Seattle Genetics Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Seattle Genetics President and CEO Clay B. Siegall (no image)
Clay B. Siegall
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun, fast paced work environment with tons of resources(in 15 reviews)

  • "Company culture - People work here truly cares about patients and know how to work together(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with any fast-growing organization, there are growing pains(in 13 reviews)

  • "Lots of middle management that can hinder personal growth(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Just turned into a 3 product company, employees are passionate about the work they are doing. Employees are valued through events, ESPP, employee surveys and team building activities Mentoring program Peer to peer recognition program Company has done well addressing employees concerns during the pandemic

    Cons

    Some growing pains, most are addressed in company surveys and question and answer sessions. You need visibility with upper management to move up. Lots of emphasis on standing out.

    Seattle Genetics2020-05-28
  2. "Spectacular Senior Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SENIOR ONCOLOGY ACCOUNT MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely gracious and generous during this challenging time. Understanding of the job description. Personal touch on everything upper management completes.

    Cons

    No cons to enter for SeaGen.

    Seattle Genetics2020-05-19
  3. "Wonderful company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SENIOR ONCOLOGY ACCOUNT MANAGER in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company with great culture. Values employees, shows this through weekly meetings, question and answer sessions and ESPP

    Cons

    Quickly growing from 1 product to 3 product company. Working out how keep the culture.

    Seattle Genetics2020-05-19
  4. "Been here 2 years, here's to many more"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Drug Safety in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with fantastic, fun, dedicated people. From walking into the place, you get the feeling that the company is fully dedicated to helping patients. The science behind the products is fascinating and sometimes we get to hear patient perspectives. When you work on a specific study, you truly feel like you're making a difference for people. Work/life balance is well maintained. The company still maintains a small company feel while continuing to grow.

    Cons

    The Bothell campus does have some traffic coming into the area with the other companies in the area. As with any growing company, there are always going to be growing pains, but they're managed well by leaders and employees.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Genetics2020-05-28
  5. "Love this company!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seattle Genetics cultivates a culture that encourages anyone and everyone to speak up and let their voices be heard.

    Cons

    Due to the fact the company is still growing, there are still areas that the wrinkles are being ironed out. However, there is a "Can do" attitude at Seattle Genetics and this has never kept anything that needed to be done to not happen.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Genetics2020-05-04
  6. "AWESOME COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SENIOR ONCOLOGY ACCOUNT MANAGER in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - All about the patient and not just a "Tag Line" here - Small company feel, but growing QUICKLY - Always looking for ways to make benefits better - Allow you to be your own person and not have to work in a box -

    Cons

    - Growing quickly and there always some growing pains that come with that

    Continue reading
    Seattle Genetics2020-05-05
  7. "Great people, great mission, fast paced environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company mission, helping patients and fighting cancer are easy to get behind and very motivating. All the levels I have interacted with from Analyst to VP are friendly and welcoming. There a lot of very smart people who will ask tough questions of your work so you just need to be prepared.

    Cons

    The company is goign through "good" growing pains as they expand from a single drug company over the last several years to a three drug company over just some months. There are internal politics dealing with other departments and staying in your lane. Before we can share weekly or monthly reports of certain data, we must circulate it across a few internal departments to make sure they are aligned and OK with what we are sharing. This slows things down somewhat and the lines are not always clear.

    Seattle Genetics2020-05-01
  8. "Fun place to work. Very challenging and forward thinking."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Becoming less risk averse. Innovative research and development. Many promising drug candidates for cancer treatment.

    Cons

    Getting too big. Lots of middle management that can hinder personal growth.

    Seattle Genetics2020-04-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Proud to work at this company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Level Professional in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Employees that are passionate about their work - A CEO that has a clear vision and never veers off from it - A CEO that is honest with employees and meets with every Friday (unless he is traveling or on vacation)- - People respect each other at all levels of the organization - everyone plays a role in the success of the company - Proven ability to knock it out of the park with oncology therapies that truly save lives - No one is punching a clock - people have deliverables and they meet them - enough said - Highly intelligent people that are willing to share their knowledge at a level that non-scientific or medical professionals can understand - Company celebrates success - Knows how to work well with the FDA and how to represent our work to progress with fewer delays than I have seen at most companies. I had the luxury of a "try before you buy" opportunity as a consultant to the company. I saw the inner workings before becoming an employee and I am proud to say that joining Seattle Genetics is one of the best employment decisions I have ever made.

    Cons

    - No gift matching for donations - Growing rapidly which creates some growing pains - experiencing some of the normal type of "old guard", "new guard" struggles but not to the detriment of progress - Reporting tools need to become more integrated so some things are still more manual than they need to be (they are working on this)

    Continue reading
    Seattle Genetics2020-02-26
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Would Not Recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is good. This is my only pro, but there is a 5 word minimum so I'm added this sentence as filler.

    Cons

    There is a lot of politics and drama in every department. HR makes it impossible to transfer. Something they pride themselves on is hiring from within, but it's pretty evident that's not the case. New positions are given to external candidates more frequently then internal even if an internal candidate is more then qualified for the open position. There is also a clear favoritism towards individuals that speak the loudest and are the most brazen, if you are a conservative individual and just want to focus on your job this isn't the place to work. "Quiet" people constantly are overlooked. I have learned that being friends with upper management is the only way to advance at this company. Your work ethic has nothing to do with it. HR is a complete joke they are just as much into the favoritism and have shown an ineptitude to remain impartial. Bullies rule this company and HR is nothing but a figurehead. The only thing that has made me stay as long as I have was the money, but at some point when you come home and are completely drained from the constant harassment, inability to transfer, and lack of development opportunities you have to draw the line at some point.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Genetics2020-02-22
Found 112 reviews