Vistatec Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Vistatec Reviews

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Strategic Account Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, innovative and a fast growing company with a soul.

    Cons

    Haven't noticed any so far.

    Vistatec2020-01-20
  2. "Small-minded managers for a small-minded operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knack for hiring dedicated professionals and team players, so interaction with colleagues is great Gave a gym/sports stipend, which is great and shows they care about employee physical health

    Cons

    Myopic management, lacking in vision: you can expect to use the same tools and processes every day for the rest of your working life Bullies and gossips tolerated in positions of power, empathy is a foreign concept to many of them VERY low entry salary, practically impossible to get by in Dublin Men promoted ahead of women wherever possible at the "ground" levels Basically no promotion/career prospects Happy to have high turnover rather than treat people well HR unresponsive to concerns, issues and complaints

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2020-01-29
  3. "Fast-paced and lovely environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good promotion opportunities Nice working environment Training facilities

    Cons

    Lack of technology Lack of flexibility to change processes and tools

    Vistatec2019-11-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Close knit company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun young office people are nice and teams Localisation teams is mature and workload manageable (the other side seemed more stressful) Management we're very much part of the team

    Cons

    Systems were a antiquated (like billing) and the financial situation of the company was a concern There are peaks when it's real busy but I've not seen a localisation job that wasn't - it's got a similar workload to competitors

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2019-06-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work from home Friendly environment

    Cons

    Micromanaging IT tools somehow outdated Too many processes

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2019-06-08
  6. Helpful (7)

    "AWFUL DEGRADATING TREATMENT (AVOID AT ALL COSTS)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They clean the toilets every day. You can get free tee and (awful) instant coffee.

    Cons

    First of all, a word of warning: Do not ignore any of the bad reviews on this site, I did, and I deeply regret it, because by taking on a role at Vistatec I found myself in one of the most difficult situations I had to deal with in my adult life. The positive reviews are nothing but a ridiculously obvious forgery carried out by the company’s managers in a desperate attempt to wash away its terrible (well deserved) reputation. There are so many things that are fundamentally wrong with Vistatec that I don’t even know where to start. Granted, the localisation industry is a challenging and highly competitive sector, and also granted, LSPs tend to be demanding work environments, but Vistatec is on a league of its own. To begin with, this is the type of company that allows its clients to run its business (a classic of bad business practices): no standard procedures, every client’s own particular demands are accommodated for, no matter how unreasonable. And quite honestly, clients are not to be blamed, they only expect what the signed up for, if you sell an unrealistic service, you get unrealistic expectations, and who pays for it? Answer: those at the bottom, who are under enormous pressure from middle management to deliver what cannot be done without a minimum set of conditions: a reasonable schedule, tools that work, available resources, etc. Soon I realized that initiative and a drive to change and improve things would always be met with disapproval. The more or less explicit answer was always “you’d better obey, don’t question the way things have always been done, do as you’re told, and do not air your thoughts, or you’ll be in trouble”. This is not a company you can bring experience and insight to. As someone put it to me in private, “knowledge and experience in the sector counts for nothing here, what you need to know is how things work at Vistatec”. This policy is reflected in the staff: project management and basic project coordination are carried out by very young people with little or no experience, mostly from foreign countries with high unemployment rates (Spain, Italy, Eastern Europe), because they have no bargaining power, and they need that experience on their CVs (the only reason that could possibly justify working at Vistatec). Someone figured out that this kind of workforce would be docile, unquestioning and accepting of sub-standard pay (their salaries are scandalously low for the ever growing cost of living in Dublin), and that’s the HR policy they went for. That someone also figured out that middle-management was best in the hands of middle-aged Irish people with little or no understanding of the translation process (most of them don’t even speak a foreign language), and whose mediocrity guarantees their loyalty (their only merits are having been there long enough and their inability to get a better job somewhere else). In short: This is a company for yes-men and yes-women, not for someone who wants to make a difference, and have a career progression (the opportunities for promotion are close to 0). As a result of which, there is little incentive to improve the way things are done, and nothing ever does, indeed. Dated, and ridiculously complicated, cumbersome, time-consuming and unreliable tools and processes are used as devices for procrastination and gas-lightning. Vistatec is a psychology textbook case of toxic work environment, most members of staff end up adopting a passive-aggressive attitude that’s a far cry from the most basic team spirit that should be expected at any minimally efficient organization. Even the facilities are dismal (the carpet is filthy!). There is something nightmarish about the place, going to work every day was a horrible experience. If this doesn’t make for a pretty picture, to make matters worse, Vistatec tolerates (and I would dare say, encourages) bullying at the work place. HR is aware of the situation and does nothing about it. I guess the reason is they use bullying as a psychological technique to break people down, undermine their confidence and exert total control over them, but it didn’t work with me. I am no spring chicken, I’ve been in the wars and have worked in really terrible places under enormous amounts of stress; I’m not a millennial snowflake that can’t take pressure, criticism, and antagonism, but the constant, relentless, insidious and vindictive form of harassment I had to put up with from my manager at Vistatec was just too much to take, and the job was just not worth keeping. The case should have been reported to the Irish Workplace Relations Commission, but it was made clear to me that I would not get the company’s backing on this, so I had no choice but to walk out on the job, because it was beginning to take a big toll on my mental and physical health, so I did. Believe me, I have never walked out on a job and into unemployment before, it’s not an easy decision, but I’m really glad I left that hellhole.

