Glassdoor Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 852 of over 932 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
232 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is strongly encouraged which is table stakes as a father with a young child(in 103 reviews)

  • "Great people ( They really are 'good eggs' in GD lingo)(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company has growing pains they are working out(in 49 reviews)

  • "None, good work life balance, freedom(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Glassdoor leads with transparency!

      Jul 12, 2022 - Senior Customer Success Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I genuinely enjoy my day-to-day job & coworkers - Glassdoor really encourages feedback. Taking it a step further, Glassdoor implements change directly from that feedback. I have never seen a company action feedback as quickly as Glassdoor! - Leadership cares about its employees & embodies transparency - The culture has remained strong even in a virtual world. The commitment to continuous D&I efforts is another strong pro of the company. - Good overall benefits package including unlimited PTO & monthly company holidays - I also appreciate how the company has responded to recent newsworthy events in support of our employees. It truly means a lot to me in turbulent times

      Cons

      - There can be delays due to internal system errors from time to time which can make tasks tedious at times - The partnership with Indeed has had growing pains, but I will say it seems that further integration will help ease some of that frustration

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Interim Head of CS

      Thank you for sharing your perspective as a Sr. CSM at Glassdoor! One thing that really sticks out to me is your experience with seeing that your feedback is not only heard, but actioned on. This means a lot as we do our best to listen through a variety of forums such as our bi-annual employee engagement survey, upward feedback, pulse check surveys, Fishbowl, etc. I'm also glad to hear you are experiencing a strong and positive culture despite being remote. This is not easy to do, so it's up to each of us to try new things, give feedback, and not settle for the status quo! As for what you've shared on challenges, we've definitely heard this around systems and admin linked to our partnership. Agreed that we are making progress with integrations and this will remain a focus on how we can minimize the pains here. Finally, I think what you share about growth paths for experienced CSMs is spot on as our CSM team has become more tenured in the past couple years. It's top of mind for our CSM leaders as we clarify competencies and differences in roles and levels, and ensure that our most senior team members feel they can continue to grow and expand their role. Thanks for sharing and being a part of the CS team! - Kira Dewey, Interim Head of CS

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best company I have ever worked for

      Sep 29, 2022 - Customer Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture I feel like I belong Great work/life balance Great benefits You can be your authentic self

      Cons

      Occasionally some long hours especially when back from holidays.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Ask Employees™

      Employee voice matters at Glassdoor.

      Agreed or Strongly Agreed:87%Polled:Sep 2022Responses:365 ResponsesResponses:365Audience:All employees
      Agree 174 (48%)
      Featured Employee Response

      At Glassdoor, the opinion of their employees is always taken into consideration and gives everyone a voice and platform to share what they are thinking.

      View All Polls
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Sales Culture

      Sep 20, 2022 - Employer Branding Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super laid back for Sales

      Cons

      Constant change but that is normal in Saas

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Sales

      Thanks for your feedback. I’m glad that you are part of our great sales culture. We have focused a lot on adaptability because of the frequent change that occurs within our SaaS business. It sounds like you’ve embraced change which is a terrific step toward success. I’m especially happy to learn that Management has done a good job of communicating changes. We try to keep our Sales Team informed and equipped but know we can always improve in this area. Thank you again for your hard work and for taking the time to share your perspective. Val Roush, VP of Sales

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing work culture and mission!

      Sep 20, 2022 - Vice President of Engineering in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic work culture, very collaborative, nice people! Great work life balance! Company cares about employee's well being. Remote first work policy, love that!

      Cons

      Opportunities in modernizing technology stack, causes friction in making progress.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Chief Technology Officer

      Thank you for your written review. I have been at Glassdoor for 9 months since I took on the role of CTO. I love Glassdoor for the same reasons you outlined in your review. It’s an amazing place to work with a great culture and mission. The people here are great and very collaborative. We care about our teams and we work hard to ensure we have strong policies to support every aspect of our work life balance. I also love the phase we are in. We are at a transformational moment. We are taking something that is great and building something even bigger and better. One important part of that transformation is the exact opportunity you called out, modernizing our tech stack. We have an aggressive multi-year strategy up level every layer of our tech stack, from the front-end apps, to apis and backend systems, to data pipelines and our platform. Not only is this an opportunity, it is also a great time to join and help transform Glassdoor from a great company to something even better. - Rodrigo Oliveira, Chief Technology Officer

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Brilliant, collaborative, fast-paced environment

      Sep 18, 2022 - Mid-Market Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a great company to work for and your manager really cares about you as a person. They want you to grow in the role and help foster the culture and share ideas on how to consult with clients better. They have brilliant senior leaders that have a clear vision for the long-term growth of the company both globally and in EMEA. The managers in the team are great to learn from and are some of the more patient managers I've ever worked with. Can't recommend this company enough, they definitely practice what they preach.

