SAS Institute Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

SAS Institute Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
SAS Institute CEO Jim Goodnight
Jim Goodnight
813 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you're not in Cary your experience is totally different(in 36 reviews)

  • "Used to be awesome but tired and not progressing with analytics space(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best in Enterprise Analytics. Great Place to Work in Asia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, friendly people across Asia Pacific (India, ASEAN, China, Korea, Japan, Australia, New Zealand). Meaningful work if you love enterprise analytics and its impact. High growth industry.

    Cons

    Like a startup in an established company, many practices such as SMB need to get to maturity stage.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great colleagues but lack of innovation as a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SAS has a very professional delivery team trusted by customers Most colleagues are friendly and helpful Solution is solid and mature

    Cons

    Local management manipulates achievement of individual sales people, so to present the image that everyone is doing averagely JUST OK. No hero nor loser. This leads to sluggish growth and serious workplace politics of local office. The local management is sometimes reluctant to adopt new ideas Turnaround time of back office support is unpredictable

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-03-16
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Solutions Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For me the best aspect has been how flexible I can be with my hours. I am able to be home or at school for my children. That has meant a lot to me and them.

    Cons

    I think the salaries tend to be lower in consulting positions than they are outside of SAS. I don't think that consulting as a whole is seen as bringing as much value as say software development.

    SAS Institute2019-12-03
  4. "Great Place to work ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful company culture. Great benefits and passionate people. They are very attentive and customer oriented

    Cons

    Career growth is a little slow I think, mainly, because it's a very big company and sometimes thing are get more burocratic thank expected

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "35 years at SAS Inc. we’re good ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You are allowed to work independently.

    Cons

    Although training to update your skills is provided, the skills wither if you’re not given assignments using those skills.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-19
  6. "To Make SAS the best Analytical Solution business house globally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Friendly, Work culture, Great products, Supports Innovation, Focused

    Cons

    Customer management, business continuity, Solution approach, Technical complexity, Cost

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "SAS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning, life balance, good cafeterias

    Cons

    No equal opportunities, not nimble enough to a changing market

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-12-07
  8. "Great people, great benefits, great for younger employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Health benefits, lots of training, great place to grow into a role

    Cons

    Hard to advance, very policital corporate culture

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-21
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Becoming irrelevant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive remuneration, plenty of learning opportunities, and generous rewards and recognition scheme

    Cons

    Products are released before they are ready, with far too many defects. Product management is not good at listening to feedback from the field on what improvements are needed. Struggling to make the transition to the cloud - the SAS Viya platform is still not cloud native after promising this when the platform was released 3 years ago. Strategy to counter the rise of open source analytics does not appear to be working as most data scientists under the age of 40 have no interest in using SAS and would rather stick to Python, R, Spark, etc. or vendor tools that sit on top of them. Very poor services capability to help customers achieve business outcomes on the products - professional services is predominantly focused on installing, configuring and walking away. Key capability areas that SAS was once well regarded in (data management and BI) have been under-invested in to the point where the organisation appears to have literally given up competing.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-27
  10. "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Pune
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance,great peer group

    Cons

    Salary needs to be updated as per market

    SAS Institute2019-11-20
Found 1308 reviews