LSE Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

LSE Research Assistant Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LSE Director Judith Rees (no image)
Judith Rees
4 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work, loads of freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Intellectual stimulation - Overall freedom to handle time/tasks - Great support network

    Cons

    - A bit disconnected/scattered at times

    LSE2020-01-16
  2. "Great University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graduate Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LSE for more than a year

    Pros

    Among staff including academics, this is a tremendously collegial place where first-class work is done and there is a real dedication to both research and students

    Cons

    Not much collaboration and guidance

    LSE2019-12-30
  3. "Health Economics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occasional Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility, good value for money

    Cons

    no office provided, no prospective of career advancement unless you pursue a PhD

    LSE2019-12-11
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at LSE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It has a comparatively good pay

    Cons

    bit bureaucratic process of getting paid, on the basis of handing in timesheets (in case of part time research assistance)

    LSE2019-12-11
  5. "LSE RA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at LSE

    Pros

    I was paid a fairly high salary

    Cons

    The contract was rather short

    LSE2019-10-12
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSE part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good location around holborn station

    Cons

    nothing is very seriously bad

    LSE2019-09-25
  7. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people , nice environment, great city

    Cons

    Low salary, politics, bad food

    LSE2019-06-04
  8. "Beware of contract delays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Graduate Research Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    In general, working as a student research assistant LSE allows you to get into contact and build relationships with leading researchers

    Cons

    If you are a student that actually needs money, DO NOT WORK HERE, it takes FOREVER to get a contract which means if you actually end up working, you will probably get a check after your programme ends.

    Continue reading
    LSE2019-01-11
  9. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with great people.

    Cons

    None really come to mind.

    LSE2018-11-26
  10. "Research assistant (hourly paid staff)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hourly pay is very good - Flexibility (work from home, days and hours) - Quiet office - Best pension scheme I have come across - Great campus & location - Interesting work and learning opportunities

    Cons

    - HR & Admin in general slow - admin in particular overworked - Took more than a month to have a computer and access to all systems set up - Contract renewed on a rolling basis every few months when it expires - very little security/allows no advance planning

    LSE2017-05-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews