Swinton Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Swinton Insurance Reviews

Updated 9 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
29%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance CEO Scott Kennedy (no image)
Scott Kennedy
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in each department(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good people, bonuses were good, caring attitude for customers(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "6 months in call centre considered experienced(in 20 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people in each department

    Cons

    Lots of people are leaving

    Swinton Insurance2019-11-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not what they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of benefits included with working at Swinton such as full sick pay but there arent as many as there used to be. The company was sold in January and over the last three years there has been substantial changes none of which have been for the better for the company, the employees or the customers.

    Cons

    Serious issue with staff competence in the contact centre. Senior management know there are issues with the finance providers but there is no appetite to amend this due to cost to the business.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a more comprehensive training package to new starters and don't rely so heavily on experienced staff to guide the reprobates.

    Swinton Insurance2019-11-01
  3. "Great Staff, however hampered by closures due to market changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Give opportunities for staff to develop and learn Sometimes do not take initiative of staff who understand mechanics of the insurance market Migrating to new systems and modernising throughout Now part of a larger group who will probably improve processes

    Cons

    Lack of sales culture Changes to bonus structure really impacted staffs overall pay throughout the branch closures Closed many departments and now utilise lots of cost saving initiatives which sometimes impact upon staff

    Advice to Management

    The changes have been necessary throughout the last few years but its imperative to regain the fun in the workplace and ensure quality staff are rewarded throughout the company with good incentive schemes and regular pay reviews. Its also crucial to implement a real culture which was the foundation of the company years back.

    Swinton Insurance2019-11-02
  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good managers Decent wage with commission Really friendly colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Rotating shifts Contact centre so tends to get boring and repetitive

    Advice to Management

    None

    Swinton Insurance2019-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Safe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Product range and staff able to source best cover options.

    Cons

    Hard work for little reward.

    Advice to Management

    reward staff or they will go as I did.

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-30
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy going, Very friendly staff, very well organised.

    Cons

    No progression, no more branches.

    Advice to Management

    good work

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Colonnade were the batman , Swinton obviously the jokers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance

    Pros

    Redundancy monies that’s all’s anybody need to know

    Cons

    Let me tell you this , I would love to sit there on a TV Sand tell my story how these jokers , tried to get us to sell, From the 3 month free policies to the ADB policies do you remember them lol To the evolve to strata , OMG , we all laugh at them To bullying by managers who , let’s face staff were , clueless HR , we laughed at them , we do know because there useless block replies , even on here SWINTON ... it’s great to see you just being a call centre in Manchester , god we do laugh , because , the person who is the new CEO , oh dear mr , clueless is and always be clueless , you just need to look at him , Giles and the other French man , we’re much better So to Conclude SWINTON , I have , always wanted my 15 mins of fame and after emailing this message to TV , channels , I will Can’t wait for HR. , block reply

    Show More
    Swinton Insurance2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Cowboys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Department in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people prior to redundancies and new people from the Atlanta group

    Cons

    Cowboys who hire inexperienced friends and family for senior roles Being constantly lied to and messed around Zero communication and no visibility of senior leaders

    Advice to Management

    Get to know the people and what they do Be present Have actual communication

    Swinton Insurance2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great place to work until the last few years

    Cons

    Process changes too often for anything to embed

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office Location is in central manchester

    Cons

    Salary, No support to progress

    Swinton Insurance2019-08-29
Found 361 reviews