J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,364 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay & many different hours available(in 440 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and colleagues are supportive(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and often stressful as everyone must be multi skilled(in 147 reviews)

  • "When the company got rid of team leaders there is very little room for career progression(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "You'll enjoy it here because of the colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    They care about their colleagues, customers are friendly, usually plenty of different types of jobs to do if you ask for them, room to gain new skills and get more pay if you ask or keep an eye out for opportunities.

    Cons

    Bad organisation at times, if you are stuck on tills it can be mundane

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2017-06-05
  2. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for students due to flexibility Overtime tends to be available

    Cons

    Management pick and choose when to help you regarding issues Issues arent dealt with straight away almost ever

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2020-02-25
  3. "Not bad, all in all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Supervisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    lots of skills learnt in order to run the business

    Cons

    Promotion more likely if you’re a yes man

    J Sainsbury2020-02-25
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Groceries Online Shopper in Truro, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by a great team of driven individuals

    Cons

    Hard to balance early hours (04:00-09:00) with university studies

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trading Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always loved working at Sainsburys, honestly I’ve had a lot of jobs in the past but this one I’ve stuck with - I’m currently on my way to becoming a CTM which is another great factor it’s a great way to enhance yourself and develop

    Cons

    It can sometimes be a bit deflating with angry customers and Managers can also be hard to get along with but that comes with life so it not usually anything to seriously worry about

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  6. "Great hourly pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great at £9.20 much more than most supermarkets and this is for all colleagues including those 16-24

    Cons

    Stores can be very busy so sometimes it is needed for you to take up a lot of overtime especially at peak times over summer and Christmas

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  7. "Good retail company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In comparison to other retail companies I worked for, they offered fair pay and benefits. The managers I had were always understanding and cared about me as an individual.

    Cons

    Towards the end of my time at Sainsbury's they made some cuts to staffing levels which massively effected the service to customers.

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  8. "CTM Sainsbury's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Trading Manager in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mostly good.. mainly depends on the store manager though.

    Cons

    Long shifts, were only getting longer too. No praise for good or hard work.

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  9. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Lenient work hours and great ethos

    Cons

    Was minimum wage, however I was a student

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying Administrative in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, career development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay is quite low compared to similar job roles.

    J Sainsbury2020-02-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4226 reviews