The Body Shop "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1049 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
86 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Underpaid Retail, No Real Room for Growth, Great Products. No commission for non-management employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Assistant Manager in Annapolis, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount, friendly co-workers, flexible schedule, awesome products that are easy to sell.

    Cons

    Low pay, pretentious attitudes. As a part-time employee, you're expected to take conference calls, even if it's your scheduled day off. Then there's quizzes on what you discussed and workbooks to be be completed.This is for a part-time position, people...way too much. Especially for what you get paid. Also, we were acutely understaffed for the entire approximately 9 months that I worked there. Unacceptable. They...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Someone in retail needs to stand up and pay people what they're worth. Some of these girls are the hardest working people I've ever met and you pay them peanuts. Why don't you give your employees commission????

    The Body Shop2015-02-20
  2. "Customer Consultant at my local store in Essex."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Harlow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free trials of new products - Good pay for a part time job while studying - Friendly environment

    Cons

    - High levels of learning to complete about all the products - Not a great staff discount as customers often receive 50% off - Last minute schedule of hours

    Advice to Management

    - Set an advance system for managers to follow with regard to hours

    The Body Shop2014-12-30
  3. Helpful (7)

    "one of the worst places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The products are awesome and there is a great customer base. You only have to sell a loyalty card, not push for credit cards.

    Cons

    The pay is ridiculously low compared to competitors ($9.50 for a pt mgr when sales associates make $8 - min wage). In addition to low pay, there are no benefits, bonuses, or commission for part time employees. Employees are not valued. There is little to no effective training and employees are often left to work alone after only a handful of shifts. Upper management has no idea how stores actually run and put ridiculous...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're not going to have bathrooms in each store, you need to have more than one person working. Get back to your roots - you're there for the customers. Anita would be rolling in her grave if she saw the lack of focus on the customer. People respond to positive reinforcement, not pressure, threats, constant criticism. Share with stores when they receive a positive customer comment instead of only sharing negative...

    Show More
    The Body Shop2014-10-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Manager! The leadership from the manager made my time at here extremely enjoyable!

    Cons

    Part-time work meant that the hours were unreliable.

    The Body Shop2014-08-29
  5. "Nice environment to be in and flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect for part time work during the holidays (summer and christmas period). Flexible hours and my manager was very friendly. Great perks as you get 50% off and incentive competitions are run where you can win products by selling the most loyalty cards for example. You are also encouraged to try out all of the products for yourself so you can give honest opinions and advice to customers so often have little testers to...

    Show More

    Cons

    On your feet all day. The shop in Bracknell doesn't receive much custom as the town is currently going through a regeneration so it can get fairly boring with not much to do.

    The Body Shop2014-05-30
  6. "Trust the brand, Love the Management, Adore the Visuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a Part time Manager I don't receive paid time off, but management understands that and gives me the time I need/want off when asked. The bonus program is typically attainable, and available for PT management staff Discount is great, though the LYB card and great promos are usually a better deal I feel as though my opinions matter, there is a sense of community in my district Fun env

    Cons

    management is hourly, and not given enough staff hours to complete tasks given Update the computer systems! It becomes nearly impossible to do your job when working with antiquated technology. We don't even have access to email, which is absurd. Its the future guys, get with it.

    Advice to Management

    Break into the new age, update your computer systems, update your website, give your stores a realistic number of hours during the off season to succeed.

    The Body Shop2014-03-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Core Values but Unrealistic Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, paid breaks, opportunities for advancement. Great core values and respect for communities around the world with community fair trade products, great discount.

    Cons

    Too driven by promotions, discontinued products, unrealistic expectations, use of parabens in products, makeup expectations not a representation of a "natural" beauty brand, owned my L'Oreal, too sales focused, low pay for part-time with high expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Stop alienating your customers by discontinuing products! And stop putting so much pressure on your store teams to perform when you set unrealistic goals and expectations.

    The Body Shop2014-02-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Changed a lot after selling to Loreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company does a lot of great things for charity.

    Cons

    Only hires part time except for management now making it hard to find loyal staff. Does not allow tattoos or piercings or any other form of individuality.

    Advice to Management

    Change the structure for hiring full time/ part time staff to what it used to be so managers have a chance to have staff that care about their jobs.

    The Body Shop2013-08-20
  9. "Met some nice people. Company is very unorganized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products that can sell themselves.

    Cons

    Very understaffed and puts to much stress on management. The turn over rate becomes so high in so many stores that they will pretty much hire anyone for a assistant part time manager which in turn can effect the stores goals. Stores are closing left and right in some districts when other corporations are opening up like wild fire!

    Advice to Management

    Have your district managers be willing to train your store managers in turn train the rest of your store. Listen to your workers. Would you want to go to work everyday if you didn't feel appreciated?

    The Body Shop2013-03-27
  10. "Best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    The management is very organized and practical. This company stands for amazing things. You truly get to feel good about the work you are doing. The people who you work with are wonderful I have never experienced gossip or caddyness.

    Cons

    There is really not a lot to complain about. The pay is pretty low and there is not a ton of room for growth. Also when it is not holiday season part time employees get ten hours a week at most.

    Advice to Management

    The leadership at the body shop is truly amazing. I have felt nothing but respect and real help in growing and doing my best.

    The Body Shop2012-02-11
Found 1049 reviews