McKinsey & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

McKinsey & Company Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company CEO Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
515 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 210 reviews)

  • "Great people, truly global opportunities(in 200 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analytics Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    1) very good people 2) great exposure 3) lot to learn

    Cons

    1) lifestyle - lot of travel n long working hours

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-09
  2. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and culture, leadership opportunities, optionality for exit options

    Cons

    Pay is low, long hours

    McKinsey & Company2019-05-03
  3. "Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Very inspiring culture. Great people to work with. Less idiots vs. working in in-house. Best place for career progression.

    Cons

    Difficult to strike a work life balance. High intensity travelling.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it as it. There is only one Mckinsey, and everything put in place has been working well.

    McKinsey & Company2019-03-26
  4. "EA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Good job very international environment

    Cons

    quite heavy workload and ot work

    McKinsey & Company2019-03-03
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Good exposure to senior leaders across industry

    Cons

    Bad lifestyle, limited deep knowledge

    McKinsey & Company2019-02-23
  6. "Best decision that I have ever made :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exceptional people Intellectually challenging work content Rapid development in soft and hard skills Life-long friendship (The saying that "you will never truly leave McKinsey" is real) Opening doors to any career opportunity

    Cons

    Long hours Lots of travel (could be a pro if you enjoy living out of a suitcase and don't have a family yet :D)

    Advice to Management

    Talent retention is imperative. It hurts when I see exceptional leaders and peers with superpower leave the firm... :(

    McKinsey & Company2019-01-02
  7. "A very nice firm, good opportunity and development prospect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, best platforms for graduates and nice working atmosphere

    Cons

    NO. It's the best firm that i've ever experienced up until now.

    McKinsey & Company2018-10-26
  8. "A good internship experience in a great consulting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company

    Pros

    Can work with different teams

    Cons

    Hourly wage and do not enjoy much employee’s benefits

    McKinsey & Company2018-08-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Why do I have to do all this, its not what I bloody wanted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Get a lot of money. Have a fancy looking company name on your CV

    Cons

    You work a lot, and have no social life, and it's a lot of pressure

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to employees

    McKinsey & Company2018-06-29
  10. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart people good exposure for graduates

    Cons

    Low hourly pay, long working hours

    Advice to Management

    improve pay, biz class travels

    McKinsey & Company2018-04-24
Found 3672 reviews