United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,110 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 64 reviews)

  • "Upper Management are not willing to compromise or hear opinions of the people who actually work on the tools(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Travel benefits to see the world

    Cons

    Deal with the time change

    United Airlines2019-05-24
  2. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great flight benefits Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Slow paced work environment where nothing can move for weeks

    United Airlines2019-11-05
  3. "Travel benefit is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at United Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Similar to most other airlines, travel benefit is attractive. And the travel benefit is almost the best among others.

    Cons

    Medical benefit not the best, just average.

    United Airlines2017-09-25
  4. "Disappointed because of the lack of progress with negotiations . We deserve a Joint contract with our fellow co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Checks cash on time, flexible schedule. enjoy the travel benefits and lifestyle . A place one can truly enjoy the world and its splendor, good health benefits at a cost but overall a good place to work.

    Cons

    Work contract has yet to be implemented in full force after 2 years in service. We have negotiated certain benefits that we have yet to see implemented in our contract and it's very frustrating for us as our co-workers are enjoying those same benefits and we are not.

    Advice to Management

    Negotiate and complete a combined contract for our work group now and complete your obligations to fulfill our current agreement now.

    United Airlines2014-03-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sad downslide for a once fun job and lifestyle and a BIG downslide for a once decent company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Flight Attendant in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines

    Pros

    My coworkers here in Hong Kong, all of whom have been here for at least 13 years.

    Cons

    Downside??? Lets just say that someone that comes in to earn MILLIONS off the backs of those giving up salaries to keep a bankrupt company afloat is not someone that inspires ANYTHING.

    Advice to Management

    Your front-line employees are THE ONES. you don't seem to get that. Also-- you cannot give away the care and maintenance responsibilities to outside sources without repurcussions. And they are coming.......... You just keep tapping away at your "math machines" to tell you how much each intangible is worth in dollars. In the end, you will be proved wrong.....shareholders and Board of Directors or no shareholders... and board of directors. shame on you.

    Show More
    United Airlines2009-01-06
  6. Helpful (158)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with unlimited career options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Superior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    United offers the flexibility to move around within the company.

    Cons

    Need to focus on developing leaders

    United Airlines2019-12-11
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Benefits offered by the airline

    Cons

    You have to have a Flexible Schedule

    United Airlines2019-12-09
  9. ""LOVE IT""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel and Co-Workers Are Awesome

    Cons

    "NONE" LOVE MY JOB I'M BLESSED

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work

    United Airlines2019-12-10
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    United is a great place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to write

    United Airlines2019-12-05
Found 2862 reviews