Fancy Hands Employee Reviews about "many tasks"

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 193 reviews

2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Fancy Hands Founder & CEO Ted Roden & Joshua Boltuch (no image)
Ted Roden & Joshua Boltuch
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've stayed with them for so long because I get to work from home which is so convenient, while earning money and helping to raise my daughter(in 52 reviews)

  • "I have worked for Fancy Hands for almost 8 years(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some clients can be rude and have unrealistic expectations of what can be done in 20 minutes (1 task)(in 34 reviews)

  • "I think some assistants come to Fancy Hands expecting to make full-time wages but let's be honest - that's not possible(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "many tasks"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Freelancer

      Nice work-at-home job

      17 Jul 2019 - Virtual Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home Choosing which tasks to take on based on your strengths, abilities

      Cons

      Pay could be better Work and pay amount depends on number of clients and how many tasks they submit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Rude and Nasty to Assistants, Extremely Low Pay for Excessive Expectations

      2 May 2019 - Assistant in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty much nothing. All of the pros get destroyed by the lousy pay and organization.

      Cons

      I tried this because I was hoping to make a few extra bucks on the side from home while running my small business. I was drawn in by the promise of at least $3 for every 20 minutes of work (so $9/ hr) for relatively simple tasks and no need to drive into the office. I have multiple years of experience as a project manager, researcher, and office troubleshooter, so I thought this would be easy money for someone with my background. It turns out that the $9/hr is only if the managers decide that they think you worked hard enough or not. They can basically just tell you to keep working if you inform them that you need more time on a task and they don't believe that you put enough effort in. Tasks are generally worth way more effort than a lousy $3 for 20 minutes in the first place, but it's made worse by the fact than so many tasks will require way more than 20 minutes to complete and there is no built in time-tracking. to protect the assistant On average, I'm putting in 2-3 X that much time and still got a rude and nasty comment about my effort from a manager. Mentors either don't know what they're doing or are intentionally picking on new assistants about non issues. I've only been at this for 2 days and am already fed up with the attitude toward new assistants. The guideline and time requirements are somehow simultaneously horribly disorganized and too strict. There is no room to delay tasks for reasonable cause (like waiting for a third party quotation) and tasks randomly reopen (leaving it vulnerable for another assistant to take and get paid) for things like the client saying thank you. The field guide is a hot mess of contradictory and incomplete information and the assistant forum gets a new post about once a year. The promise to "work whenever you want" is completely bogus because, once you open a task, you are basically on call 24/7 due to the way the system manages time delays and allows the client to keep coming back and reopening the task as much as they want. By the time you do the initial work and then keep coming back to answer questions, ask manager questions, etc, etc., you're probably going to put in at least an hour for every $3 task and have to plan your whole life around it while you do it. Then get treated like crap by a manager on top of it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Work in your jammies, but don't expect to get paid a lot.

      29 Apr 2016 - Virtual Assistant in Kennett Square, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work your own schedule. Make your own hours. Interesting clientele.

      Cons

      Pay. You are supposed to be working a 'task' for 20 minutes, the pay is about $2.75 for those 20 minutes. It takes a long time to get 'mentor approval' which drags out and you are only allowed to work so many tasks at a time. So if you want to make money, it may not be the best bet. I am going to give it a little longer, in hopes of learning to be more efficient. Maybe then I can make more?

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Contractor

      Horrible Company-Low Pay for Hard time consuming tasks

      26 Jul 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pros. Terrible Job. Hard impossible tasks which are usually always rejected by client.

      Cons

      Terrible job. This is ONLY for very minimal extra cash at best. Dont expect to be able to pay any bills with this job. Tasks pay $3 and that is it. It doesnt matter if on the phone for 2 hours for the client. You can submit to management for more $ from client but dont expect them to approve it. The tasks are the dirty work most people dont want to do. Call around find 3 Contractors near my home that will install an new exterior door for less than $100. Ya...Impossible, then when u do submit the task as "Completed" the client will reject your work and kick it back at which point you can either choose to continue working on it more or let another tasker pick it up and finish it but then you get paid $0.00 for the work you have already done on it...oh, and once client rejects it you have 8 Hours to do more work or its automatically kicked back into pool for other taskers to take & complete. Its a joke. If you like working for free...go for it. They will "Terminate" you and lock you out of system if you get to many tasks kicked back into the pool....Dont waste your time. Plenty of real paying jobs out there for a lot less work than these "Tasks" require.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      If you need some pocket change

      22 Mar 2016 - Fancy Hands Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The upside is you can work whenever you want and choose your tasks. Choose wisely or the task will continue to grow.

