Slalom Employee Reviews about "staff aug"

Updated Oct 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 2,291 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Slalom CEO Brad Jackson
Brad Jackson
1,338 Ratings
Pros
  • "Slalom DC has set the bar for all other companies(in 421 reviews)

  • "Work life balance/ great managers(in 368 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of an official operating model can make Slalom challenging to navigate - especially for new hires(in 280 reviews)

  • "Staff aug work that stall development(in 75 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "staff aug"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, growing pains

      Oct 12, 2021 - Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great people -Good work/life balance -Good professional development resources, if you seek them out

      Cons

      -Compensation doesn't seem like it's keeping up with competitors -Many staff aug projects, especially for earlier career individuals -Almost too much emphasis on culture and less on good delivery, which can make growth feel challenging

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I like it but I know people who don't

      Sep 9, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Slalom has the best corporate culture I have worked in. They genuinely care about their employees and this is driven down the people managers. I have felt supported in my career ambitions and have felt management has my back in case of a bad/hostile client environment.

      Cons

      It's a consultancy which comes with the usual baggage of upselling, even for the employees. I was never a day-to-day consultant so I cannot speak to the working conditions but the rumor has it Slalom underpays for the market (probably, we need to make a profit) and some engagements wind up being more staff aug than people expect.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome company to work for

      Sep 1, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are all about people. The people they hire are very smart and really good consultants.

      Cons

      Sometimes, you get to work on a staff aug project ... which kind of makes you disconnected from other slalomers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The more things change, the more they stay the same

      Aug 6, 2021 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is genuinely special. People are aware of what's going on in the world and try to create a space where everyone is valued & accepted for the person they are. Leaders are accessible (in concept) and generally people are friendly. A lot of the cultural aspect of the job changed when we went remote because of covid, but at least in our market, the office ops team put in a huge amount of effort to maintain as much of the community feel as they could remotely.

      Cons

      A lot of politics. Internal politics matter more to career progression than they should. There are times when internal politics have negatively impacted client delivery, and this wasn't an isolated situation. Additionally, a new career framework was rolled out last year and despite promises that it would standardize criteria for promotion, it only added more politics and subjectivity into the mix. Managers are promoted when they don't have the actual skills to be good managers (provide consistent feedback, remember details about conversations with their people, advocate for their direct reports when appropriate). Most of the roles at the consultant level are staff aug roles. You have to fight to be staffed in roles that actually align with your career interests...and there aren't that many to go around because of the type of work that is sold. NB: this is practice-dependent, but was the case for my practice. Slalom pays a lot of lip service to diversity and inclusion, but the reality is there are very few non-white, non-male senior leaders across the company - and especially in my market. Compensation for non-technical roles lags behind some other consulting firms and definitely lags behind equivalent industry jobs. Benefits are average at best and 401k matching is comparatively pretty low.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place nice people

      Jul 19, 2021 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people who care about you

      Cons

      Staff aug work that stall development

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loyalty over Competency

      Jul 9, 2021 - Senior Delivery Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you get on the good side of the right people, they will take care of you. Because of their model, Slalom does attract some awesome people. They do not stay long though.....

      Cons

      Because of the size of Slalom and its independent market model, everything is still very partner oriented even though they say it is not. Your career advancement, experience, etc. Comes down to one person typically and whether they like you or not. The ego runs high amongst the leadership team and they all will throw you under the bus to save their own skin. Staff Aug mentality runs deep here. Leadership lied about sales competitions, bonuses, and promotions. The weight of many is carried by few.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      S&O Sr Consultant

      Jun 11, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, people first focus

      Cons

      A lot of staff aug work.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Culture, Lackluster everything else

      May 20, 2021 - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They hire some of the best and smartest people to work in non-leadership roles. Core values are meaningful and events are fun (pre-covid). Work/life balance is better than big 4 and you don't have to travel.

      Cons

      Slalom started off as a great place and is shiny looking when you interview and the first couple of months in, especially if you started before covid, but once you've been around for a few months you start seeing cracks in this organization and its empty promises. If you are an ambitious, hard working professional trying to grow in your prime years, this is the place your career will go to slow down or die unless you are one of the lucky few to have a people manager who actually cares about your growth over their own, even with their new career growth framework, which is terrible. Most projects are staff aug and if you don't sell work, you will not have any upward momentum no matter how well you perform in client delivery. The leadership team loves to call themselves "leadership" constantly, but don't act like it and the turn over of both leadership and consultants during my time there was over 50% in most practices. While the pay is pretty solid, the bonuses are really small for the criteria you have to meet for a single digit percentage opportunity. Over my tenure at Slalom, I saw the best people leave left and right for better opportunities and that should tell you everything you need to know.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Slalom Response

      President & Co-founder, North America

      This is John Tobin. I appreciate the thoughtful post. I feel the LA office specifically is only getting better and better. I wish you could have shared more with other leaders during your time here and if there is even a small desire to share more with me, I'm sure it would help provide some more coaching for the team. Simply email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to talk. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's good

      May 17, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people. Interesting assignments most of the time.

      Cons

      Hours and some work isn't really consultative and leans more staff aug.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      overall just so so

      Apr 27, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      4 week vacations rrsp matching

      Cons

      some times have staff aug

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Slalom Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Slalom? Share Your Experiences

    Slalom logo
    or