has come along way but still has much more to improve but that's what I'm excited about. - In most roles, there is a lot of opportunity for ownership - the new mission based teams that we... rolled out were rocky to start but I think we're getting the hang of it.

    Show More

    Cons

    We've done alot of rework on our technology to make it faster to move, but there is much more to be done.

    Advice to Management

    I'd encourage management to make sure we continue to invest in things that will make it faster for us to dev.

    Flipp2019-04-27
Found 149 reviews