Mojio Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Mojio Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Mojio CEO Kenny Hawk (no image)
Kenny Hawk
14 Ratings
  1. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, work from home.

    Cons

    They do not have a good culture.

    Mojio2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best employer of my career so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company with momentum. I’ve never worked in a place with such clear goals that everyone understands and works towards. Sure, the goals are big and change from quarter to quarter, but that’s what keeps things interesting. The leadership team is decisive and motivated, and as an employee (and optionholder) that is exactly what I want to see. There is a culture here of individual responsibility. That’s... not fluff; it really does feel like everyone has a real interest in moving the company forward rather than just being along for the ride. This one thing has a very big positive impact on the day-to-day work atmosphere. You would have to search very hard to find a Vancouver company that matches the perks that Mojio provides. Lunches, company outings, good vacation policy and big referral bonuses are some of them. The generous per-person budget for professional education is another. There is flexibility with work location and hours. All in all, I feel well taken care of. Career growth is super important to me, and I feel there are solid opportunities at Mojio. I know it’ll be up to me to carve out my own path and step up, but that’s what startup life is all about — there’s no defined ladder. In my time here (less than a year) I’ve seen a number of people take on new leadership positions, which is a great signal that Mojio promotes from within.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not a con, but it is something to keep in mind: Mojio is a startup. Like any startup, the pace is fast and priorities change often. Anyone joining Mojio should look forward to some uncertainty, because along with that goes the excitement of building something cool. The current Vancouver office (Howe Street) is a bit too small for the number of people working there, but that will change in July 2019 when... we move to our new office.

    Show More
    Mojio2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Sweatshop for T-Mobile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunches Commute is good if you are in South Bay Some talented people in engineering team

    Cons

    Mojio is a sweatshop for T-Mobile. If you enjoy working long hours and weekends for iterative projects, by all means, go for it. The product has not changed in years and the management does not seem like what they are doing. They claim to have new customers, but at best it is another iterative version of the same product. Employees are not treated with respect. The CEO keeps cursing in meetings, bullies everyone... in sight. You need to be a yes man to keep your position. Career advancement opportunities are minimal. It has been a small startup for 7 years with very little growth. All of engineering reports into one person. I will leave to your imagination how she finds the time to work with everyone, provide guidance and be on top of the projects. All in all, it will be an acceptable place if you are starting up in your career and need to add some experience to your resume. If you are an experienced engineer and want challenging projects, look elsewhere as they won't be able to give you one.

    Show More
    Mojio2019-05-29

    Mojio Response

    June 4, 2019CEO

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. While I can understand the urge to vent if you are feeling overworked and frustrated, doing so anonymously on a public forum does not give me the impression that you have Mojio's best interests at heart. After all, each and every Mojian is granted stock options and will share in the company's long-term success. Given that you are likely ~75% vested, I am surprised to see such a short-sighted review. Instead, I strongly encourage you to talk directly with myself or our Head of Human Resources. Mojio has always (and always will) welcome open and honest feedback from every member of the team. As the CEO of Mojio, I take direct issue with some of the claims you've made and it is my duty to address them openly and with authenticity. #1 - We are not a sweatshop for T-Mobile. As our largest customer and a strategic investor, we obviously put a significant amount of emphasis here. After all, our first guiding principle is "Customers come first, always." How many startups out there would kill for a chance to have America's fastest growing wireless company as a customer? #2 - Regarding our growth, Deloitte Canada ranked us as the 2nd fastest growing technology company in 2018 and we've managed to beat out all of our venture backed competitors in this space. What we do is very hard and the customers we work with are very demanding, as they should be. The fact that we just raised a $40M Series B from investors like Amazon, Bosch, Deutsche Telekom and T-Mobile speaks for itself. #3 - All of Engineering does not report into one person. In fact, our VP of Engineering has six direct reports, each of whom are responsible for teams within the greater engineering organization. And as you know, we are actively working with a new set of engineering leaders to unlock new efficiencies. #4 - Mojio has been a career accelerator for many folks and we aim to promote from within whenever we can! Just last week, we promoted several engineers into elevated roles. #5 - Regarding the cursing, I will not apologize for being passionate during some of our all-hands meetings. As for bullying, that is an extreme claim and something I take offense to. I may be direct, but I am not a bully. As the leader of Mojio, I bring an intense level of drive to our company, and that's exactly what's needed in a highly-competitive, global business environment. Even so, everyone at Mojio has the right to challenge my assumptions and raise their hand to object or share a reason why something should (or shouldn't) be done. I have always been open to feedback and will continue to operate this way. In closing, I want to reiterate that the door is open to speak with myself and/or our Head of Human Resources and we would appreciate you sharing your grievances with us directly so that we can work towards a win-win solution, as opposed to an attempt to publicly damage our brand and reputation

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (2)

    ""Fun, challenging place to work with super smart people.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Mojio for about a year now, and am very grateful to work here. You are empowered and expected to do your job to the fullest and further. If you're not, they will make sure that you have the tools to do so. Fantastic people to work with. Great leadership, collaborative, smart individuals and open environment to express opinions and an active work environment. Innovation is always at the... forefront. + Very competitive SALARY, BONUS, STOCK OPTIONS. They pay their people well and make sure we are happy with what we have and are doing. + Very flexible with your schedule and allows one to have a fair balance between personal time and work. Freedom and responsibility at its finest. + The culture is open, discussions are welcome. Individual contributions are valued. +We've recently moved to Campbell Downtown, CA which makes the commute seem like a moon walk. +Prorated annual 4 week’s vacation. +Paid Christmas Shutdown. +Monthly $50 HAS expense reimbursed. +Mojio celebrates 12 National Holiday. This year we had 3 days off for Independence day because it was on Wednesday. +Monthly Phone bill covered +Great company events, lunches, snacks and beverages. +Free parking

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course there is no perfect place but there are no major Cons.

