Northrop Grumman Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4385 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working the 9/80 schedule is wonderful, because you have 3 day weekends every other week(in 338 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and work-life balance(in 319 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 121 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 95 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Your mileage will vary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    9/80 work week. Would be assigned projects and roles according to skills and not limited to formal job title. Example: a systems engineer could work as a software engineer on a project if he/she had the skills, desire and there was project need.

    Cons

    Some locations are great, others were notoriously bad. Management of the organizational structure often fails. Re-orgs happen annually and management fails to execute on large re-orgs.

    Advice to Management

    The next time you undertake a massive organization, take the time to execute it properly instead of leaving employees without managers or much connection to the organization.

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-16
  2. "Socal Location is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, flexible schedule, pay is great

    Cons

    Sometimes I dont feel heard

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-14
  3. "Great People, Interesting Day to Day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Atmosphere Government Subsidies Meaningful Work

    Cons

    Repetitive Strict Policies Management tends to emphasize deadlines

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-13
  4. "Wonderful work environment and great learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    99% of the group of employees that I worked with were outstanding at the site I worked at (formally known asTRW/ESL) ; integrity, work ethic, and person to person relationships. I learned the most while I worked there and was given opportunities and challenges to expand my knowledge. I have great respect for those I supported; 2nd family in many ways.

    Cons

    Not all company benefits where the same after NGC purchased TRW and slowly saw the benefits get cut down; but at the same time they adopted one of my favorite work schedules - 9/80. Benefits are still good, but not what I had started with. The company culture was different and it slowly started to show after a few years, but I would return to NGC over where I currently just left where the culture was difficult to comprehend...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your greatest asset is your employees. At times it is ok to bring in an over-arching company culture, but there are other layers of work cultures at each site which is unique and should be embraced when working successfully. If the culture is working and the site works as a cohesive team, drives results, and fosters creativity and learning; then look at what is working and adopt into the higher level or recognize...

    Show More
    Northrop Grumman2019-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronic Technician III in Dulles, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, possibility to learn many skills if desired.

    Cons

    Some employees do the bare minimum, while others take the brunt of the work.

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-09
  6. "Would highly recommend!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Clearfield, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have loved working here!! They are flexible and have a great work/life balance. My boss has always had my back and I love the community here!!

    Cons

    Honestly... none that I can think of!!

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting programs, but runs slowly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Project Manager 

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

      Pros

      Good inclusion and diversity programs

      Cons

      Sometimes too much red tape

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-04
    • "Great company, good pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Procurement Specialist I in Madison, AL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      This company offers great pay and flexibility in some positions. That is a lot of the reason I chose to stay with them.

      Cons

      Career moves don't seem to be based on your skill or ability, but rather the amount of time you spend in a position, this just makes me want to apply at other companies to advance my career/pay

      Advice to Management

      Once an employee is in the company, their education level should not affect their ability to progress...I am specialized in my position, how much is getting a master's degree going to help? My bachelor's isn't even relevant to my position, but it got me the job ha-ha

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-07
    • "Great Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Logistics in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of Professional Development and mobility

      Cons

      Former military project managers expect to be treated like they're still in command.

      Northrop Grumman2019-06-07
    • "They're trying"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

        Pros

        Many opportunities worldwide Good benefits Flexible work arrangements

        Cons

        Those opportunities are sometimes blocked due to bureaucracy

        Advice to Management

        Focus on your keeping your good employees happy to keep them within the company.

        Northrop Grumman2019-06-05
      Found 4385 reviews