OMERS Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

OMERS Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
OMERS Chief Executive Officer Michael Latimer (no image)
Michael Latimer
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You can also not participate in their pension plan(in 14 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OMERS

    Pros

    Great culture Smart, friendly colleagues Lots of interesting work Flexibility Very good bonuses Super benefits including a $500 lifestyle spending account that be used for wellness/commuting/activities - good maternity and paternity leave Several employee resource groups - pride, women, working parents Beautiful modern office Free food daily - fruit, yogurt, snacks Monthly beer/wine social Close to union station 5 personal days/year

    Cons

    Can be long hours depending on time of year Some leaders email at night Technology could be modernized/updated - although that is underway in some cases

    OMERS2020-02-21
  2. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at OMERS full-time

    Pros

    Very open and collaborative; organize internal events to promote diversity and inclusion; great daily refreshments

    Cons

    Org structure is flat and it may be challenging to move up the ladder

    OMERS2020-02-19
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OMERS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, the people, benefits.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    OMERS2020-01-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "No Loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OMERS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great new building and workspace

    Cons

    Fresh faces are more welcome

    OMERS2020-02-05
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OMERS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are awesome. League account, spotlight recognition program, employee discounts and so much more. Work is super flexible and the team you get to work with are really welcoming and genuinely caring.

    Cons

    Pension deductions sometimes take a toll. The company is trying to bring too much change in too little time which sometimes ends up bringing issues that are hectic and tiring to handle but that happens in any organization that plans to grow at this speed.

    Continue reading
    OMERS2019-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Environment and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at OMERS full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, pay and bonus

    Cons

    inflexible and long work hours. Traditional management system

    OMERS2019-12-24
  7. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OMERS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pension plan and benefits

    Cons

    Change due to reorganization is never ending

    OMERS2019-12-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pension Specialist 

    I have been working at OMERS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, location, people, hard boiled eggs

    Cons

    Location, elevators are too far from the buttons,

    OMERS2019-10-23
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Not a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at OMERS full-time

    Pros

    You can focus your work on doing something great - helping pensioners

    Cons

    The focus is on the who will be the new CEO. Lots of jockeying for advancement with the President who is likely to become CEO. President is fake. Not a man of principles and surrounds himself with the same.

    OMERS2019-10-16
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Something needs to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OMERS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people who do the work are great, and you can't beat the benefits and, of course, the pension

    Cons

    Senior management shows no respect or appreciation for their people. It's not the place it once was and it's a shame to see so many great people leave. There is a recent trend in getting rid of longer term/older employees which must be an HR nightmare. I've been waiting for the lawsuits!

    Continue reading
    OMERS2019-10-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 111 reviews