J D Wetherspoon "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated 23 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
636 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 117 reviews)

  • "Good pay for people just starting(in 103 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and unsociable hours(in 189 reviews)

  • "Depending on the size of the pub it could be difficult to move up career wise(in 185 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not the worst, but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Discount on food Pretty flexible with hours

    Cons

    Late finishes, the earliest I ever got out in a close was 1 am! Always stuck training new staff as the manager didn't think she should train anyone, I was left on my own on my second shift to train a new start! Last-minute guilt trips in having you come into work Managers were not happy if you phoned in sick (I ended up in a&e and my manager did not believe me at all)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-23
  2. "Long Hours and Bad Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Cheshunt, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - My other team members were like family - plenty of opportunity to progress in the company - incentives offered for targets - discount on food

    Cons

    - minimum wage - tips had to go back into the company ( no cash allowed but drinks could be bought for you) - long hours and mass understaffing - racist, abusive and sometimes violent customers were always given priority - The pub was dirty and corners were cut to ensure they saved money.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  3. "Really cares about it staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, discount on food and drinks, easy to pick up

    Cons

    Just like every bar job irregular hours, but what you sign up for

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-25
  4. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

    Continue reading
  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift. Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

    Cons

    Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks. Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    Continue reading
  6. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    Continue reading
  7. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barman, Barmaid in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    20% discount on food and drinks Good managers that always tried to help. Good work environment.

    Cons

    The closing shift was really long.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    If I’m honest the only pros is possibly the discount on food but only whilst on shift

    Cons

    Unfortunately my time here was awful, management is greedy , rude and no respect what so ever, the pay is minimum wage and if you work on a Friday and Saturday night be prepared to stay behind after you’re meant to finish for free to clean up and this is without any extra pay, when I worked here I had to stay for an extra 40minutes on a Saturday night and when I got paid I didn’t receive any extra money when I questioned this I was told that I didn’t have to stay (I didn’t even get a thank you or even a drink) management and seniors are hypocrites they take short cuts when it comes to standards if you copy them they pull you up on it, there’s no real career progression here unless you get really friendly with management. Turn over is very very high nobody stays for that long some people come for a trial then don’t return. Also you’re on a zero hour contract you’re hours change weekly and they constantly change them, I had a weekend off once then the day before changed the roster and expected me to work it even though I was going away, I just didn’t show up that weekend for work but they didn’t seem to bothered that just shows what type of company there like to work for.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your comments, your experience is not what we would expect as part of our Associate Promise.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Would never return to the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    20% discount on food 20% discount on drinks 50% while working Management feeding

    Cons

    Lack of policy inforcement Regularly unpaying staff Cash in hand work over Contracted Mistreatment of staff Poor training Regularly breaking licencing laws Stock manipulation Cash manipulation Area managers poorly trained

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    Continue reading
  10. "People are nice but shifts can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Friendly Staff Staff discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Poor training Long shifts Bad management Unexpected hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. if you feel there are areas you need additional training support we would urge you to get in contact with the training team at head office.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 61 reviews