Duedil Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Duedil Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Duedil CEO Justin Fitzpatrick (no image)
Justin Fitzpatrick
10 Ratings
  1. "Supportive and ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Before joining DueDil, I had received two job offers - I chose DueDil over the other company because during the interview process I sensed that the people were authentic, down-to-earth and had each other's backs and that's exactly how things have played out. In my own role I can say that the company has given me the opportunity to run with the ball and take on responsibilities outside of my initial remit. In... under a year I've gained a wealth of new experiences and had the opportunity to work with senior management and board members. Benefits are pretty standard, including free lunch on a Friday, Vitality healthcare etc. Six month probation period and three month notice period - but that seems to fairly common these days. Office closes over Christmas which is great, nothing worse than commuting in on the 27th December and being sent home at noon.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours are 9 to 6, but there's some flexibility (you won't have to beg for time off for a dentist appointment like some places). There's been a lot of changes in the company and things are moving fast which creates opportunities, but also raises expectations. Ambitious plans are good, but success always comes down to having the enough time and enough investment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work hard to retain the best people (I know it's not easy).

    Duedil2019-11-06
  2. "Not good in engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    location is good, lots of free food, but again that costs little money, work from home

    Cons

    Engineering in this company is in the hands of unexperienced people. Bad practices everywhere, poor choices. This is due to many in key positions that have been many years and are hard at changing or simply have no idea of how the job in done elsewhere. Technical direction at C and D levels is also poor and bad choices are taken. People leave and they take with them all knowledge of many custom made hacks that keep... everything running. Company is skint and does not spend much on the employees. They claim a lot of things, like a "generous learning budget", but it is peanuts and only enough to buy a couple of books or do a cheap online course. No bonuses, sometime they give a bonus in the form of an amazon gift card a hug and that's it! You have to be pretending all time enthusiasm in a 10 years old company/startup that always failed to break even and likely will never, if you don't then you're frown at. Stressful, because of poor organisation. Interview is smoke and mirrors, be very suspicious and careful. -- It is not a machine learning job --

    Show More
    Duedil2019-10-26
  3. "A very special place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Fantastic culture (feels like home/family) + Smart coworkers + Ambitious product + Steady CEO + Trusting senior management + Multiple people choose to come back and stay after career breaks (speaks to culture) + Strong, involved customer base

    Cons

    - You need to be up for the challenge of scale-up life (resilient) as things change/reshuffle often - Could pay better

    Duedil2019-09-19
  4. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    snacks, short commute, nice people

    Cons

    long working hours, high pressure

    Duedil2019-09-23
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture in the office - very friendly, unpretentious and warm environment. Great benefits and support from the management. Great place for personal and professional development; tonnes of opportunities to explore different areas of the business and get involved in exciting projects. Your work feels valued and rewarded.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of a startup there are areas lacking structure and protocols; however, this will come with time as the business grows. Working hours are quite long.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps reconsider the working hours, or at least for the summer period.

    Duedil2019-03-18
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and room to develop

    Cons

    Change in strategy came a little late in the game but it paid off and is selling very well.

    Duedil2019-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned more and grew more in my four years at DueDil than any other period of my life. I feel very fortunate to have been a part of such a driven, purposeful, capable, and growth-minded team. The opportunities presented and earned at DueDil changed the trajectory of my career and I will always be grateful for that. DueDil provides a results-oriented, meritocratic environment. With a necessary and meaningful... mission and a great product, DueDil is a great place to build your career. It's not easy, nor should it be, but the rewards are worth the effort. + Strong CEO and board leadership + Great personal growth opportunities + Opportunity for real impact + Fun, inspiring culture + Access to leadership and every part of the business + Learning and growth opportunities abound

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's a tough market to compete in, but that challenge (when approached with the right mindset and tools) leads to advanced personal and collective growth

    Advice to Management

    Maintain focus on building a 10x product. Protect and enhance the culture and distribution teams, but continue and accelerate the focus on the product.

    Duedil2018-12-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, despite constant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture are what make DueDil a great place to work. Comfortable and collaborative working environment with a great work-life balance, but everybody knows what needs to be done on a short, medium & long-term basis. Given more responsibility than I would have been given in the same role at other companies, with lots of opportunities for personal and professional development.

    Cons

    Occasionally over-promised and under-delivered, particularly with regards to progression. More responsibility within a role is great for development but should be rewarded with pay increases. As is the nature of any growth-stage business, there is constant change but it is not always managed and communicated properly; make sure to manage expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to be transparent and communicate change across the business, both good and bad. Be open about career progression and manage expectations from the beginning. The people and culture are what make the company what it is, so be careful not to lose that along the way.

    Duedil2018-09-11
  9. "Ambitious & purpose driven company with lots of talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    - The company is extremely purpose driven. There's a clear mission driving what they're building and it's one that deeply matters for the economy. - They're trying to solve challenging problems, which gives a lot of room for career growth and learning, especially for software engineering, data and product roles - The company really cares about the people working there and you will leave having made lasting... friendships - There's SO many smart, talented, hard working people at Duedil - CEO is a natural leader

    Show More

    Cons

    - The company was still finding its bearings and with that came a lot of execution uncertainty around the product

    Duedil2018-08-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "It started good, but got lost along the way ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    1) Smart people (apart from the few bad apples and management) 2) Interesting and challenging problems

    Cons

    1) People promoted to high positions that have no experience or background (especially the CPO and CTO) because of politics 2) Lots of lofty goals without delivering (esp. from former CEO) 3) No product strategy or process 4) No clear career progression paths 5) Salaries below market rates

    Advice to Management

    To the CEO: try to listen to employees, and get more qualified people to run the business.

    Duedil2018-08-01
Found 32 reviews