J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,688 of over 2,741 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
994 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay Good people Good atmosphere(in 162 reviews)

  • "The quarterly bonuses are the best depending on how your Pub performs(in 140 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Expect to work long hours in busier periods and occassions(in 257 reviews)

  • "Hard work when working in a busy pub(in 229 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee

      manager

      Jun 4, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good working envrionment i guess

      Cons

      no life and work balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      2.8 Years experience

      Jul 25, 2021 - Shift Leader/Manager in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best job I’ve had, without a doubt! - Flexible Hours, depending on location. (Management) - Relaxed environment normally minus the obvious rush from students and big events. - Good pay to start out with!

      Cons

      A good staff relationship and the job make it far too comfortable and good to work at, however the company itself isn’t the best. Hence the 4/5, hard sometimes to manage breaks & meet everyone’s expectations. - Sometimes can be a hard environment to progress in, again… Depending on location.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Mostly fine job, except for one manager who was a bully

      Jun 6, 2021 - Kitchen Associate in Oxford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the people there were really nice and I almost never had to interact with customers, which isn't for everyone but suited me well. The job was reasonably easy once I'd been there for a few weeks. It was also a very LGBT friendly workplace.

      Cons

      One manager had a massive temper and was kind of a bully, he would be really nice to his fellow managers but then yell at "lower" staff for very minor mistakes and then mock them to others working in the kitchen. I brought this issue up a couple of times with colleagues but it was brushed off as "just how he is". I worked this job over two summers and I would definitely have gone back to it again if it wasn't for the fact that I assume this guy still works there. The job was mostly actually pretty good for what it is but whenever I had a shift with him I would be anxious the whole time, and I'm not someone that's particularly prone to anxiety. I also wasn't given any training when I first joined and was just dropped straight into a Friday night shift (always the busiest of the week) with very little guidance, but the Kitchen Manager was on holiday for 3 weeks at that point so perhaps this isn't usually the case. The job can be quite stressful on the busy shifts, or if a big order comes in when you've been left alone in the kitchen, but usually it's not too bad.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Really good place

      Aug 3, 2021 - FOH Team Member in Minehead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good place to work for. Loved it - Good staff, and good benefits as well as good food

      Cons

      No enough work, shifts wer eup and down- was understaffed most days. Management was okay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good pay, unsociable hours

      Aug 3, 2021 - Store Manager in Wishaw, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, well paid, secure environment

      Cons

      Unsociable hours, pub managers time is concentrated at peak times to little time for work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      wetherspoons review

      Jul 30, 2021 - Bar Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      its great working in a team, i REALLY ENJOY IT, its very great and its really fun on weekends. I have worked there for 1 year

      Cons

      Sometimes you have to work long hours and sometimes it can be very stressful dealing with all the drunk people

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Hard work but fun

      Jul 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made lots of friends and learnt a lot, it has a lot of benefits and the pay is good too.

      Cons

      its a lot of hard work, you actually have to enjoy talking to people and being around people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      review

      Aug 3, 2021 - Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      8 hours shifts, breaks, uniform provided, easy

      Cons

      intense, long hours, very busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Well paid

      Jul 30, 2021 - Kitchen Manager in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant company to work for, well paid and good communication , good training , head office staff approachable

      Cons

      Can be Stressful , late night , weekend , recruitment at the moment . Can't switch off at home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      J D Wetherpoon

      Aug 2, 2021 - Shift Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free shares program bonus scheme training internal progression/promotions

      Cons

      anti-social hours difficult customers hours are trade dependant if non salaried

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,688 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J D Wetherspoon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at J D Wetherspoon? Share Your Experiences

    J D Wetherspoon logo
    or