      Cons

      The systems can be a bit slow at times but that will be ironed out. Try and learn everything from the ground up and be patient with yourself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Go-to-Market

      Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. We are thrilled to have you a part of Glassdoor! We've spent a lot of time building a strong leadership group in the EMEA region and it's incredible to hear that you're experiencing this first hand. We still have a lot to learn and growing pains will come and go, but if folks can take your advice to lean in, ask for help and share what's working, I'm certain that the EMEA region will continue to win! - Brett Runyan, VP of Go-to-Market

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Get What You Give

      Aug 26, 2022 - Enterprise Employer Branding Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here are everything; I've never met a coworker I haven't gotten along with. You can ask anyone questions and they are happy to help. No micromanaging, flexible hours/ remote work environment, and opportunities to grow when you put in the work!

      Cons

      You have to wear a lot of hats in this role. There are no "slow" days and there is always something more you could be doing. Days are filled with meetings, so it's often necessary to log on in the evening to catch up on emails/ admin work. Most reps do not hit quota and are not paid out 100%.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Interim Head of Sales

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide your valuable feedback. I am grateful for you and the hard work you’re doing to grow our business. It’s obvious that you care about and genuinely like your coworkers recognizing the genuine, kind people that we have here at Glassdoor, yourself included. We have worked hard this year as we’ve expanded our sales team. We are listening to the challenges you face and want to create impactful in-person and remote learning opportunities so that we can all grow together and succeed. Our sales leaders are focused on ensuring that you have the tools and resources needed for success without micromanaging, balancing the resources and autonomy our smart, driven people desire. You’re right, “putting in the work,” is key and we’ve seen a number of internal promotions this year by people who leaned in, learned, and worked hard to achieve. We have asked a lot of our sales team this year and you are wearing many hats. It was our goal to decrease the amount of non-sales activities expected, but we have not accomplished it, nor have we given up. Please know, that I am keenly aware of the problem and am committed to working with your leaders and our cross functional partners to improve the areas of frustration that are impeding success. I am listening and working hard to make change that will have positive impact. We may not be able to resolve all of the issues, but we will work diligently to reduce distractions such as billing problems. The pace is fierce in Glassdoor Sales and we do not experience much slow time, but we do want you to have time to breathe and enjoy your personal life. To create more space in the day, perhaps there is an opportunity for you to speak with your manager, or to me about how we can support you in prioritizing and perhaps decreasing meeting expectations. Finally, though there are Reps who do not hit quota and do not receive 100% of their pay-out, there are many reps who are exceeding their sales targets and receiving generous payouts as a result. As the Interim Head of Sales, I want to see more of our Salespeople exceed their sales goals which is why I am grateful to know about the obstacles you face. Thank you again for your candor and your hard work. Please reach out to me directly on Slack or by email, valerie.roush@glassdoor.com if there is more I can do to support you. - Val Roush, Interim Head of Sales

    8. University | Division of Glassdoor
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Collaborative Environment

      Aug 16, 2022 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working here, it's the best job I've had. It's great to work somewhere where your manager wants you to succeed, and the environment is supportive, curious, and open-minded. The work is complicated and can be very difficult so you will grow here. Of course, great benefits and pay transparency helps too.

      Cons

      People are very focused on their work here so you may need to reach out yourself to make connections with others. That said, everyone is friendly and helpful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Engineering

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Glassdoor. There are few things better to hear than "it's the best job I've had". We are really proud of the company and culture that we've built here at Glassdoor and it's great to hear your positive feedback. - Shane O'Grady, VP of Engineering

    9. Tech | Division of Glassdoor
      4.0
      Current Employee

      Meaningful mission and authentic people

      Aug 29, 2022 - Lead Product Designer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is really bought into the mission.

