Scheels Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Scheels Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 282 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Steve Scheel
156 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours standing without many breaks(in 16 reviews)

  • "Retail Hours, hard to work sometimes(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scheels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheels is an amazing company to work for.

    Cons

    I really can not think of any cons.

    Scheels2019-06-13
  2. "A part time job turned into a very meaningful position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Eau Claire, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scheels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I had started at Scheels, I had noticed something interesting about the Scheels culture--but after working for Scheels for 1 year, I can honestly say that I am exceedingly impressed with the quality of management, training, and complete dedication to the customer experience. At Scheels, they take care of their own. I received a veterans day gift and this made me feel valued as a veteran and employee. I would highly...

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be challenging to balance school with the late weekly meetings. Overall this benefits us, the store, and most importantly--the customers. This is a necessary sacrifice.

    Advice to Management

    Scheels has hired outstanding managers. I would encourage management to continue to look into changes--even radical changes with the store layout and products carried to improve the customer experience and efficiency. I know a lot goes on behind the scenes in rating products, but I think that more feedback could be taken from the associates--and new/radical changes such as carrying silencers (not an easy market to enter),...

    Show More
    Scheels2019-06-12
  3. "Good And Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Stocker 

      I worked at Scheels part-time

      Pros

      The offer a great employee discount.

      Cons

      The only con is that part time employee are treated worse then full time employees.

      Scheels2019-06-11
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Scheels part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They truly care about their employees

      Cons

      Did not get my annual raise as promised

      Scheels2019-06-10
    • "not perfect, but close"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Omaha, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Scheels part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -store is almost always busy, no time to be bored -excellent management -extensive training for new employees -continued training for current employees to stay up to date

      Cons

      -required to advertise store credit card to customers

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      Scheels2019-06-03
    • "Great culture and management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier 

      I worked at Scheels part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Scheels really embraces a strong company culture and cares for its employees. The management team that I worked with was great.

      Cons

      Not a ton of room for growth within position or compensation.

      Scheels2019-05-26
    • "Enjoyed my time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Scheels part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great place to work; great discount

      Cons

      High variance in quality of managers

      Scheels2019-05-09
    • "Wonderful Environment to Work in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Lincoln, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Scheels part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers make it easy to want to go to work everyday!

      Cons

      Depending on department hours maybe scarce, perfect for college students though!

      Scheels2019-04-23
    • "Ok job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Scheels full-time

      Pros

      Discount was great Coworkers were great Busy days

      Cons

      Pushy sales Micromanagement ASLs not very helpful Scheduling was not flexible

      Scheels2019-05-02
    • "Good discount, ASL not so good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Freight in Fargo, ND
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Scheels part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Meet people, discounts, training potentials

      Cons

      Not flexible, very clicky, all about themselves, pay rate sucks, turn over rate is ridiculous

      Advice to Management

      It's not high school. Treat the freight, janitors, cashiers....everyone like you would want to be treated. ASL's treat employees under them not so well a lot of the time. They have a "click" and stick to it. Unless you are in the cool crowd, forget spiffs or getting promoted.

      Scheels2019-05-02
    Found 282 reviews