Games Workshop Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Games Workshop Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Games Workshop CEO Kevin Rountree (no image)
Kevin Rountree
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "if you enjoy this hobby it is a great job to have(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great people, good compensation(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management will only help those who they deem worthy of it(in 11 reviews)

  • "Not really any cons, even if you are not into the hobby they are still a great employer(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere and work conditions.

    Cons

    Sales environment always keep you on your toes

    Games Workshop2018-01-17
  2. "Hardwork is rewarded and so is passion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting and growing company that values its people as well as profits.

    Cons

    Not everyone works as hard as others. This can be frustrating when you meet them.

    Advice to Management

    Recruit better managers for the long term benefit of the company.

    Games Workshop2019-10-03
  3. "The good the bad and the ugly!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Oh, Games Workshop. Staff are often quite quirky and friendly. There is a real sense of family at GW, with many staff staying for years. The company is generous in terms of benefits and the canteen is superb, having just undergone a refurbishment.

    Cons

    Management often have no experience or knowledge of their profession, being hired for fit over skill. Sometimes this leads to a gross misunderstanding of what can be achieved. Siloed structure. Even within departments, job roles can be quite misunderstood by colleagues so available tools and resource can be underutilised by different teams. This is mostly offset by the fact you can't really stay annoyed at people... because they're generally lovely if a bit daft.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to solutions offered and facilitate employees to action them.

    Games Workshop2019-09-29
  4. "A tale to the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop

    Pros

    The help you with the recolocation and it is a really good job to increase your communication, negotiation and sales skills. Also they do an amazing induction for the new starters and the team is international

    Cons

    Thought job... like really really thought, you will have to give the 100% from the beginning and keep improving.

    Games Workshop2019-07-24
  5. "Global family business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Niche business, vertically integrated and unique culture

    Cons

    Local implantation worldwide without a global structure - too UK centred

    Games Workshop2019-05-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work for this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Games Workshop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, fantastic benefits. That's it.

    Cons

    Management is full of deceitful people who set you up to fail. They will fire employees with very little reason, and will smile at you in the face while they stab you in the back. Do NOT trust any of the employees. It is a company built on the idea that if you are not a good fit, you are not worth keeping. They are obsessed with everything but work performance. If they don't deem you worthy of the Games Workshop... name they will make up reasons to get rid of you. Wouldn't recommend working here to my worst enemy. Was a long time fan of their products, and now the very thought of anything with their company logo on it makes me sick to my stomach. DO NOT TAKE THIS JOB.

    Show More
    Games Workshop2019-05-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Paying job but that's it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Account Developer in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Games Workshop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, constant day, great benefits

    Cons

    Started to feel like a cult, management are shady, I was let go out of nowhere, my account base that I was given was bull crap, workers are fake, felt like I was set up for failure from the jump, no real advancement....

    Advice to Management

    provide better training , don't give a new employee accounts from veteran employees, be fare across the boars, don't be shady

    Games Workshop2019-04-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time

    Pros

    GW is a unique and quirky place to work. Managers want to support their staff and there are lots of opportunities to develop and progress. GW has a very diverse workforce allowing fora variety of experience and insight.

    Cons

    Needs to catch up with being a big business. Some senior managers are very stuck in their ways.

    Games Workshop2019-03-10
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Games Workshop full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and a general sense of camaraderie

    Cons

    Nothing that is relevant to Games Workshop alone

    Games Workshop2018-10-18
  10. "Fun place to work for hobby enthusiasts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Hobby Assistant in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends

    I worked at Games Workshop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly training involving customer service, sales, the companies products etc. Often conducted in the form of role playing exercises. Co-workers were nice and shared similar interests. Often spent time together after work as well.

    Cons

    Weekly training was unpaid for part timers. At peak times it could feel like the store was understaffed.

    Games Workshop2018-08-28
Found 109 reviews