      Cons

      Comp and pay are a bit on the lower end of the industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Product Design

      Thank you for your feedback and for your contributions to our mission to deliver design as a competitive advantage here at Glassdoor. I love to hear the sentiment that, "everyone is really bought into the mission," and I'm focused on working to deliver on that mission, every day. As for competitive pay, I agree we have an opportunity to lead here but I wouldn't necessarily say we are on the, "lower end," in regards to our total pay competitiveness. We offer all Design positions, including entry-level roles, a total comp package comprising base pay, bonus and RSUs with annual refreshers. In my view, the industry is going through a significant comp transformation, driven by newly acquired access to remote-only roles that were historically location-specific to SF/NY in markets and now available to all markets. This is driving a shift in pay expectations and what competitive means. Regardless of where we might each rate our compensation today, I agree we can do more and are committed to ensuring we have everything top Design talent needs to feel like they've found the company and job they love. Thank you sincerely again for the feedback and continue to hold us accountable to delivering on our expectations. - Eric Breier, VP of Product Design

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture - but sales rep are not prepared for success

      Aug 18, 2022 - Account Manager, Upper Mid Market 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Glassdoor is one of the best companies I have ever worked for culture, D&I, and benefit wise.

      Cons

      But in regards to overall sales experience, I have had a below average experience: - base+OTE is on lower side - poor sales process post close (lost of internal cases/billing) + tons of account transitions (hard to build relationship) -due to the amount of account transitions - you will lose your big accounts all the time. -will receive quarterly quotas halfway through the quarter (you will be selling blind for half of the quarter) -Monthly contests only yield max 500-1000$ extra -no onboarding/training -hiring managers that have no experience selling product or tools -have to renew clients with less than 15/30 days notice or it will negatively affect your commission. Leadership does not set reps up for success, they actually have their reps start in a whole every quarter, due to account transitions.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Interim Head of Sales

      Thank you for taking the time to provide candid feedback on your Glassdoor experience. Though I’m glad you find our culture, D&I, and benefits great, I’m sorry to hear that your sales experience has not been positive. You are correct that we had a significant increase in hiring this year while concurrently building our world-class Revenue Enablement Team. As a result, much of our learning modules and training were not ready when our new hires “arrived.” You’ll be glad to know that with our new Enablement Team in place we have corrected this issue and now offer new hires a strong, methodical onboarding experience. In addition, we have hosted in-person and online team meetings and ongoing training to upskill reps in sales, sales tools, industry knowledge, communication, paths to success, and more. We are offering some courses to Reps hired before this programming was in place in order to prepare the UMM team universally for success. We are in a unique place with account transitions, but as you’ve learned, we are implementing a new process that will enable you to have your book for an entire quarter. --And though there is a challenge when you’re not able to build long-term relationships with all of your customers, the process we have in place enables a significant volume of inbound leads to help increase your opportunity to grow your business and experience success. Most sales reps find inbound leads a great advantage and I hope that you will too. Our sales expansion this year has been intentional and is in no way intended to prevent anyone from success or hide the challenges we face. We hired more people this year in order to decrease book loads of our sales reps in response to their requests and of course to grow our business. Unfortunately, it sounds like you have been caught in the worst part of the growing pains. As we continue to refine our processes and training, I see improvement and am confident in better days ahead. You have a top-notch leadership team with individuals who have been promoted from sales and understand what you face. They are advocating for you and I will continue to listen, prioritize and act. In closing, I want to address your compensation concerns. As you know, Glassdoor is committed to salary transparency and our ranges are published. Though our compensation may not be the highest, it is competitive and Sales Reps that exceed quota are well-rewarded. In addition, we offer contests on occasion to encourage friendly competition and make work fun. Some individuals enjoy these initiatives and welcome the rewards, even when they are on the modest side. We will continue to evaluate what we can offer as a means to further motivate our teams, but it’s important to remember that these incentives are additive. Thank you again for your candor. Take heart that we are and will continue to listen and are committed to improvement. If you’d like to chat, feel free to contact me by Slack or by email at valerie.roush@glassdoor.com. - Val Roush, Interim Head of Sales

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work at!

      Aug 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I miss the days working at the Mill Valley office. People are nice. Leadership is transparent.

      Cons

      not data driven; hard to grow a career here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Internal Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving a review! I'm glad to read your experience has been great overall. Our Mill Valley HQ gave us lots of amazing memories, but we're excited about the opportunities that a brand-new office space in the heart of San Francisco offers. If you haven't had the chance, I hope you'll stop in to see it! Regarding your feedback about career growth, I will pass your feedback along to our Career Development team, who are working to enhance and redesign how we think about long-term career growth at Glassdoor. - Mark Batke, Internal Employer Brand Manager

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 852 Reviews

    Glassdoor Reviews FAQs

    Glassdoor has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 932 reviews left anonymously by employees. 84% of employees would recommend working at Glassdoor to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Glassdoor employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Glassdoor. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

    84% of Glassdoor employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Glassdoor 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Glassdoor Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Glassdoor? Share Your Experiences

    Glassdoor logo
    or