Persado Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Persado Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Persado CEO Alex Vratskides
Alex Vratskides
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance and flexibility(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very regular happy-hours, birthday celebrations and company outings/events(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are also some growing pains to start-up life -- but this is to be expected(in 3 reviews)

  • "Average life span of new hires is less than 6 months(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "genuine focus on building culture and building your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am nearing my six-month mark at Persado and I have nothing but glowing reviews. I work with a brilliant team of hard-working people who motivate me every day. The great thing is the company is small enough for me to know names and recognize faces but, at the same time, growing rapidly. Most companies lose their charm when they expand so quickly, but not Persado. I can run into the CEO in the kitchen and feel... comfortable approaching him. The company is making headlines but maintaining their culture while doing it. I am excited about my personal growth here and so happy I decided to join a company that is at the forefront of technological advancement.

    Show More

    Cons

    I truly can't think of any....

    Persado2019-12-10
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Sorry, it's not actually AI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Persado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are decent, and there's a full snack cupboard in the office. The lower management is excellent, and there's a real sense of camaraderie on the Operations team (probably because we're all acutely aware of how the company leadership is screwing us over). I can sincerely call my coworkers my friends; the office atmosphere is fun and pretty casual. Plus, Persado looks *great* on a resume. The service... really does work (sometimes so well you have to assure the client the numbers are real) and you'll be on the cutting edge of content optimization.

    Show More

    Cons

    AI is at the center of Persado's marketing strategy... which means that new hires are in for a rude surprise when they discover that the actual amount of AI technology is negligible at best. Fortunately for some divisions (sales, HR, finance), they can drift blissfully though their time at the company without ever discovering that at all. The Operations side has it a little harder. On one hand, you're constantly... having to try to live up to the high expectations of the clients' C-suites, who drank the AI kool-aid and are now expecting us to deliver the moon. (To be fair, they were promised the moon by the sales/marketing teams, who don't have the first clue that their spiel is mostly BS.) On the other hand, you also have to deal with clients' copywriting teams, who are terrified that robots are coming to steal their jobs and thus hate you by default. Now, the Persado system *works*, and the incredible results are real. But it's not because of AI or neural networks or some nebulous "machine". It works because there are some very smart people behind the scenes, using careful planning and clever data analysis to do a better job than any copywriter working off their gut instinct ever could. But most of the company doesn't know about those people, and the clients/general public *definitely* don't know about those people. Which means that the ones who are driving all the value for both Persado and its clients--the people providing the core service offered by the company--are a dirty little secret hidden behind vague talk about "the machine". It's demoralizing, dubiously ethical, and makes the job more difficult to boot. That's the major issue, but there are a handful of others. The pay isn't *terrible*, but it isn't all that great either, and from what I can gather isn't all that fairly distributed (there's a non-insignificant pay gap). Also, the company doesn't have clear career progression paths or L&D opportunities laid out. There's little to no trust in the CEO, probably because his attitude to any objection is "If the technology isn't exciting enough for you, there are other companies out there". (That's a direct quote from an all-hands meeting.) And the Operations team is struggling from a manpower shortage right now because quite a few of us took his advice. Granted, I'm not in Sales or HR or any of the other divisions of the company that would operate more or less the same regardless of the AI issue. I suspect that they probably have less existential angst about their careers. And there are some signs of improvement--management recently instituted a VTO policy after a lot of people complained about lacking meaning in their work, and they're finally working to standardize pay and create better career progression paths. So there is reason to hope that things will be getting better in the near future. I wouldn't count on them coming clean about the AI, though. They completely revamped the sales pitch a few months ago and if anything leaned into it even harder.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Google "40% of AI startups don't use AI" and "xkcd 2173". Then stop telling people that we're an AI solution.

    Persado2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Surprised, and delighted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and laid-back office environment, truly global, and definitely a start-up vibe, engaged leadership, snacks galore, easy location on Madison Square Park, delightful colleagues and great opportunities for growth. New people officer has made a tremendous impact and positive vibes are felt across the globe.

