Cover image for New School
Logo

New School

Is this your company?

New School

Add a Review

New School Employee Reviews about "new school"

Updated 12 Aug 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 570 of over 572 reviews
3.6
64% Recommend to a Friend
New School President David E. Van Zandt
31% Approve of CEO

Found 34 of over 572 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
New School President David E. Van Zandt
David E. Van Zandt
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing benefits and work life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "The New School is a wonderful institution, with a great community(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Underpaid, poor ratio of full time and part time faculty(in 15 reviews)

  • "Low pay relative to similar for-profit companies(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "new school"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      12 Aug 2021 - Anonymous Temporary Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people at the New School

      Cons

      Seems unorganized at some times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Like rearranging deck chairs on a sinking ship

      6 May 2021 - Marketing & Communications employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I consistently worked 35 hours a week, plus a full hour for lunch every day, which is pretty rare in my profession. I found my job to be very low stress compared to other jobs I've had in the past. My managers were effective at advocating for me, were supportive and respectful, and very easy to get along with. I felt like my ideas were heard and I was given a lot of autonomy. I received three weeks vacation every year, and I was actually able to take it. There are a lot of cynical careerists and privileged out-of-touch types who largely drive the office culture, but some good people, too, especially if you're able to get to know colleagues outside your own department.

      Cons

      If you are a progressive person looking for a job that aligns with your values, you will not find that here. As other reviews have mentioned, The New School is very much riding on its reputation as a progressive, social justice-oriented institution centered on academic freedom. Their marketing campaigns are designed to draw in students whose hearts are crying out for justice, who realize after they get here that they’ve been taken for a ride. While originally conceived of as a free school, with few administrative positions and most decision-making power given to faculty members themselves, The New School is currently indistinguishable from most other American universities, with astronomical tuition, disillusioned faculty, and a bloated, top-heavy leadership model. The school's top earners rake in between $500k to almost $1M a year, jaw-dropping amounts when you consider the university’s total operating revenue is less than $400M (compare these numbers to a school like NYU, and you'll see what I mean). When faced with budgetary shortfalls in 2020, university leadership made the decision to eliminate 1/3rd of their employees–mostly underpaid, non-managerial workers, and cut salaries and benefits for everyone else–without taking significant salary cuts themselves. If you work here, you should do so without the expectation of any longterm job security. Poor business decisions such as these, coupled with long-declining enrollment don’t bode well for The New School’s future. The office culture is not great on the administrative side. I’ve never encountered so much casual racism or classism as I did working at The New School. My department was like 90% white which was deeply unsettling, especially for an organization situated in the most diverse city on earth. POC within the department were routinely subjected to microaggressions, with some of the worst of it coming from upper management. Other than vacation time, the benefits package is not good. The health insurance plan is awful. The premium is high, there is very limited in-network coverage for anything outside routine check-ups. I have a chronic health condition, and even with the most expensive plan, I was paying hundreds of dollars out-of-pocket each month. The New School offers no parental leave. They halted their retirement plan and 401k matching last year to cut costs. Employees can ostensibly take classes for free, but good luck getting into one.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. Join the New School team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      An incredible mission/history and no respect for it

      4 Feb 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Almost across the board, everyone at The New School is genuinely great, creative and interesting. Unless you're super high up, you're probably working there because you're getting a tuition break (HUGE benefit—if you're looking to get a Masters, you can do so essentially for free while working) or you're an artist/academic/musician trying to make a decent living in New York without putting in 14-hour workdays. This makes for incredible connections—most of my closest friends in the world I met through this place. There's always (pre-COVID) free talks, film screenings, and art shows. While working there, I saw Cornel West, bell hooks, Noam Chomsky, Jane Goodall, and so many more key figures of our time. Depending on your job/department/boss, you can be sure to have a normal, dependable schedule. Summer Fridays (7 of them) were a godsend for staff.

      Cons

      I worked for The New School in two departments for about 7 total years. I'm an alum, too, so I came in with an experience of the institution as a person having literally grown from it (this is the case with many employees—former students taking a dependable gig, believing they're giving back). Across the board, The New School is insanely top heavy: people in ridiculously high paying roles (who have been there 7+ years, sometimes longer) doing nothing but making decks and babysitting leadership. If you're under 35, good luck getting anyone to take you seriously—for a project, raise, or a higher position—particularly if you're challenging folks to actually live by the progressive ideals of the institution. I wasn't the only young, energetic person who experienced a kind of slow, sad suffocation—constantly asked to do more and more of the wrong kind of work and discouraged from taking on the real issues (faculty dissatisfaction; overly paid higher ups while worker bee staff members beg for $60K a year; reliance on adjuncts so they don't have to pay for health insurance; overworked/underpaid grad students; students angry because they can barely afford to eat with the high tuition and even higher turnover rate of advisors because advisors, being underpaid and overworked, frequently quit before students can even get to know them, let alone ask for their advice). If you're looking for something with all the pros I mentioned and you don't have too many growth aspirations or mind an e-mail-heavy, Yale-graduate Boomer-dominated culture, apply.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great community, little room for advancement

      16 Nov 2020 - Program Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had fantastic colleagues and a very supportive supervisor. Everybody at the New School is friendly and collaborative. PTO is one of the best I've had in my career.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, high performance is not rewarded. Heavily reliant on coordinators or student workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great School, Wonderful People, Messy Management

      26 Oct 2020 - Teaching Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The New School is a wonderful institution, with a great community.

