Micro Center Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Micro Center President & CEO     Richard M. Mershad (no image)
Richard M. Mershad
277 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount incredible on non-big ticket items(in 86 reviews)

  • "Gain a lot of experience and knowledge about computers(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and theres nothing quite like working 60(in 23 reviews)

  • "Commission based pay, frequently changing pay structure, a lot of busy work, very customer focused culture in management(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "cashier"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time

    Pros

    good pay, money is good

    Cons

    bad time, poor management, chocking

    Micro Center2019-02-28

    Micro Center Response

    March 4, 2019Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you feel your compensation is good for the work that you do. I would like to better understand the cons you stated regarding your location's management etc. Please feel free to reach out to me here at Home Office HR. Thank you Jennifer Corporate Recruiting Manager 614-850-3150

  2. "easy gig, great coworkers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    solid commission and understanding/relaxed management, great discounts

    Cons

    terrible POS system and long checkout process

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-05-21

    Micro Center Response

    May 26, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your 4 star review. We appreciate your dedication to Micro Center and are continuing to make process improvements in various areas of our stores. Thanks for the feedback.

  3. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Place to work. Thanks.

    Cons

    Needs Better HR. Thank You

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-05-20

    Micro Center Response

    May 26, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the 5 star review. We would love additional feedback on your particular situation regarding HR. Please reach out to Angie Miller our VP of HR at 6140850-3150. Thank you Jennifer HR Manager

  4. "Fun job, good opportunity to make commission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are pretty great. Everyone is competent at their jobs, which is rare these days. Micro Center cares about its employees and it is shown in the Chicago store by the GM Dan. A lot of chance to earn extra commission pay if you can sell (not as hard as it seems). Good work/life balance. Solid employee discount.

    Cons

    Can be monotonous depending on the type of person you are. It’s an electronics store so knowing the product is tougher than at other places - they say they’ll teach you the product but they never do, you just learn on your own. Training is pretty abysmal. You must meet certain metrics to be considered successful and most of these metrics are out of your control.

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-05-11

    Micro Center Response

    May 26, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the 5 star review and so glad to hear that you would recommend us in the future. We really appreciated your detailed feedback especially about the GM of this location! Great to hear! We are working on ongoing process improvements that do include the POS systems etc. Thanks again Jennifer HR Mgr

  5. "Really good place for first job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Madison Heights, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission ontop of decent pay for cashier, along with benefits and weekly events from home office

    Cons

    Got to work pretty quickly and rules are changing somewhat constantly from home office

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-05-04

    Micro Center Response

    May 26, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for this 4 star review. We appreciate your feedback and your positive advice to management. Jennifer HR Mgr

  6. "Not a bad place to start with an A+"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Repair Technician in Dallas, TX
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible with your schedule for students. Pay is decent, better than other similar retail computer jobs in the area.

    Cons

    Over time upper management has pushed this position more into a sales position. Job performance is judged on profits and add on sales, not technical ability. No IT related opportunities, only retail management. No 401k matching

    Micro Center2020-05-03

    Micro Center Response

    May 27, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the 4 star review and the 5 stars in the work/life balance category. If you would like to share any details of the Cons that you stated above, please reach out to our Home Office HR department at 614-850-3150. Thank you Jennifer HR Mgr

  7. "Good job to get into the field - will hire anyone with a tech background"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good starter job but I wouldn't want to work here long term

    Cons

    Management is okay Customer is always right Transparent Help to Techs from Management The workload sucks and there are not enough staff They have recently taken away a lot of the more common things we get spiffed on

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-04-28

    Micro Center Response

    May 27, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    We appreciated your 4 star review. We do price ourselves on our focused customer satisfaction environment . If you would like to talk with your Regional HR Manager please email her at tgolestani@microcenter.com and she will respond as soon as possible. Thanks Jennifer HR Mgr

  8. "Nor bad for retail"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay, health benefits, some flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Commission based pay, frequently changing pay structure, a lot of busy work, very customer focused culture in management

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-05-11

    Micro Center Response

    May 26, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review. We would like to better understand some of the CONS that you stated in your review so feel free to reach out to our Home Office HR department . And yes our culture is based on a "customer centric" foundation and we strive for 100% customer satisfaction on a daily basis, Thank you Jennifer HR Mgr 614-850-3150

  9. "Lifelong Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing managment Great advancement opportunities Great Pay and Bonus

    Cons

    Sometimes no sales come in and it's demoralizing

    Micro Center2020-04-25

    Micro Center Response

    May 27, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for this 5 star review. We are so glad to hear that you say we are a lifelong company for you. Please reach out to Home Office HR if you ever need any assistance. Thanks Jennifer HR Manager

  10. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to start working

    Cons

    can be overwhelming at times

    Micro Center2020-04-25

    Micro Center Response

    May 27, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    We really appreciate your 5 star review. Thanks for your long term dedication to Micro Center. Please reach out to your Regional HR Mgr or the Home Office HR team if you need assistance of any kind. Thanks Jennifer HR Manager

Found 696 reviews