Amgen Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Amgen Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
706 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance could be better(in 84 reviews)

  • "Multiple stakeholders and multi-level decision making engender rounds of reviews and buy-ins(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "High pressure, good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative working environment, abundant budget to support project delivery.

    Cons

    Demanding, high pressure, multi-task handling is prerequisite.

    Amgen2020-02-14
  2. "Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen

    Pros

    Recent expansion into Asia, hence opportunities for the brave hearts who wants to likes challenges

    Cons

    Newly setup due to recent expansion into Asia, therefore structure is not well define, too many internal process to get things done...far too many

    Continue reading
    Amgen2016-05-06
  3. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Associate in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation and benefits with collaborative atmosphere

    Cons

    Nothing negative as of now

    Amgen2020-02-15

    Amgen Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Manager

    We're so pleased to hear you're enjoying Amgen and hope your positive experience continues. Please know, you can always contact our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com with any questions or feedback. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  4. "Best Place I Have Ever Worked - But let’s work on promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Amgen

    Pros

    Amgen offers everything you could possibly want out of a company. There is immense room for growth, so many different& interesting areas to get involved in outside of your role, an amazing culture, excellent benefits and work life balance (including winter and summer shutdowns, 3 weeks Vacation on top of that, 2 weeks sick time, even volunteer hours... 401k you get 15% for contributing only 5% of your salary and restricted stock units granted every year on top of your bonus). The work we do is truly saving lives... I especially appreciate how Amgen re-focuses our perspective regularly and will bring in patients to tell their personal stories. I am so grateful for this experience.

    Cons

    Some individuals tend to value doctorate degrees over real, scientific experience. They also look down upon engineers... It’s really a bummer for the culture. Promotions are also pretty slow... causing us to lose top talent to other companies.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-02-13

    Amgen Response

    February 13, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear our great benefits and culture have enhanced your experience with Amgen. However, it seems we might have some work to do in other areas. We’d love for you to get in touch with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com so we can hear more. Thank you, we look forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Amgen2020-02-12
  6. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good benefit with two week of coMeant wide shut down, one in summer and one in holiday break

    Cons

    The company turn over is high

    Amgen2020-02-11

    Amgen Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. As a valued team member, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as we strive to create an enjoyable work environment. If you'd like to share more about your experience, please contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com at any time.

    Continue reading
  7. "I feel appreciated by Amgen and love my job but frustrated with my current manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An overall culture of respect. Opportunities for advancement and every level of management is accessible. Benefits are fantastic 5% matched on 401k and then 5% uncapped on salary is contributed regardless of whether or not you contribute to 401k. Generous vacation days plus July week shutdown and Christmas week shutdown are huge perks.

    Cons

    The culture of rewarding “behaviors” as well as results can get abused when bias/favoritism exists unchecked. This is manager-specific and I can only speak to my role in field sales.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-02-07

    Amgen Response

    February 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As a valued member of our team, we encourage you to contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience so we can work toward a solution.

    Continue reading
  8. "Still a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Pipeline is good multiple disease states

    Cons

    Politics can be an obstacle

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-02-06

    Amgen Response

    February 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear about the negative aspects of your experience at Amgen and greatly appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We hope you share more with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com so we can work toward a better solution. Thank you, we wish you all the best in your career.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    benefits and salary are wonderful

    Cons

    large and lots of silos

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-02-04

    Amgen Response

    February 5, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We value your input as we strive to provide an environment where staff can grow personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Intense, competitive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good compensation and benefits-especially 401k. Strong leadership at very top.

    Cons

    Intense culture that will suck the life out of you if you let it. You need to have strong personal boundaries because it's a 24/7 kind of work culture with little work/life balance. People are not generally kind and helpful. They look out for themselves and engage in unhealthy politics.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-02-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1877 reviews