Robert Walters Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Robert Walters Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Robert Walters
Robert Walters
312 Ratings
Pros
  • "Totally not a traditional corporate; relaxed working environment & fun office(in 34 reviews)

  • "Good training, great culture and opportunity to progress in your career in Australia or overseas(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Open minded working culture & flexible hours

    Cons

    Huge competition within company & team

    Robert Walters2019-07-01
  2. "I have been working here for 2.5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    very strong database and structured team

    Cons

    terrible management in my team

    Robert Walters2019-05-31

    Robert Walters Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback--we'd be keen to get some more details regarding your comments about your team's management. If you like, please email us at hr.admin@robertwalters.com so that we can arrange a confidential conversation with someone from your former office.

  3. "Good company to gain recruitment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    good candidate and client data base, good culture

    Cons

    KPI driven, bonus scheme is not very attractive

    Robert Walters2019-05-06
  4. "Not a job for everyone..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    International, busy, multicultural, potential to make money

    Cons

    Too aggressive and salesly, must be able to swim with sharks...

    Robert Walters2019-05-08

    Robert Walters Response

    May 10, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. We strive to create a supportive working culture around the world, and we're sorry that you feel your experience hasn't reflected that. Your feedback helps us to improve, so if you'd like to arrange a confidential conversation to discuss these issues in more detail, please email us at hr.admin@robertwalters.com.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (3)

    "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    introduction to a global recruitment agency some events

    Cons

    bad management, bullying in style and political extremely emotional manager, micromanagement non-transparent bonus structure throw jobs at everyone, accept jobs from every client throw consultants under the bus

    Robert Walters2019-01-10

    Robert Walters Response

    January 14, 2019Group Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very concerned by some of your comments as we always strive to uphold a positive and professional working environment. We would appreciate the opportunity to hear more about your experience so that we can investigate more thoroughly – please contact us at hr.admin@robertwalters.com.

    Show Less
  6. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good database, good name in the market

    Cons

    takes a longer time to get promoted

    Robert Walters2017-09-16
  7. "Recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Robert Walters

    Pros

    Good support and training , guidance, building experience n network

    Cons

    Discretionary bonus, all or nothing target

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the discretionary bonus

    Robert Walters2016-05-08
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally friendly and warm environment A rather mature environment: Consultants are given high autonomy to run their desks Quite reasonable KPI in general The pay is okay. Not as high as commission houses but definitely higher than the major competitor Michael Page Decent brand name especially for MNC clients Good company culture

    Cons

    Market split may not be fair among consultants in some teams. This is part of the reasons why the turnover rate is not low even the company culture is good. Good for experienced recruiters to join but may not be the best place for fresh graduates.

    Advice to Management

    In general they have done a good job but to keep the company running in a good shape and to accelerate the performance further, reducing the turnover rate is a big task. It's important to make sure the market split among consultants is fair. If not, people would eventually leave and it's hard to judge if the consultants are performing or not given the market split is unfair.

    Robert Walters2015-07-12
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Good training in place More or less a fool proof system to be successful and make placements Due to the size of the business a lot of opportunity to move upwards in the business.

    Cons

    Mechanical, by-the-book approach to everything Very KPI driven, even with older and more experienced consultants who know what they're doing little room for proactivity or creativity

    Advice to Management

    With junior staff it's fine to take a directive approach, but once people have been in the business for a while give them enough space.

    Robert Walters2015-07-06

    Robert Walters Response

    July 28, 2015Global HR Director

    Thank you for getting in touch. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we take all employee feedback very seriously. It’s great to hear your positive comments around our training - we aim to provide the best training in the industry and it’s something that we’re known for. There is a focus on KPIs as it’s important in a sales based business. However, while there are KPIs in place we do also work on a team project share basis. This means that everyone is encouraged to work together and that helps to take a lot of pressure of individual consultants - we feel that this makes us different to a lot of competitors. We believe that people should come before process and we’re sorry if that wasn’t your experience. We’re always keen to hear employee feedback so if you would like to get in touch, please feel free to email me: Ingrid, Group HR Director at contact@robertwalters.com.

    Show Less
  10. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters

    Pros

    Good company Good culture Flexibility to do whatever if you have proven yourself

    Cons

    Recruitment is just boring Not much direction given

    Robert Walters2015-04-21
Found 511 reviews