Zengo & Co Employee Reviews about "scam"

Updated 5 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The one great thing about Zengo is no one is made to feel like they are any less(in 7 reviews)

  • "I love the fast paced environment and the awesome co-workers(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long story short, this place is a scam(in 7 reviews)

  • "I experience no cons while working for Zengo&Co(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "scam"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zengo & Co part-time

    Pros

    They gave me free coffee.

    Cons

    Everything. This was back in 2016 when I had just graduated and was desperate for a job. I had a minor in marketing, and was compelled to apply when they advertised the position as a Junior Marketing Exec. As it turns out, this was completely false information, and they were actually looking for door-to-door saleswomen/men to pawn off cheap, shoddy cell phones to unwitting patrons. The "interview", if you can even call it that, was a complete joke. The manager gave me skeevy vibes and was completely unprofessional. He didn't ask me any questions about my interest in the company nor my qualifications. He just went on a long monologue about his life and success and how many sportscars he owns. His "advice" to me (which I never asked for) was to 'never listen to my parents' and do what I want. This was just the first part of a long and uncomfortable onboarding process. The "assistant manager", or whoever he was, proceeded to walk me through the city streets to a nearby coffee shop where he buttered me up with free frappuccinos and more monologues about how much success working at this company had brought him. He did this all while laying out the format of the company to me. Basically, it would be my job to sell cruddy flip phones to patrons. The more commissions I got, the higher up in the company I'd move, until I too could become a junior assistant manager and own my own branch of the company. Right. It was here where I realized that this was all just a pyramid scheme and had little to nothing to do with marketing. I was desperate though, and decided to hear him out. I even said I would accept the job after they offered it to me. Later in the day, however, after doing some serious reflection, I came to my senses and declined. I never heard from any of them again. Based on the other comments here, it seems my gut instinct was correct. Long story short, this place is a scam. They falsely advertise the position, and then try to reel you in, banking that you'll say yes in order to avoid post-graduate joblessness. Don't buy into it. You'll be happier getting a regular part-time job at a grocery store than working here. I'm just glad I was able to escape in time.

    Continue reading
    Zengo & Co2018-08-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zengo & Co

    Pros

    THERE ARE NONE. DO NOT APPLY OR EVEN GO TO THEIR OFFICE. Just horrible people. Not worth even talking to. Literally garbage.

    Cons

    This place is a horrible, horrible scam for college students. they post on LinkedIn about how they are looking for a marketing specialist but the truth is that it's a sales job where you go to to big stores and sell stuff to annoyed customers. Literally they make you pay for all of your expenses too. They call them "marketing events". In all reality it's your busting your butt to make the scammers money. The people who lead these companies aren't smart people, they just scam to make money. The minute they start getting in trouble they change their name and become a new company. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

    Continue reading
    Zengo & Co2016-10-21
  3. Helpful (6)

    "IT IS A SCAM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zengo & Co full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i got to wake up everyday and go to work and waste my day and time

    Cons

    I worked at Zengo for a month and they were not honest with me from the beginning. First they are not open about that the job requires your to solicit sales literally at people's doors. 2. The managers will try to make it seem they make tons of money while they don't just to make you interested, They will tell you that in 6 months you will own your own company which is a LIE. THIS IS A MULTI LEVEL MARKETING SCAM!!!!!!! 3. They will tell you, get paid weekly but in reality it's all commission and you will not get paid until the 4th week, That's if you get paid. THEY RIPPED ME OFF WITH MY CHECK. I WORKED FOR A MONTH AND MY CHECK WAS LESS THAN $50 i also had to call them 300 times before i even got it 4. Here are some fraud complaints; go to rip off . com to see all the complaints they have 5. There are more fraud complains with zengo and it's related companies feel free to do your own research 6.On thursday Night they have 'friendly competitions' which they make bets about who is buying drinks at the bar and blah blah blah. Problem is they never really own up to this because they don't make enough money 7. TO BE HONEST YOU ARE BETTER OF BEING A POTATO COUCH AND WATCHING SPONGE BOB MARATHONS OR STANDING ON MICHIGAN AVE. ASKING FOR MONEY THAN WORKING FOR THEM. 8. Did i mention everything is commission based, you have to have your own transportation and lunch everyday They also change the company's name if they get too many complains on the company, they also tend to relocate if they feel burned out. They want you to work long hours because they know they don't have to pay you by the hour. I will call it being exploited than actually working.because you make less than minimum wage. For more info. look at credico scams.

    Zengo & Co2016-06-13
  4. "GDIs"

    2.0
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zengo & Co

    Pros

    I learned to look closer into what type of work I was actually getting into for future jobs. Other than that, absolutely nothing.

    Cons

    Where do I start? I was lied to about all components of the internship during the interview. They lied about the hours, the pay, and the overall internship. This is strictly a sales internship. There was no marketing whatsoever involved. I was sent to one of the worst neighborhoods in the country to give out free phones. What a horrible experience. For prospective employees, don't fall for this scam of a business.

    Continue reading
    Zengo & Co2016-05-21
  5. Helpful (13)

    "its a SCAM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zengo & Co

    Pros

    Its a scam. Dont fall for their nice words. no good thing to say about this company. they mess with your head.

    Cons

    they offer jobs to everyone who comes to interview so that they have more people on the street trying to sell free phone to homeless people. traumatizing experience. Pyramid Scam where the owner gets all the profit and poor unemployed people get nothing out of it. no salary.

    Continue reading
    Zengo & Co2015-11-30

    Zengo & Co Response

    January 15, 2016Manager

    Dear Reviewer, I would like to investigate your comments further. Please could you contact head office in Chicago to explain what has happened. All employees receive a salary so I'm not sure who you are referring to. The review is not clear but some of the comments are very worrying for us. I would love the opportunity to understand more about your experience so that I may investigate any issues.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Deserves 0 Stars"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zengo & Co

    Pros

    There are no pros that will ultimately benefit you. Trust me.

    Cons

    Its a pyramid scheme. They sell government provided phones to seemingly lower income people by approaching them in the streets of the downtown area. You'll be walking around all day trying to get people to sign up for this. Then you'll get promoted to hire more people to follow out this scam. During you're second "interview" you'll go out on the streets with them to see what it's like and try your hand at it I.e. Work for free which is illegal. Google Zengo & Co scams.

    Continue reading
    Zengo & Co2015-09-15

    Zengo & Co Response

    January 26, 2016Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your time with us, however I would like to clarify we are not a pyramid scheme and that you may have misunderstood the work we do. As an event marketing company we set up pop up events and campaigns in popular retail venues, as these campaigns are static, I’m a little confused as to why you had to walk around all day. Also, out second stage of interview is strictly an observation day which allows potential contractors the opportunity to experience the work we do and make an informed decision as to whether to work with us. We do not require participants to ‘work’ on these days, and there is no obligation to even attend these interviews. I hope this has helped to clear up some of the issues you raised, and we wish you the best of luck in the future.

  7. Helpful (17)

    "Scam"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zengo & Co full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing about this company is good tbh. Don't bother to do any interviews at all like nbs

    Cons

    Scam. You don't make anything if you're not able to sell. And its door to door.

    Zengo & Co2015-02-21

    Zengo & Co Response

    January 26, 2016Manager

    Thank you for your review. I’m slightly concerned that you may be referring to a different company, as we are an event marketing firm and do not sell door to door. We would welcome you to discuss your review with our head office to try and offer some clarity and resolve this situation. All the best for the future.

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews