Amgen Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Amgen Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Amgen CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
680 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance could be better(in 82 reviews)

  • "Multiple stakeholders and multi-level decision making engender rounds of reviews and buy-ins(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen

    Pros

    Recent expansion into Asia, hence opportunities for the brave hearts who wants to likes challenges

    Cons

    Newly setup due to recent expansion into Asia, therefore structure is not well define, too many internal process to get things done...far too many

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the amount of internal prices

    Amgen2016-05-06
  2. "Great Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Supply Chain 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amgen is extremely flexible and emphasizes work-life balance for all. The benefits are incredible.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Amgen2019-11-04
  3. "Observational Research Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Observational Research Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, 10% 401(k), low Healthcare insurance premiums, 20 days vacation plus two weeks company shut down per year

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement, high employee turnover, micro-managed

    Amgen2019-11-16
  4. "Plant supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Ssuperisor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed working under pressure and gained new experience to start back from scratch

    Cons

    Project ceased and we had to leave as wear the service provider

    Advice to Management

    If you need my support , I will be happy to come back.

    Amgen2019-11-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Associate IS Programmer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company Culture - Work Life Balance - Organization Goals and Roadmap - Investment in new technologies - Investment in Employee Career Growth

    Cons

    - Compensation lower than industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate based on skill sets of employees rather than hiring level.

    Amgen2019-10-27
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accommodating supervisor Everyone is super busy but more than willing to help you out if you have any questions or need any help Lots of opportunities to meet and talk with people from varying disciplines working in different functions of the industry

    Cons

    Contract worker culture seems toxic--this is not an issue unique to Amgen Compartmentalization makes working feel less meaningful

    Amgen2019-10-30
  7. "Decent as research tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amgen part-time

    Pros

    This has been a great experience.

    Cons

    I wish I had more flexibility.

    Amgen2019-10-28
  8. "Simply not enough resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Still small enough of a company to approach business problems with nimbleness

    Cons

    Too many knee jerk changes across all leadership tier with no clear direction. The bare bone minimum resources make work-life balance non-existent

    Amgen2019-11-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, work life balance

    Cons

    Need to keep looking for your own career growth

    Amgen2019-10-17
  10. "Innovative Biotech Legend in Mellow Ventura County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, driven people Creative science Supportive management Southern California Twice yearly weeklong shutdowns

    Cons

    Big company process bloat Prolonged process improvement initiatives

    Amgen2019-10-19
Found 1828 reviews