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2019-06-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Genuine Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vistatec was on the whole a good place for me to advance my career as project manager. I improved significantly my communication skills over email and on the phone with both vendors and clients, which has proven extremely valuable in my next roles. I also learned a good bit of Excel through the countless hours of spreadsheet project tracking (I heard this has changed a bit for the better now) and overall gained a deep understanding of how the Localization industry works. I know some reviews mention issues with HR, but my experience with them was mostly positive. I do think they had a chance to take onboard feedback which they ultimately chose to ignore, but I did feel supported when I reached out for help most of the times.

    Cons

    I never felt like I could put my background in Localization to much use while I was there. Having experience serves close to no purpose when you work with sales reps and clients who lack understanding of translation. In fact, it can work against you: as a project manager in Vistatec, I had little influence over the services sold, vendors used and delivery terms, so I would find myself at times coordinating projects I felt would be far from a linguistic success, which was frustrating. The sad truth is that most colleagues I came across would acknowledge this situation as “it is what it is” or take comfort in arguing that the entire industry is the same. This culture of complacency and resistance to change is very unlikely to retain any young talent, so I would not be surprised if the company disappeared once senior management were close enough to retirement. It will become increasingly difficult for Vistatec to scale and survive without younger talent who know the latest about localization tools, machine learning or programming languages. To be clear, the minority I came across who who did embrace change have all left the company by now. The frustration Glassdoor reviews clearly display is fueled by the resistance they were met with time and time again when trying to improve things... not to mention the unpaid, excessive overtime on top of salaries who were at times quite low.

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2019-04-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Enter this company at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many young motivated global professionals pass through this company so it offers many opportunities for networking, sharing experiences and making friends from everywhere in the world.

    Cons

    No need to hold a PhD in content analysis to spot the impersonally fake positive reviews on this company. Vistatec is a terrible employer, the only thing they are good at is marketing themselves as being what they are not: cutting edge, transparent, and inclusive. The internally developed tools provided are out of date, unsuitable for the job and often just don't work. Vistatec is completely behind in terms of systems and tools. Their business model as a whole is flawed and they don't add sufficient value to make big margins so their strategy is to pretty much always say yes to the client and then put pressure on everyone downstream to deliver. The culture at Vistatec is TOXIC. Anything goes for so long as jobs are delivered on time to the client: pressure to work overtime (unpaid), bullying, isolation of team members to prevent other members becoming aware of the bullying, etc. Not all line managers are bullies at Vistatec but those who are can do so with impunity. HR and middle management just look the other way and bullies are even been promoted. Working from home being listed as a benefit is an indication of just how poor the benefits offered are. Also, the approval process of requests to work from home is not very transparent and is impacted by how much HR likes/dislikes you. Needless to say that all the above as well as the low wages result in a rather high turnover. If you have any other options for employment, do yourself a favour and take a job at a company that sees value in its people rather than a company like Vistatec.

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2019-04-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "LQE reviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LQE Reviewer in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vistatec part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, fast payment, nice training, always be happen to working here

    Cons

    I did not see such a point

    Vistatec2018-11-27
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Extremely poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Language Quality Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vistatec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home privileges are useful (but HR only grant it if they like you) I made some good friends (who have all left now too)

    Cons

    Poor people management and completely unsupportive HR. If you get on their bad side they will make life hard for you. I've heard of several cases where staff reported bullying and no action was taken. Issues raised in exit interviews by staff leaving are not addressed. If you have a problem HR would rather you just quit. Salaries are very poor and generally not enough to pay rent and have a decent standard of living in Dublin. Raises are hard to get, even if you take an additional roles and responsibilities. There is a defensive atmosphere where all departments are just trying to pin blame on each other and a huge resistance to change. This has resulted in loads of pointless and outdated processes that waste time and frustrate you. There is a lack of respect for staff: unpaid and unacknowledged overtime is standard and if you flag issues to management you are basically told to deal with them yourself.

    Continue reading
    Vistatec2018-10-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews