Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto CEO Joseph Mapa
Joseph Mapa
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "It’s a great place as a starter to work in both the business and health care side(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and excellent pension plan(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The original full time permanent people quit because of the burnout(in 5 reviews)

  • "Surprisingly low salary and no benefits(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time

    Pros

    The environment is very collegial.

    Cons

    The pay is relatively low.

    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-11-13
  2. "Bad Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good benefits package - Working for the community - Some learning opportunities

    Cons

    - Senior Management ruin the workplace, VP and Director particularly - Next to no opportunity to get ahead or be promoted - Senior staff could learn a thing or two from new hires but won't listen

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-11-03
  3. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hospital was a good place to work. I enjoyed it.

    Cons

    I personally didn't have any cons working at this hospital

    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-10-01
  4. "I work at Baltimore not Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN II in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work if stay positive.

    Cons

    As long as one works with a positive state of mind and smart, it a pleasant place to work.

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-10-12
  5. "Great place to work at and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work place to be in, teaching hospital

    Cons

    Tough work place to be in

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-10-01
  6. "rewarding and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ward Clerk in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fast paced, diverse, lots of work opportunities

    Cons

    difficult to grow within the company

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-09
  7. "Gained some experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Gained experience - Good pay in lieu of benefits and vacation

    Cons

    - Manager was a clinician and wasn't skilled with people management and was often condescending and affected by their mood in their interactions with staff - Low base pay

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "new grad RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - hired right out of school - organisation has excellent reputation for clinical excellence

    Cons

    - workplace incivility, rude/hostile night staff - rushed orientation - additional training requests ignored by management

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great teaching hospital."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaching, experience and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Pay, structure and management. No benefits on contract positions

    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-01-09
  10. "Totally disconnected management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close to the subway, lots of food choices around the area

    Cons

    Management does not provide training, first day of the job, they literally just emailed all the instructions to me and expect me to know everything right away. Very disorganized. There are days when management is oblivious how busy the Department is. Very high turnover rate, management hired about 10 temps in this year and last year. The original full time permanent people quit because of the burnout. Again, I will emphasize - there is NO PROPER TRAINING provided!!!

    Continue reading
    Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-12-21
Found 79 reviews