TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated 18 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
176 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "autonomous teams can be frustrating(in 22 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, fun culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment Loads of paid time off (5 weeks vacation, 2 weeks sick) Paid sabbatical (after 4 years of service) Paid Parental Leave (after one year of service) 401k Match NSO Stock options Freedom, ability to make an impact, drive change- Friendly environment Opportunities to participate or lead projects to move the business forward - sometimes even world-wide opportunities Diverse culture - speak 5+ foreign languages Working with people from different cultures Competitive benefits package Pet-friendly office Ability for some remote work (after 90 days) Weekly team lunches Monthly team activities / fun events

    Cons

    Work is very fast paced; and sometimes not for everyone Autonomous work can have it's pro's & con's; One has to be a self-motivated and driven individual to succeed. When considering internal promotions, many roles are based outside of the Americas. When considering salaries, base compensation is a factor, not overall compensation. Ensure we remain competitive in the markets.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-18
  2. "friendly and welcoming culture with modern tech challenges you've always dreamed of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work on things at scale. Many of the challenges that smaller companies are afraid of wasting their time, over-optimizing for, are crucial here. You're trusted to do your work independently and given support when you ask for it. Engineers (and all team members!) are completely involved and relied upon during project planning - so you always have a say in what your team will work on. Flexible remote working policy (e.g. expecting a delivery at home today, traveling, etc.) Travel opportunities to work with teammates or cross-teammates from other offices

    Cons

    There is a chance some of your work will be on legacy code (Java 8, groovy, grails, angular 1.x), but this is quickly changing and as of late 2019 many services have upgraded to a newer Java (11+) and/or latest frameworks (React, Spring). Fragmented frontend code. TW has taken a "microservices for frontend" approach which is more difficult to work with (versus the ease of developing a true SPA). Team structure happens organically which makes sense to those involved but looks quite strange from anyone trying to understand where to go for specific help. Some times it's very obvious and other times it's not. Too much information. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of nontrivial initiatives going on at once and keeping abreast is challenging but somewhat expected of you (to a degree).

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    care about employees. always someone to ask for help. try to make best working environment for employees. always trying to make better.

    Cons

    a lot of information to get a handle on, just something you yourself needs to work on. they have all outlets for you to find information but you have to get comfortable with it. pay could be a bit better. still pretty good though.

    TransferWise2019-10-07
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people in both of their US offices (Tampa & NYC). Great work culture with many team events including team outings, Friday lunches and fika. Opportunity for travel

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done, so you need to be up for the challenge

    TransferWise2019-10-07
  5. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    every day is great. leads are supportive, coworkers nice. so many perks.

    Cons

    pay could be a bit bigger to match cost of living expenses

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  6. "Amazing Place to Lead and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AML Compliance Officer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunities to work on exciting projects in a rapidly expanding company - Mission driven culture where everyone is working hard - Amazing co-workers (who bring well behaved dogs to work!) who are drama free - No silly rules or mindless bureaucracy that you find at large financial institutions - Leadership and career development opportunities for those that pursue them - Regular open performance feedback - Great benefits package and stock options - Generous leave and holiday policies - Zero deductible health insurance option in the US - Work travel (depending on your role)

    Cons

    - Salary compensation is not competitive for many roles - Feedback heavy culture requires a growth mindset and isn't for the thin-skinned

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  7. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in at many companies, in many different industries. This is far and away the best place I've worked. We provide a legitimately helpful, beneficial service to our clients, with no downside to anyone. My colleagues are some of the most intelligent, dynamic, kind people I've ever met. The culture is open, inclusive, not rigid at all.

    Cons

    Every medium-large company has a certain amount of bureaucracy. TransferWise is no different. But it has less of it than I've experienced before. People who need a ton of structure — who need to be told what to do to do their job — might struggle here. Being a self-starter is rewarded. Also there is not necessarily a steady, prescribed path to moving up. You move up if you do good work, but there's no formula (years + KPIs, for instance) that guarantees it. At least not that I've seen. I actually like that. I understand why some may not.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  8. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - KYC in Tallinn

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inspiration people all around me.

    Cons

    Pay could be higher, considering our skills and workload. People burn out easy.

    TransferWise2019-10-18
  9. "Best place I have ever worked!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Benefits are amazing 2. Free lunch once a week 3. Flexible hours

    Cons

    1. Not a whole lot of team projects 2. Work/Life balance

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-03
  10. "Great Work Place!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Package!! Great work environment!! Awesome people to work with!!

    Cons

    Many new things to learn and be challenged on, but once you get out of your safe space and embrace the challenges, it becomes a great opportunity for new experience and knowledge.

    TransferWise2019-10-03
Found 327 reviews