USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

USAA Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2747 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,077 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 355 reviews)

  • "Some managers (Not to be named here) said that they cared for the military and their families(in 121 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Decision Science Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Work Life Balance Leadership Works with You Flexible

    Cons

    Large Office Can have multiple projects at one time

    USAA2019-10-11
  2. "Incredible Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing pay and benefits Best maternity/paternity leave CDC in building so you can visit kiddos on breaks Truly helping our members, which some I will never forget.

    Cons

    Nothing to do but take calls constantly. Wish there was a way to do back office work items for a portion of the shift.

    USAA2019-10-10
  3. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Underwriter III in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are awesome, job opportunities

    Cons

    Pay, need to be highly qualified for entry level positions due to competitiveness

    Advice to Management

    Although employees are highly replaceable, treat them as they are not

    USAA2019-10-08
  4. "USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation, Benefits, Helpful managers, and great environment

    Cons

    You do have to sell yourself or know someone in order to get a higher position

    Advice to Management

    Look at experience and work ethic when promoting

    USAA2019-10-03
  5. "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Growth, Awesome company, and Opportunities.

    Cons

    Call Center/Metrics and that's all I can think of that might be cons but I haven't really started yet.

    Advice to Management

    Do not really have advice because I have not worked there enough.

    USAA2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    USAA has a great mission of serving its members. The salaries and benefits are above average.

    Cons

    There's pressure to perform, but it really all depends on what area you work in. Staff jobs are coveted, front line member facing jobs are somewhat stressful.

    USAA2019-09-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, excellent benefits, incredible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SIU 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Feel appreciated every day.

    Cons

    Not necessarily for SIU, but the company is very military based and is preferential to veteran status.

    USAA2019-09-24
  8. Helpful (15)

    "WM didn't work. Cutting it loose. Focus on core businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, most people, mission, employee-centric (treated as valuable), or and benefits.... competitive pay in most areas, but don't forget about the benefits.

    Cons

    Go along to get along. "Tell us what you think", but only if it supports what we've actually already decided and want it to seem as though you have a chance of being heard. Be sure you pick out friends who are moving into leadership early in your career. If you pick the right friends you have a chance of being promoted up the leadership chain as your friends become successful. Otherwise, always agree with upper... leaderships idea, smile and support them and bide your time until you are high enough to actually make a difference. Bitter much?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually ask the front line employees...... the ones good at their jobs and show an interest in truly making positive change..... not just ones who agree with you.... before you come up with products, services or online tools and say "members told us this is what they want" consult employees on what they hear from members.... and what your employees think, too.

    USAA2019-08-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow, work-life balance is a pipe dream for my team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer & Integrator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are really nice, friendly, and helpful. I've always had great managers and interesting work. GREAT benefits. Depending on the team, you'll have great work-life balance. Awesome mission. Shareholders are the members. IT stack is still behind, but is quickly modernizing.

    Cons

    Depending on the team, you'll have horrible work-life balance. We rely a ton on third party contractors, which they're great, but there is a lot of turnover which means some quality drops and more phone calls in the middle of the night when things break. Work-life balance is getting hit hard recently with all the pushes towards compliance. Also, depending on the team, you won't be promoted until you're past the 2... years waiting period.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Yes, we need to be compliant, but we still need to focus on the members. Code quality and change management quality has been dropping. Budgets for support teams shouldn't be slashed. The combination of the things above are affecting the work-life balance of those on production support teams and availability of the environment.

    USAA2019-09-25
  10. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good pay.

    Cons

    No downside I can think of.

    USAA2019-09-26
Found 2747 reviews
</>Embed