Finn Partners Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 179 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Finn Partners Founding Partner Peter Finn
Peter Finn
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing talent and leadership, senior management truly cares about employees, their well-being and promotes a healthy work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Interesting clients and great teams(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Severe work-life balance issues(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours, work-life balance, a lot of accounts(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best PR agency I've worked for

      Dec 3, 2020 - Senior Account Executive in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing talent and leadership, senior management truly cares about employees, their well-being and promotes a healthy work-life balance. Plenty of opportunities to grow in different sectors of PR

      Cons

      Complex corporate structure and can sometimes make career advancement, promotions, etc more difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      They don't care about their employees

      Aug 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room to grow, reputable agency, nice junior coworkers

      Cons

      Unfortunately the more senior coworkers are the issue. Management just simply doesn't dedicate time to listening, teaching training, or even just hearing feedback. Multiple employees complained about essentially working 2 jobs, nights, weekends, etc. and managers never act on it or seem to do anything to help. Really terrible work life balance, and managers dont care.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great agency to learn and grow your career!

      Jun 30, 2020 - Associate Vice President in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Variety of solid long-term clients, lots of opportunities to gain PR experience and move up quickly, great agency with PTO benefits/perks, management team that cares about junior staff, the team supports work/life balance

      Cons

      Your experience can vary greatly based on your accounts and manager - some corners of the agency are much better than others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work Hard. Play Nice. Make a Difference.

      Jun 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Feels like a family - Supportive management - Encouragement to explore, develop, grow, and be creative - Passionate people who love what they do - Excellent work/life balance

      Cons

      I have no cons to report

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good Growth Opportunity for Those in Early Career Stages

      Apr 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good breadth of experiences in several different sectors. Great opportunity for advancement.

      Cons

      Severe work-life balance issues. Teams were often understaffed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, Great clients, PTO policy

      Cons

      Long hours, work-life balance, a lot of accounts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      A Solid Agency for Starting Your Career

      Aug 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The agency tends to speak in hyperbole about its values, but at the core, there are some really wonderful people, but respect for work-life balance is really dependent on the individual team. I was lucky to benefit from what I'd almost call "extreme" flexibility. With autonomy comes great responsibility, but it's worth it if you're interested in growing your career in an agency setting.

      Cons

      It's hard, I think, in many of the groups, to truly become an expert. In many ways, the account teams play a highly tactical role in support clients' needs, versus strategic support and counsel based on industry expertise. There's growth opportunity for salary and title, but not a lot of emphasis is placed on actual growth and evolution of competencies. The company is trying hard to figure out the role that acquisitions play with the core agency, especially as they rebrand into a broader marketing and comms agency. This is all good on paper, but much of the company still approaches the business from a PR perspective.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Turn and Run

      Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Genuinely nice people. The best hours and work/life balance imaginable.

      Cons

      - There is zero office culture across the board. Each office (with the exclusion of NY) might have its own bit of culture but that's fully dependent on the agency it was BEFORE being acquired by FP. - There is zero integration on newly (or previously) acquired agencies. They all just keep action as they did prior to the merger - There is no accountability for profitability, meaning that over service runs rampant. It is a completely top line driven agency, meaning that there is constant pressure on new biz wins and no focus on being a better partner to the client. Just say yes, no matter what the best approach would be - The CEO has no idea how to run an agency. He only knows how to quickly and effectively make money for the founders of Finn Partners. - Sitting in a meeting with the Founding Managing Partners is like being at another family's holiday dinner. Moments of interesting conversation but mostly just sitting there feeling awkward, watching them bicker amongst themselves without coming to any conclusions and thanking your lucky stars that they aren't YOUR family.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Finn Partners Response

      Human Resources

      Response from Peter Finn - Out of respect for people’s feelings and their right to express a point-of-view, we rarely respond to postings on Glassdoor. This case is an exception. Given its content, I know the writer is a former senior administrative employee who was terminated. This review is filled with untruths and diminishes FINN employees, and therefore I must respond. 1) Finn Partners has been named a “Best Place to Work” by the Holmes Report based on feedback received in its survey of our employees, and the results of our annual employee surveys and low employee turnover rates speak to a vibrant and healthy office culture. As the employee who wrote this review never visited most of our offices, it is hard to see how he can offer an informed opinion. And in fact, seven of our offices didn’t even originate from an acquisition. 2) Acquisitions are one important part of our strategy to grow and strengthen our practices areas and build market share where we have offices, and also to enter new geographies. It also has been a vital source of new talent for our agency – talent that has thrived in our collaborative culture. 3) We sometimes over service accounts when we believe it is in the agency’s long-term interest or if we want to invest in the client’s objectives. As a result of placing clients first, our client retention rates are high, as are our levels of client satisfaction. 4) Our rapid growth, the team we have assembled, the many clients we serve, and the many awards we have won since our launch all speak to our management’s ability to build a successful agency. Financially, we have a demonstrated, ongoing commitment to treating our employees fairly. 5) I assure Glassdoor readers that our Founding Managing Partner group is very united. Actions speak louder than words - on average the Founding Managing Partners have worked together for more than 20 years, and no Founding Managing Partner has left the company since inception. Together, we have guided the growth of Finn Partners to be among the top five independent agencies and among the top 25 PR agencies globally. The author of the Glassdoor post was not a Founding Managing Partner, but in the spirit of transparency was invited to sit in on our meetings because of the individual’s senior role in administration. This employee knows that making Finn Partners a best place to work and building an environment in which careers are nurtured and advanced is important to me and is a core agency value. We take Glassdoor feedback to heart. I care very deeply about colleagues’ feedback. It is always welcome and is heard with an open heart. Unfortunately, it is clear from the response that this employee did not share our priorities and our values. Peter Finn

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard Work

      Jan 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Exposure to a variety of clients - Work with colleagues of all levels from day one - Great location on Michigan Ave (Chicago office)

      Cons

      - No work/life balance - Poor compensation for junior staff members - No flexibility to work from home

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      Dec 1, 2016 - Events Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The CEO and entire management team are fully committed to making Finn Partners the best place to work. It is a very employee centric culture where managers do their best to guide you and give you the chance to do better even if you make mistakes. They respect work life balance.

      Cons

      They could be a bit more creative in their work and offer more out of the box thinking for their clients.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Finn Partners Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Finn Partners? Share Your Experiences

    Finn Partners logo
    or