Europcar Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Europcar CEO Caroline Parot  (no image)
Caroline Parot
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "I didn’t have any previous experience in car rental but the training and support you get is second to none(in 7 reviews)

  • "Smart & Supportive workforce; Good and varied challenging work; Very good work-life balance; Lots of opportunity to grow / progress your career(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, lack of vehicles and complicated commission structure(in 16 reviews)

  • "Poor management, lack of organisation above(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, management, salary, shift pattern, team

    Cons

    Late shifts, no weekend off, no holidays, stressful

    Europcar2020-04-26
  2. "Europcar"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Europcar full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for, commission

    Cons

    A lot expected of you

    Europcar2020-04-16
  3. "good job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tyne and Wear in Northampton, England

    I worked at Europcar full-time

    Pros

    good pay for the work that you do

    Cons

    bad management is really terrible

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-03-14
  4. "Looking for a career in slave labour? Apply here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Are you mad? No pros to this company.

    Cons

    Firstly, people with children are above everyone in the workforce, if you don’t have children you will be used and abused, you will be expected to work every given holiday eg. Christmas Eve, St Stephens day, New Year’s Eve, New Years Day, as long term/foreign staff get priority on holidays. Second, management doesn’t know the meaning of “work/life balance”. Management in Cork airport was extremely poor, the manager needs a major retrain! Third, certain staff have been there so long that they feel superior to others - reality check, you’re working in a dead end job in an airport, get a grip! Forth, you’d have to be there 15 years to climb up any sort of ladder and trust me it’s a short ladder! Fifth, in terms of sales and upgrades, this company is money hungry. They give great recognition to staff that clearly rob customers and expect the same performance from all staff across the board regardless of location and clientele. If you’re a sales person I would recommend staying out of car rental altogether as most companies seem similar.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-04-08
  5. "Not a good place to work"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Driving the cars itself is a pro.

    Cons

    PAY The Greenway system is specifically designed to make it impossible to do your job effectively. The people above you are bonused on your performance, meaning they put pressure on you for their own gain. The pay.... Is incredibly bad. Minimum wage for the service agents... A pittance more for office staff.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-02-28
  6. "Unscrupulous and illegal sales techniques"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Desk in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff and management were quite decent to employees

    Cons

    The sales techniques employed to up-sell are completely immoral and in some cases completely illegal.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-02-23
  7. "Nice place to work. Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Company Driver in Leicester, England

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    salary should be a lot higher for the work done

    Europcar2020-01-11
  8. "Thrown to the wolves unarmed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Station Manager in Alexandria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very kind, friendly and helpful colleagues throughout. Just as well since training is woefully inadequate. My staff were well trained and knew the systems and processes well. Middle managers were approachable and kind people. If you get a good station, you could have better opportunites than i did

    Cons

    The operating system is a bit ancient but you get used to it and it isn't a big deal. What is cumbersome and clunky is the policy sign-off processes. Especially when your multiple document scanner jams. There was some internal messaging and checklist program i never received training in but was expected to know. The location I was at was extremely busy, had a broken AC unit (hell on 40+days) , a broken safe, a roller door which stuck open and was a poorly-maintained basket case. These issues should have been remedied before I arrived and I guarantee my tenure would've ran more smoothly. At times, cars were locked in gates with no communication, resulting in a massive queue of irate customers. This unexpected pressure caused me to buckle and spilled into my home life. It was an absolute basket case and very little was done to alleviate the pressure of this. Furthermore, with an internal audit being conducted, i suddenly had a metric ton of documents foisted upon me with minimal instruction on how to do them. A second week of IT training for stuff like this would have mitigated this issue. The bottom line is i was expected to pick up too much on the go, under the worst possible circumstances. The audit should have been done prior to my arrival and resulted in a violation of my contract, which stated : you may be expected to work "reasonable" additional hours. I consider the odd half an hour or hour reasonable, but 3 additional hours on 2 consecutive days and an entire weekend day unpaid is not reasonable in my book. And they wonder why my morale plummeted after that. No penalty rates, dismal wage, car is a nice perk but they don't even cover tolls. I feel if training was a bit more intensive, a mentor program where a more experienced mentor spends a week with you, fix up the A/C for the well-being of customers, keep communications with extetnal organisations who handle gate locks, keep safe managed and don't overwhelm the new manager with workload and they just might have a fighting chance at making it. Empty promises that training in certain programs would be arranged, someone would come in to shadow me never materialised over my 7 week tenure, nor did my phone or uniform ever reach me. I feel disenfranchised and betrayed, but morale was so low that when my 3 month interview was fast tracked, being terminated was a mercy. A horrible experience. The consensus was that i wasn't the right person for the job but with the aforementioned issues, I never really had a fair chance. In all fairness many other staff were happy there and able to keep on top of things, though they had the benefit of years' worth of experience.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-02-04
  9. "My time at EuropCar"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Operations Intern in London, England

    I worked at Europcar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, always willing to help

    Cons

    Need more room for growth within the organisation

    Europcar2019-12-16
  10. "Poor management, toxic work environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Sales Agent in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Europcar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues, but that's it.

    Cons

    No support from managers, very busy call centre environment with a lot of pressure to meet all KPI's, that are nearly impossible to achieve. Strict rules around what you can and can't say to customers, though this isn't made clear until you'd already said it and lost your monthly bonus and opportunity to progress towards a payrise. Low wages for a stressful job. No change to progress to senior positions unless you are friends with current managers.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2019-12-11
Found 168 reviews