Scheels Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Scheels Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Scheels CEO Steve Scheel (no image)
Steve Scheel
160 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours standing without many breaks(in 16 reviews)

  • "Your pay isn’t great at all for full time unless you are great in sales(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent job, excellent culture, perks are second to none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scheels part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome culture. Middle and upper management empowers employee, including part time associates

    Cons

    Little to no downsides to this job

    Scheels2019-09-11
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scheels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is great to work with and management is wonderful as well

    Cons

    I have been there for two year and have nothing negative to say

    Scheels2019-09-03
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scheels full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount is great, many opportunities to move up within the company

    Cons

    Some floor managers do not have great awareness and can make your job more difficult

    Scheels2019-08-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitting Room Attendant in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scheels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best place to work

    Cons

    There are no cons for this place

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Scheels2019-08-18
  5. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Scheels part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with!

    Cons

    A lot of standing

    Scheels2019-08-15
  6. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scheels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture within the crew was great!

    Cons

    Retail hours can be long.

    Scheels2019-07-23
  7. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scheels part-time

    Pros

    good work environment, good discount

    Cons

    late hours, low pay, tiring walking on your feet all day.

    Scheels2019-07-22
  8. "Enjoyable, but still retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician 
    Recommends

    I worked at Scheels part-time

    Pros

    Work back in the service shop making slightly more hourly than floor employees, without having to work for the extra commission. Work at own pace, but you HAVE to know your stuff when the need arises. If you enjoy fixing things or learning a broad range of skills, you should enjoy it.

    Cons

    Service shop is expected to know anything and everything. If you don't know, find out or find someone who does if possible. But no extra time is set aside for specialty training. Just do it over the shoulder of other employees.

    Advice to Management

    If employees ask for time to train on something, give them the time.

    Scheels2019-07-12
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scheels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheels is an amazing company to work for.

    Cons

    I really can not think of any cons.

    Scheels2019-06-13
  10. "A part time job turned into a very meaningful position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firearms Sales in Eau Claire, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scheels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I had started at Scheels, I had noticed something interesting about the Scheels culture--but after working for Scheels for 1 year, I can honestly say that I am exceedingly impressed with the quality of management, training, and complete dedication to the customer experience. At Scheels, they take care of their own. I received a veterans day gift and this made me feel valued as a veteran and employee. I would... highly recommend a position at Scheels. Part-time or full-time. If you are competitive, look into sales positions.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be challenging to balance school with the late weekly meetings. Overall this benefits us, the store, and most importantly--the customers. This is a necessary sacrifice.

    Advice to Management

    Scheels has hired outstanding managers. I would encourage management to continue to look into changes--even radical changes with the store layout and products carried to improve the customer experience and efficiency. I know a lot goes on behind the scenes in rating products, but I think that more feedback could be taken from the associates--and new/radical changes such as carrying silencers (not an easy market to... enter), or investing in new gun cabinets (different from the low-visibility "cages" that the guns are held in now) could really improve the customer experience and therefore revenue.

    Show More
    Scheels2019-06-12
Found 290 reviews