      Cons

      What many clients, and some of the mentors, consider to be a 20 minute task borders on the absurd. Many tasks are not clearly defined. Asking a question opens the door to rude responses from some clients as well as mentors. If you have a robot-like work style you may break through a minimum wage income with the expectation you supply professional level service typically expected of Business & Marketing MBA educated personnel. Today I received a re-opened task from December 2015 (3 months ago) with the client asking for additional help. I politely responded and asked the client to open a new task at 8:30 AM this morning. Now at 5 PM and three mentor responses later I have not resolved this. This craziness is not uncommon.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love working for Fancy Hands, Great way to earn money

      17 Mar 2015 - Virtual Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can work whenever I want (my pick out of 24/7, there is no schedule what so ever), I can work wherever I want (I have done tasks while in the restroom on my smart phone :D), there are several times when I will finish a $2.75 - $3.65 task in under 10 minutes (you do the math on how much that is per hour- pretty amazing), it's a growing company with much to look forward to, as it continues to develop and become larger. (IN RESPONSE TO SOME OF THE RIDICULOUS NEGATIVE REVIEWS) Let me just say that I was completely blown away by some of the reviews that I've read- I can't imagine how/why they feel the way that they do. The only thing that I can think of is that these people are one of the below: confused about the appropriate time to take on tasks and don't realize that assistants are ONLY SUPPOSED TO WORK 20 MINUTES on a task- if the work is expected to be longer, you write a note to the manager and they pay you more by making it a large task, new and don't know the basic 'ins and outs' of how to navigate Fancy Hands.. For people who think that the compensation should be that of a prestigious career that will be able to solely support you and all of your expenses (without any help from others), this is not the case unless you work full time, with the same hours as you would work a regular real life (not comfy in your PJ's from home) job. I work TWO DAYS or less a week and make $150- $200 (sometimes more) from these two days or less weekly. If you work "all day" (lets say 9-5) and don't make at least $50, than you are missing something..

      Cons

      There aren't really any cons. If I had to pick a con, I'd say that it is sometimes a bummer when another assistant beats me to claiming a ridiculously awesome/easy task- which is another thing that assistants need to learn how to take control of- it is absolutely essential that you have the gmail chat instant updates on when a new task comes in, if you don't you won't get as many tasks and you won't get the amazingly easy ones, perhaps this is where the negative comments are rooted from, because if you don't have this setup you don't make anywhere near the amount that you do with it setup.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Be careful what tasks you take!

      8 Sep 2015 - Assistant in Aubrey, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, self-paced, ability to choose what type of tasks you want to do, work as much or as little as you like

      Cons

      Low pay, many tasks will take longer than the allotted time, can be very stressful to work with certain managers/mentors

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      "Clients" Need to Adjust Expectations

      12 Jan 2016 - Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can work remotely, perfect if you're bored and/or wanting some extra cash, some tasks DO only take 15-20 minutes and are great for quick cash (although these are truthfully few and far between)

      Cons

      Rates for tasks are often comically low, especially considering that many "clients" literally ask you to do their actual jobs for them. For example, many tasks ask assistants to perform in-depth research, complete with follow-up phone calls and detailed information for 30+ items. For $2.65, such a task isn't really worthy anyone's time. Many of these requested tasks, if done well, would take hours, if not days. Additionally, the "queue" for assistants is SUPER glitchy and unorganized. Some "clients" spam the requests like crazy, and the infrastructure in place to hide tasks you are't interested in taking on doesn't work properly.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      Good place to work with

      12 Apr 2015 - Independent Consultant in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Set your hours; decide what type of work you want to do; decide where you want to work (home office, kitchen table, coffee shop, beach). Work as much or as little as your want. Learn new skills while helping clients all around the world.

      Cons

      Not always as many tasks available as one would like.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Work at Fancy Hands? Share Your Experiences

    Fancy Hands logo
    or