    Cons

    Growing exponentially, so limited phone booths for calls -- but that will change with the move to a larger office. It is a start-up, so processes are still being designed and implemented -- but a great team leading the charge.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and being present every chance you get. Five minutes of face time makes a huge impact!

    Persado2019-08-29
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Tough Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Persado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool idea for the product. Interesting market. Some good, albeit mainly not happy, customers

    Cons

    CEO is unapproachable and erratic. CEO is a bully and not a good listener. The male leadership team says not nice things about many people.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and take what they seriously. Don't necessarily do what they say but don't discount it. Listen to your employees and do the same. You act like you have all the answers but change your direction too often. LISTEN with interest and to learn.

    Persado2019-08-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Six Weeks In and Still Blown Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing technology that clearly transforms customers' business in a big way. Consistent, informative communication between company leadership and all levels of colleagues. Everyone feels plugged into objectives, successes and plans for overcoming challenges. Thoughtful on-boarding plan with of great training tools to get you up to speed fast. Peers are super supportive, enthusiastic for newbies' success.... Collaboration, empathy are definitely in the DNA here.

    Show More

    Cons

    None yet. But will report back.

    Persado2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A company that is truly changing digital marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly differentiated Technology, Passionate customers, high-energy environment, smart people passionate about winning

    Cons

    Geographically dispersed team, travel required for some roles

    Persado2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Well, that was interesting..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Persado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are right out of college or early in your career, this could be an "amazing" experience. The NY office has a nice espresso machine and a bean bag. Millennial snacks at your disposal.

    Cons

    I've never seen so many people fired or "leave the company for greener pastures" in such a short time. Strategy veers like a car out of control. Management is patronizing and empowers and promotes awful sexist bullies (reminder, this is a Greek company.) If your weekly 1:1 with your boss/team results in dread, yelling, crying , this is never a good sign. Nevertheless, do not worry because the SMART people are in... charge. Experienced professionals should skip this roller coaster, there is nothing valuable here to be gained.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe eventually, with the right pitch, someone will buy Persado.

    Persado2019-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Smartest People...Best Product...Hidden Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't believe that I had never really heard of Persado before I joined -- what an incredible company! Our product is game changing, the people are amazing, and the leadership team is working hard to make the necessary strides for employees. We have had our share of ups and downs over the past few years -- like most high growth start ups -- but we are on the other side of that moving fast on an awesome trajectory... of success. Our new people team is working on projects completely focused on employees-- career paths, training, management skills training, fun office events, charitable giving and more. It is really comforting to know that leadership cares enough to allow these programs to be a priority! They ask for our feedback every quarter and it is clear to see that they are listening to employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    It would be great to see leadership consistently attend all of our events. We know they are busy, but we really count on them to lead by example. We have a bit more work to do to get in all of the people we need to support our product -- we just hired a new recruiting team so we know it is coming, but in the meantime, people are working long hours. Sales and business outlooks are stellar...we need to get more... marketing out there on how great this company is!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eye on employee engagement and retention. Keep investing in the people and programs for us. Please be present at people events -- show us your involvement and care!

    Persado2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "50% Company Growth, Martech solution using AI to perfect marketing creative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant colleagues, 250 brand name customers, innovative technology delivering massive ROI, great office locations and rapid growth.

    Cons

    We can't hire fast enough. Join us!

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to hire high quality colleagues faster!

    Persado2019-04-17
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Solid company with great momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting product that works - each time you explain what the company does to someone hearing it for the first time, you can tell it’s the most interesting thing they’ve heard that day. Smart teams and leadership that has become focused on listening to employees and making changes where needed.

    Cons

    Company is growing faster than it is hiring, so some teams are stretched - hopefully this is a temporary issue as there is a lot of active recruiting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employee feedback & communicating that you are doing so. Hire with urgency for key open roles.

    Persado2019-03-20
Found 88 reviews