Debenhams Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Debenhams Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
301 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "pUSHED to sell Debenhams credit card(in 125 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage pay is lower than many other high street retailers(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Confused and Backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams

    Pros

    Large company Great people Career progression if you are good at office politics

    Cons

    Old fashioned in how they work Because people have worked at Debenhams for so long they are stuck in their ways and not willing to adapt to a modern thinking Debenhams is very much an organisation where if you suck up to the right people you'll get far, you certainly don't get far on merit

    Advice to Management

    Read the cons...

    Debenhams2015-07-24
  2. "Alright to work if you love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Assistant in Watford, East of England, England

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience Creative sometimes Great fashion to work with Good work hours (Watford)

    Cons

    Wasn't that independently creative as you had to follow guides from head office A lot of heavy lifting

    Debenhams2019-11-15
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    The manager are good and reliable

    Cons

    Still new so I can’t complain

    Debenhams2019-11-06
  4. "Nice team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good discount Great staff Nice environment

    Cons

    To much focus on accounts

    Debenhams2019-11-04
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to work I say

    Cons

    there are none really I can think of

    Debenhams2019-11-03
  6. "Average pay, average experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Advisor in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some lovely hardworking people. Served lovely clients and overall a nice working atmosphere. 6 weeks paid holiday. Company loyalty card with discounts.

    Cons

    No opportunities for progression. Management can be clicky. Power struggles between staff members meant it was uncomfortable. Training was poor to sub-standard. If you show initiative and good work ethic, others expect you to do their job for them.

    Advice to Management

    Organise yourselves!!!

    Debenhams2019-11-14
  7. "Good place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started my career at Debenhams and it gave me a great foundation for what I’ve gone on to do. At the time we were based on Wigmore Street which was a great place to work and the office had a really close feel to it.

    Cons

    Pay wasn’t as good as it could have been.

    Debenhams2019-10-30
  8. "Joke of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager 

    I worked at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    People I worked with Discount (when you actually get it)

    Cons

    Absolutely awful management, our manager was off for a year sick yet nome of the store managers bothered to help us! Also when I left, the last two months I was there I got underpaid and still yet to recieve my full payment!

    Advice to Management

    Just close the store tbh

    Debenhams2019-11-12
  9. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    The people you’re working with are generally really nice which makes it easier

    Cons

    Customers can be difficult and tough hours at busy times such as Christmas

    Debenhams2019-11-07
  10. "Old school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst 

    I worked at Debenhams full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, location, dress code

    Cons

    Out dated methods, no budget, inflexible

    Debenhams2019-11-06
Found 1449 reviews