Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 899 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and not much pressure from work force(in 52 reviews)

  • "Nice customers and staff discount(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member 

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -good pay -friendly staff -always busy so not standing around doing anything -flexible for students -plenty of chance for overtime

    Cons

    -sometimes short staffed at the busiest periods

    Co-op2019-09-16
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ethical company focusing on changing the way business is conducted. Number of holidays provided is high (34+), 10% off products in store as well as 20% during payday weekend. Paid breaks whilst on shift.

    Cons

    It is common to work two people on a shift at one time, this can result in a lot of fast-paced hard work especially when conducting stock, working on checkouts, sorting out waste and ensuring the shop is clean. Important to note that this often occurs after 18:00, so it is not too difficult if there is not a lot to do.

    Advice to Management

    Aim to have three employees working on a shift at all times. This would help alleviate some tension.

    Co-op2019-09-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assissstant 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount on all coop products

    Cons

    A lot of 5:30am shifts

    Co-op2019-09-15
  4. "Good Company On Journey to Modernise and Streamline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues ; fast moving environment

    Cons

    Heavy governance and slow decision making

    Co-op2019-09-12

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review.

  5. "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Dispenser in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good workings environment and flexible

    Cons

    Wages and it is short staffed at times

    Advice to Management

    To increases employer incentives

    Co-op2019-09-11

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback, it's great to hear that you would recommend us.

  6. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Woodbridge, England

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary good career prospects for management

    Cons

    Working with agency workers who don’t care

    Advice to Management

    Work as a team

    Co-op2019-09-11

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that you feel supported with your career progression.

  7. "Solid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work, not too taxing. Good hours.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best Sometimes understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Could do with more staff. Sometimes not enough cover.

    Co-op2019-09-09

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. We have introduced an app that helps to ensure hours are managed more efficiently in our stores.

  8. "It’s good but not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, good people, good opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of hours budget to get the work done

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours to stores

    Co-op2019-09-09

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review.

  9. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid break, Chill staff + management and paid holiday

    Cons

    Shifts can sometimes be a bit long / sometimes i’m scheduled 30 hours sometimes 16

    Advice to Management

    None

    Co-op2019-09-08

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    It's lovely to hear that you would recommend us, thanks for your review.

  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team there were nice, management was good and they were helpful when you were learning how to do things- some opportunity for overtime too.

    Cons

    The odd customer was a pain to deal with, got to be fine with being on your knees/bending down alot, facing up the shop can be challenging to get it all done in a smaller shift.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Co-op2019-09-07

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, we will be keeping up the good work!

Found 899 reviews