Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Facebook Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3770 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
2832 Ratings
Pros
  • "culture, free food, transparency respect(in 302 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 251 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time

    Pros

    Open and exciting. Engineering oriented. Good peers. Good tools. Good benefits.Open and exciting. Engineering oriented. Good peers. Good tools. Good benefits.

    Cons

    You need to be very social. Different teams are very different. Your manager decides your performance.

    Advice to Management

    Some people are really hard to work with. It is really hard to survive at Facebook if your manager does not like you much.

    Facebook2017-12-13
  2. "Company is going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, fancy office environment

    Cons

    Cost cutting, cannot see the future, staff don't trust each other

    Facebook2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Serious problems ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time

    Pros

    Good standard perks, things are moving fast

    Cons

    The company is arguably way in over its head with the issues that it has to tackle. Slow to react to major problems and unnecessary infighting. Beyond the gloss of the brand, there is a lot of ugliness beneath. Avoid if possible.

    Facebook2019-03-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I didn't expect that"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not very political compare to other advertising company. Paid is very good, easy to reach quota, growing business in greater china, amazing benefits and great CEO. Great outlook to the business, but need to carefully select team and focus market.

    Cons

    Hong Kong office culture, and team culture. Over controlling of employees actions... surprisingly, no one speaks English at office because 65% of employees are from China, and 30% Hong Kong. Hard to perform and compete with mainland colleagues because they are good at sucking up and aggressive. At meetings, always need to compete to share things that are meaningless to everyone, and raise your hands as much as possible....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve culture and provide care to ethic minority at office. Be open and honest, and do not only listen to managers. You know our culture is bad, and many people are unhappy at work. Too many people needs use time and energy to act happy. Waste of time, not efficient.

    Facebook2017-06-29
  5. "the best company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    high income, good work and life balance

    Cons

    lack of promotion opportunities and time

    Facebook2017-04-27
  6. Helpful (13)

    "China and local culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Solutions Manager in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meals benefits and insurance is offered to employee. Standard is higher than what the market is offering in China. They also hired a lot of smart peopple.

    Cons

    Very political environment. Promotion favours people that is close with management, a lot of pleasing work needs to be done everyday. Hong kong employee get revenged after sharing real feedbacks at employee surveys. Also, CSM works much harder than CP, no one dare to complain, because afraid get revenged .

    Advice to Management

    Allow employee share more feedbacks

    Facebook2016-12-18
  7. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook

    Pros

    Amazing place to work for, will definitely work for again!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Facebook2016-07-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Client Solution Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    great environment, lots of things to learn, growing really fast

    Cons

    very high pressure, very high standard, not many chance for contractors, bad arrangement when the team get bigger and bigger

    Facebook2015-11-23
  9. Helpful (355)

    "Fast paced company with high expectations, but incredibly fair. You won't a place that cares more about it's people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Excellent compensation that rewards strong performance - Lots of autonomy - Tons of room for growth - Very transparent from the top down - Strong leadership - Intelligent and caring colleagues - The most fair and well thought out review process you will find everywhere - Exciting work

    Cons

    - If you don't learn to make the work life balance work for you, it can be exhausting. But you'll also be given lots of support with this if you ask for it. - It doesn't matter how good you are at your job, chances are you're going to be surrounded by a ton of other people who are just as good if not better. Imposter syndrome is real, but if you got an offer, you probably belong here too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, keep an eye on employee burnout, keep supporting your people and keep pushing them, and the rest of the world, forward.

    Facebook2017-02-17

    Facebook Response

    April 17, 2017Director, Global Recruiting Programs and Operations

    Thank you for the feedback. From the Life@ benefits and conveniences to the many employee affinity and advice groups, we are all here to support you. If you need additional help, please reach out to your HR Business Partner.

  10. Helpful (403)

    "Pleasantly Surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Selection Program Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    I'm a 55 year old working in a company where the average age is 28, and I've never been happier. I have always wanted to work in a company where I wasn't the proverbial square peg, and after nearly 30 years in the work force, I believe that I have found the company that complements my ideology for how a company should operate. Here are the "Pros" as I see them... - Leadership: Mark Zuckerberg, Sheryl Sandberg, Chris...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any tech company, the work is big and complicated so work/life balance can suffer from time to time. The difference is that it's the passion within the individuals that drives them to work long hours and forego time off. Of course there can be times when schedule demands force the imbalance, but it's not such that 10-12 hours days become commonplace and expected regardless. We do what we do to get the job done; no...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and fight hard to not be complacent. I believe that humility is the key so don't ever lose that thinking. Your motives will always be suspect, but if you're able to look in the mirror everyday and know that your motives are pure, that's all that matters. Walking the talk is the best evidence there is.

    Facebook2016-02-17

    Facebook Response

    March 31, 2016Your Friends at Facebook

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. We believe our mission-driven community is special, and bringing together people with different backgrounds to work on challenging problems makes us better.

Found 3770 reviews