Glu Mobile Employee Reviews about "studios"

Updated 24 Feb 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile  President and CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Needs more communication between departments/studios(in 29 reviews)

  • "Upper management don't know what they are doing(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "studios"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A Brand New Glu"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New office, new CEO, new culture.. I read a lot of the older reviews and was initially concerned... but it appears the new management has learned from past mistakes and is keen on putting employees first. This means a beautiful new office, catered lunches (yum!) 4 days a week, lots of cool perks... It's an exciting time to be at Glu, and the feeling seems to be mutual across the office...

    Cons

    The previous model of acquiring studios would naturally have some issues, especially if the prior investors didn't take care of their employees during the transition. From what I've learned during my tenure, they're hoping to move away from that model and build studios internally in the new HQ... the partnership with Disney being an example. The company has been around for a while and surely has some baggage, but this recent shift seems like a fresh start... fingers crossed!

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-02-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Glu games are great, leadership are useless"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Game Artist in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots to learn from other studios if you can talk to them, culture open to sharing

    Cons

    Poor leadership of liveops team is making people quit, all the leads quit in one year!

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-02-16
  3. "Good place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Team Lead in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture is very good, specific and time-driven goals.

    Cons

    Needs more communication between departments/studios.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-12-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Glu Hyderabad a.k.a LiveOps Only Studio"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Great office space in Hyderabad • Relaxed work atmosphere • Great place for interns / junior developers due to LiveOps only development culture • Great for Artists not for other roles

    Cons

    • LiveOps only culture ( Hyderabad ). • Multiple Glu studios shutdown in 1 year. If a game doesn’t do well then company shuts down entire studio and it’s the norm for them. So be prepared to read “Subject : Closing XYZ Studio” from CEO every few months. • Hyderabad studio treated differently with less perks etc. compared to the rest of the offices ( Cost effective approach )

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-12-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    Great creative team, talented people.

    Cons

    Awful higher up decisions that led to the closure of other Glu mobile studios, putting tons of great people out of work

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-11-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate control causing a loss in revenue and team drive"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team was great Everyone worked well together Room for growth and improvement Preferred to hire from within the studio

    Cons

    Many studios have been shut down, mine included. Very unstable based off revenue and studio profit. Decisions from hire ups would cause loss of revenue/player retention and studios would be blamed.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-10-02

    Glu Mobile Response

    October 17, 2017CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. I acknowledge that we have been in a turnaround state, working through a lot of change. Even though this is the nature of gaming industry, we are working to pivot away from layoffs by investing our time and effort in more creative rapid prototyping initiatives and supporting all of our teams with the new strategy. Changing a culture and company construct takes time, but I am confident we can create a truly enduring company and great place to work.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great People Making a Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exquisite team of people, no matter which department you're in. Positive vibes all around, helpful colleagues, motivated people that love what they do. Fair pay, great benefits, fun perks and a growing sense of community. CEO seems to be really determined and passionate about what he's doing.

    Cons

    Occasionally some mild rivalry between studios and headquarters creep up. Could be avoided, we're all in this together. Free lunch would be rad.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-08-28
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Company on the rebound!?!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are smart and passionate about their work. There are a number of game and central teams that are talent dense that lay it on the line day in and day out. HR function is much improved even if a bit bloated.

    Cons

    Pendulum of control and C-Suite love has swung a bit too far toward game studios leaving central functions in eclipse. Glu is generally quite lean, both a good and bad thing. Folks on less glamorous teams can get strung out fighting fires, legacy systems, and processes. Particularly accounting and IT.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-08-05
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Appearances can be deceiving."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office location (close to BART, in the heart of the financial district), good benefits, lots of perks, events/outings.

    Cons

    Disclaimer: Glu was/is a large organization and each studio is different -- my opinions reflect my time in a leadership role at the San Francisco HQ in 2014 (when Niccolo De Masi was CEO). I can say, without any doubt, that joining Glu was the worst decision I ever made in my career. Within a week of arriving, our president of studios was let go, and 2-3 months later, many central roles were also cut (with no head's up or attempt to shift people to other roles within the org) -- apparently, re-orgs were quite common at Glu (I don't know if that's still the case). I also found Glu to be a highly political environment (departments within SF [but also studio vs. studio ] engaged in politics, jealousy, and backbiting) with non-existent leadership at the very top (De Masi was practically invisible; occasionally, he would make an appearance, usually at a monthly all-hands meeting). In person, he would come across as rude, arrogant, unfriendly. My interactions with studio heads themselves, however, were fairly positive. Recruiting had a strong presence but there was no HR leadership in SF at the time, which made for quite an unwelcoming experience.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-08-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great People, bad upper management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lot of amazing and talented people to work with. - Projects can be fun to work on. - Great location - Fun social/holiday events every year.

    Cons

    - Extremely poor upper management. Don't be surprised if your studio gets closed down and your jobs sent overseas because of their poor business decisions. - Pay could be much better. Negotiate hard for a good wage if you're considering working here, because you wont get a raise. Do not expect to ever get a bonus, unless you happen to be at their "current" top preforming studio or if you're in the upper management. - Glu's current strategy seems to buy studios, collect their IP's, is said studio isn't profitable in a year, close studio and send the IP overseas to India or Russia. Rinse and repeat.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-06-21
Found 34 reviews