Empire Chicago, Inc Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Empire Chicago, Inc President  Mark Chern (no image)
Mark Chern
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Management trainee"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. It's called a consulting firm, but actually a sales agency. Well, there's no employee there......It's only called an agency

    Cons

    It's a scam! Stay away from it! No employees in this agency. It's actually door to door sales and no pay at all! They cheat you to work for them with no pay! And you have to sign some unfair agreements. It's a hell. Never go to Empire.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2016-08-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A company that scams and lures young graduates."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc

    Pros

    There is nothing great about this compay.

    Cons

    This company needs to be shut down for their recruitment practices. They will lie to you and say this is a face to face sales job, but they do not tell you that his is a door to door sales position. This means that they will drop you off in a random city and force you to walk miles going door to door middle of the day to sell green energy. This is a strictly commission-based job and you do not get any reimbursement for your personal vehicle. If you google this company you will see many complaints against their sales and hiring tactics. My first and only day on the job was one of the worst experiences of my life. The day started out by us doing a very odd game in the middle of the office to get the day started for sales. This is a very unprofessional way of doing business. As soon as we were done doing this game of charades I was given a partner that would shadow me for the day. I was never really told what the job was but that is my fault, because I should have seen this as a red flag. I was driven to an area and told I would have to walk door to door to sell green-energy to customers in order to make money. My partner knocked on people's doors and explained to the customers that we were there form the energy company to check the status of their bill and make sure they were switched over in order to save them money. This is a flat out lie because the energy company did not send us out there to check on them, but to sell them a product. Many people fell of this scram, and it was very sad to see this. I was yelled at, threaten that the cops would be called on us, and even worst. This is a door to door sales job with a company that has number of complaints against them. Do not work for them because putting this on your resume is only going to hurt your potential of finding a real job that will pay you number of benefits. They hire young grads who do not have any other option or understand what this company really is. Please take a moment and research this company who has changed their name number of times over the years, and you will find out the truth. If I can save one person from ruining their life than I did my job.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2016-06-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Team Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Empire Chicago, Inc

    Pros

    The information and education I've received from Mark and his team have been invaluable. I've really grown both professionally and personally. The job definitely isn't for everyone, but for those who are wanting to invest in their future now, then it's worth it. I'm glad I found a career I actually feel excited about!

    Cons

    Long hours, but worth it. I'd rather work hard now so I can enjoy my future later.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-10-05

    Empire Chicago, Inc Response

    December 8, 2015President

    Thanks for the kind words. We work hard to develop our employees, recognizing they enjoy learning new skills, and they benefit us by helping our company grow!

  4. "Gained experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think Empire was such a tremendous help to where I am now. I learned how to interview - I've never interviewed people. I learned how to train - I've trained people but never felt the recognition Empire gave me. I learned how to develop MYSELF and maintain MY attitude. Lastly, I learned SALES it's not as scary as people think.... and what I learned is that I could carry the sales in ANYTHING whether it's in my field of architecture, medical, at other customer service jobs, even in my personal life!!

    Cons

    downsides.... well there were days I didn't want to work as hard

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-10-02

    Empire Chicago, Inc Response

    December 8, 2015President

    Thanks, we listened to your advice and implemented an Office Competition this month for Bulls and Blackhawks tickets! The team is excited and performing well!

  5. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc

    Pros

    The people, management, and everyday is different. It's not your typical "do the same thing everyday thing." Fun environment while a professional edge

    Cons

    I had to actually perform to grow in the company. It's no seniority and my growth was a reflection of me

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-10-01

    Empire Chicago, Inc Response

    December 8, 2015President

    Thanks, we brought all of Management to Cancun, and will bring others that earn the trip as well!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Empire Chicago, Inc

    Pros

    Everyone is really fun and helpful. It is nice to have the ability to work with people who care about your success and work hard to help you achieve your goals. I am grateful to have the opportunity I do.

    Cons

    It is really hard work, some might think that's a con. I really like a challenge though so I think that as long as the outcome is worth the effort then it is okay.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-06-23

    Empire Chicago, Inc Response

    December 8, 2015President

    Good advice about breakfast! We put in maximum effort daily!

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Challenging job, but grew a lot"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Empire Chicago, Inc full-time

    Pros

    "You don't grow when inside your comfort zone." This career path definitely required me to commit to tasks outside my comfort zone; self-improvement is no easy task, but the lessons learned made it worth it.

    Cons

    The hours are long, and you really have to show full-time commitment to a full-time career growth if you're going to get something worthwhile out of it. The career path opportunity is better than the starting entry-level role, so you will want to not be stagnant, but definitely work harder to progress.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-04-14

    Empire Chicago, Inc Response

    December 8, 2015President

    Thanks for the feedback. We just changed our hours a bit to help employees!

  8. Helpful (10)

    "D2D Sales"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc full-time

    Pros

    Good place for sales focused careers

    Cons

    Deceptive hiring practices 100% commissions very little (read: no) compensation

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-04-24
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Customer Service/Sales"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Chicago, Inc

    Pros

    There are no Pro's. The company lied from the beginning.

    Cons

    I don't know about anyone else, but I hate being lied to. I was told in the phone interview that this was not a Commission job. That Empire hates the fact that there are so many marketing companies out there that claim to be Salary and Commission, but are really 100% Commission. As it turned out, Empire is no different. I work hard and generally I am a loyal employee but I refuse to go to 'work' for a company that won't give me a salary at least while I am being trained. It is a shame that companies like this 'scam' hard working people.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-05-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "If you're a go getter, there is no better place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Empire Chicago, Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is incredible. I'm surrounded by people who are highly motivating and supportive. There is an opportunity for unlimited growth both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    The environment is not suitable for the half-hearted or lazy. You have to be highly motivated and highly ambitious if you wish to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Empire Chicago, Inc2015-03-06
Found 17 reviews