    Mojio2018-11-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Epic Growth and Opportunity but it is how well the employees are treated that is keeping me here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can do the research on our unprecedented growth with T-Mobile and several other carriers in Canada and Eastern Europe, how well funded we are and our top notch exec team! Below is what I have to say: Reason I am staying at Mojio: 1) Mojio is generous with their stock options 2) 4 weeks vacation where a portion of unused vacation is paid out at end of year 3) 10% bonus (you gotta earn it, but it is there... for the taking) 4) This year we had a paid Christmas shutdown 5) More holidays than most companies (never had Presidents Day or MLK Day off until now) 6) Reimbursed of fitness/health oriented items like gym memberships, personal training, etc and of course tuition reimbursement for advanced learning 7) All sorts of office perks (great coffee, catered food, company events, etc.) 8) Excellent benefits and salary Due to our huge growth of course we have to work hard and sometimes put in long hours but the above listed items shows Mojio is willing to compensate for hard work and more importantly provide opportunities for time off or personal growth. One final note, I had a family emergency to deal with and the outpouring of support from the team including a personal call from the CEO where he stated anything I needed to help would be provided, has solidified that I am in the right place!

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course there is no perfect place but there are no major Cons. One item of concern is that the VP's have a lot of direct reports. Ultimately, there needs to be a little more middle management HOWEVER, middle management heavy organizations are not as productive and profitable and Mojio is more focussed on hiring engineers to support our rapid growth.

    Advice to Management

    Within reason, promote a few people to positions to take some of the burden off the VPs per above comments in Cons section.

    Mojio2018-03-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers. Lots of perks in the office, including catered lunch and snacks. The work environment is nice and the work is intellectually stimulating but not too overwhelming.

    Cons

    The organizational structure is a little too flat, sometimes it is difficult to find someone to report to.

    Mojio2018-02-09
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not for the weak hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing growth opportunities - Product development and outlook is pretty good - Monetary compensation, workspace and benefits are good - Fun outings with the team. We also get VIP tickets to events in Vancouver and Palo Alto

    Cons

    - Not losing the weak links quick enough. Makes it tough for the others who are in it to win - Uncontrolled growth - Need to have planned for it to be incident-free

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what's going on but plan for the growth. Keep staying transparent as always. Thank you!

    Mojio2017-10-15
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Dont trust management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mojio full-time

    Pros

    - Strong growth - Exit looking good for investors at least - Free lunch now in both offices - Very flexible hours

    Cons

    - Very long hours, expect to work every weekend - Totally unrealistic expectations, sales guy CEO thinks everything should be faster - Empty promises from management to keep you working - No organization or processes - Everybody has to be in every meeting - Execs make all decisions

    Advice to Management

    - Look at long term - Listen to engineers - Slow down before downtime and outages kill the company - Do not punish engineers who want quality - Only ask for feedback if you want it, no fake open door where you punish people who tell truth

    Mojio2017-10-13

    Mojio Response

    November 9, 2017CEO

    This review does not match what our anonymous internal team survey shows nor our actual performance. 14 of our last 21 hires have come from team referrals. We are so focused on quality and uptime that we have quadrupled our Q/A and devops team over the past quarter. My commitment is to build carrier grade products that launch on time that delight customers. Going from zero to 500,000 paid subscribers in under one year was a herculean task. Our work hard to win this global market is not for everyone. But for those brave stars that want a challenge and the opportunity to be #1 in a growth market, we are hiring.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great co-workers, not so great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mojio full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, a lot of great perks, exciting work in certain aspects, office space/location is ideal

    Cons

    execs sometimes take on too many requests, overwhelming engineering team, leading to blame game, work life balance is not so great, long hours for deadlines unrealistic time frames for tasks

    Mojio2017-10-06
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mojio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profitable exit more likely than not.

    Cons

    People have value. Stanford did not instruct an MBA grad how to factor human input into an equation where unbridled truth could be rendered by Glass Door.

    Mojio2017-09-22

    Mojio Response

    November 9, 2017CEO

    I believe a good person in the wrong role or wrong company needs to be liberated as fast as possible. The person will be happier and more productive in a role/company that better suits them. In the time since this technical support person was liberated we have resolved tickets faster with higher quality and the tech support team is working like a well oiled machine. Unsolicited customer testimony letters are also a great sign that our tech support department is focused on solving problems and delighting customers.

    Show Less
Found 24 reviews