      Cons

      The daily task feels messy and a lot of repetition.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The New School

      29 Oct 2020 - Assistant Dean in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The New School is a very different kind of university with an extremely talented staff and dedicated faculty.

      Cons

      The New School has been rudderless for as long as I have been affiliated. The leadership is weak (which is unfortunate because the staff is so talented), and unable to make critical decisions that it needs to make to secure the future of the university. No fine arts student who is choosing the life of an artist, in other words a life of low earnings, should be asked to pay tuition of 50k/year.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Too much bad attitude not enough gratitude !! Do not work there unless you like verbal abuse by management

      10 Oct 2020 - Events in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and holidays off

      Cons

      Bad managers and bad HR. The New School event managers, event directors and event planners need to work on their anger and treatment of all staff. Need to improve pre production of all events. Staff members leave or quit due to a verbal ****storm that they are subjected too every week. Event directors do not know how to use some of the latest and simple programs needed for the jobs to be done.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent College Experience

      29 Feb 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professors, Class sizes, Available classes

      Cons

      There were no cons from my experience at The New School

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      I am grateful for Cate's participation...

      28 Jan 2020 - Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      December 24th, 2018 Dear director, I am writing on behalf of Cate McNider who assisted me this past semester in an Introduction to Alexander Technique class offered at The New School for Drama within the undergrad program. Since 1995 I have been teaching the Alexander Technique to actors in the graduate programs at The New School, both The Actors Studio MFA Program and The New School for Drama. I also teach undergraduate actors as part of the NYU Tisch studio at The Lee Strasberg Institute for Film and Theater, at the College for Performing Arts as part of The New School and in the drama program at Fordham University. Cate joined me for the first time this fall as an assistant teacher. Her primary responsibility was giving each of the ten students two, twenty minute hands-on private sessions which occurred after a ground work of the principles had been established. In the early weeks of the semester we worked together to establish an understanding of the AT principles through anatomical readings and discussions, movement explorations, floor lessons engaging a mind-body practice and applying this new skill set to game structures. Cate was able to bring her background as a Body-Mind Centering practitioner to these conversations as well as make occasional suggestions for the movement studies. Her Alexander Technique hands-on work with the students was transformative. Later on in the private sessions before a three way mirror she was able to bring insight to habits and lead the students towards an embodiment of themselves in action without these habits. Several of them wrote about these experiences in their final paper, clearly having recognized the possibility of change that they were keen to maintain awareness of moving forward. Several times in the application of skills in acting activities I suggested that Cate participate as an actor so the students could be exposed to what was possible when the AT skills were integrated with strong acting skills. The depth of awareness increased after Cate demonstrated through her participation the experience of this integration and often the student actor’s functioning improved when they aimed for this application as well. I strongly encourage Cate to use her actor training informed by her Alexander self practice in her teaching. Her students will both be impressed and inspired. Lastly, I found this particular group of students to be slow to open up with one another and be willing to work with the principles of the AT, adopting a mental attitude that would support change within themselves. I spoke with Cate outside of the class and asked for her observations. She was encouraging and reflected back to me some small changes she was noticing. She also made the suggestion to let go of some of my expectations and be lighter with the students since for many of them developing self-awareness related to embodiment was was an entirely new frontier. I took this suggestion to heart and the learning seemed to pick-up as a result. I am grateful for Cate’s participation in these ways and hope that she is given an opportunity to develop her skills offering the Alexander Technique to actors. best, Teva Bjerken

      Cons

      The only downside was that it was a volunteer (unpaid) position and for only one semester.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A great institution that feels like it's changing for the worse

      31 May 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, the New School is full of bright, creative, interesting people, and employment here offers some great perqs like tuition waivers, contributions to your pension, four-day summer workweeks, and generous vacation time. However, the spirit of the "old" New School is disappearing in favor of a more corporate approach and I think the institution is a bit adrift.

      Cons

      Heavily tuition-driven institution with a relatively small endowment means the fiscal strength of the organization fluctuates with enrollment levels. Pay is less than at competing universities, and the near-constant threat of budget cuts and austerity measures mean job security is not a given. The opportunities for career advancement vary depending on which division / college you're in, but in general they aren't great. You hit the ceiling pretty fast and raises are not reliably tied to performance reviews, so you may get a 1-2% bump every year or so, or not. The New School, a place which used to be full of brilliant people who weren't necessarily career academics, but who had real-world experience and credibility, is changing to a more credential-driven environment making it more like every other institution of higher learning. But given it's shaky finances and lack of a cohesive identity (far more people know of Parsons, a part of the The New School, then know of The New School itself), TNS can't compete with other universities and therefore there is more turnover and employee dissatisfaction.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with New School Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at New School? Share Your Experiences

    New School logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    New School Photos

    + Add Photo
    New School photo of: The New School
    New School photo of: New School University Center
    New School photo of: Lath Essoh Alex
    New School photo of: 72 Fifth

    Have you worked here?

    See All Photos

    Affiliated Companies

    Parsons the New School for Design

    New School Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Parsons the New School for Design Logo
    Parsons the New School for Design

    4.0

    145 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 572 New School reviews submitted anonymously by New School employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if New School is right for you.