Scrapinghub Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Scrapinghub Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Perfect place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    This is a perfect place to work. Great culture. Great teamwork.

    Cons

    Can't see any big issue.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2019-01-02

    Scrapinghub Response

    January 23, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback - it's appreciated. And here's to a great 2019 at Scrapinghub.

    Continue reading
  2. "Transparent Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clear, detailed and transparent process Remote and flexible work environment Extremely convivial environment to work in and wonderful management

    Cons

    A greater focus on products

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2018-11-26

    Scrapinghub Response

    January 23, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to post this and for your comments. For sure, Product is very much a focus area for the Senior Leadership Team right now.

    Continue reading
  3. "Awesome company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. Very smart people. Meetups. Diverse opportunities. Goal-oriented.

    Cons

    Some time you have to overwork to achieve before deadlines, but managers are always open to hear

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2018-11-17

    Scrapinghub Response

    December 3, 2018Head of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. I know from time to time we all have to work additional hours to meet deadlines and I'm glad you can talk to your manager about this.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Not the best place to be at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote with nice people all over the world.

    Cons

    - No transparency in the decision making - Senior management doesn't take responsibility for what they do - No trust between CEO, his favourites and other company - No critics allowed. Especially no critics for CEO and his favourites. - Awful engineering quality and culture. However management doesn't want to improve anything - Die hard to get salary rise regardless of efficiency and results.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2018-05-02

    Scrapinghub Response

    June 13, 2018

    Thanks for your comments. For sure, one of the great things about Scrapinghub is that we are a remote company and our people are based in many corners of the world. My philosophy is that you don’t need to compromise on your career in order to live where you choose. As a former Scrapinghubber, you may know that Scrapinghub has grown to an organisation of 127 people this month. We’ve put an experienced senior leadership team in place since 2017, and some of this happened during your time here. There were many changes during that period, and I am sorry that things didn’t work out for you. I’d like to update you on how we’re addressing some of the points you raised. We have a yearly compensation review, which is tied to performance. We’re working on benchmarking to ensure it’s always fair and rewards those that deserve it. In the first half of this year we’ve had several initiatives to improve engineering practises. These include a project to further standardise and promote our development best practises, we promoted and hired more tech leads, more guaranteed time on open source and mentors to help developers get started, a company-wide training program, etc. We openly discuss our top problems, including together at our last all-company get together. They all have owners and regular updates, but we’re working as a team to solve them and make Scrapinghub a great place to work! Shane Evans, CEO

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and friendly atmosphere. Awesome team-mates who always give a hand. This year first get together occur. Incredible experience!

    Cons

    Unstable work load. Compensation may be not revised for a years. Sometimes not that many room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2017-12-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Remote Working Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    flexible working hours, work anywhere with stable Internet access, allowances on equipment and education (courses, books), colleagues from around the globe.

    Cons

    not a stress-free and transparent working environment, no clear time logging guidelines, too much text chatting at times.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2017-10-13

    Scrapinghub Response

    November 24, 2017Head of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking time to review us and for commenting on our flexible working hours and working from anywhere. I've noted your thoughts on working environment, time logging and text chatting. We had our first Company get-together in Spain this month and communication is one of the things that has come up as something we need to improve and it's now on the Senior Leadership Team agenda. Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Angela Piper, Head of Human Resources

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work your own hours. You're not controlled much when working and it's very laid back.

    Cons

    Pay is low and work is usually boring and there's not much room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2017-09-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work; great people; no, really amazing people.

    Cons

    Boring tasks; impossible to grow.

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-11-02
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Scrapinghub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Remote - 20 VLs per year + holidays of your country which you can move around, effectively making them sort of like VLs - Salary can be good depending if you live in a low cost of living country

    Cons

    - Not so high salary - Not much room for growth - Sometimes it gets really hectic depending on which client/project you are handling

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-10-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "My Scrapinghub experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scrapinghub full-time

    Pros

    - Very good developers - Remote working - Lots of open source

    Cons

    - Teams rarely meet face to face - Overworked and hard to reach managers - No objectives or view shared by management on where the company is going

    Continue reading
    Scrapinghub2016-09-15
Found 26 reviews